Archived - Minister of Finance Highlights Key Government Initiatives to Strengthen Southern Ontario’s Economy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Economic Action Plan 2014 supports businesses and communities

September 5, 2014 – Ajax, Ontario – Department of Finance

Speaking to the Chambers of Commerce and Boards of Trade of the Regional Municipality of Durham, a part of the Greater Toronto Area, Finance Minister Joe Oliver today highlighted some of Economic Action Plan 2014’s key initiatives to help achieve continued prosperity in southern Ontario. He also reaffirmed the Government of Canada’s top priority of creating jobs and economic growth through low taxes and enhanced trade, while remaining on track for a balanced budget in 2015.

Quick Facts

  • Both the International Monetary Fund and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development expect Canada to be among the strongest growing economies in the Group of Seven (G-7) over this year and next.
  • Southern Ontario is home to a third of the nation’s total population, and accounts for more than a third of national employment and annual economic output.
  • From February 2006 to January 2014, the Harper Government has invested over $4 billion in infrastructure projects in the Greater Toronto Area.
  • The Automotive Innovation Fund was provided with $1 billion since its launch in 2008 to support long-term investments key to the automotive industry and strategic research and development projects to build innovative, greener, more fuel efficient vehicles.
  • Since its creation in 2009, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario has invested almost $1.2 billion, resulting in partnerships with 5,300 organizations and more than $1.5 billion in additional leveraged investments almost exclusively from non-government sources.

Quote

“Canada is on the right track. We are creating growth, lowering taxes and returning to balanced budgets. Our Government’s top priority is to grow the economy and create jobs, a commitment our Government fully intends to honour. Based on our Economic Action Plan, we will secure lasting, long-term economic prosperity—the kind that our children and grandchildren can rely on.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances souligne les initiatives clés du gouvernement visant à renforcer l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d’action économique 2014 soutient les entreprises et les collectivités

Le 5 septembre 2014 – Ajax (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Dans un discours prononcé devant les chambres de commerce de la municipalité régionale de Durham, située dans la région du Grand Toronto, le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a souligné aujourd’hui des initiatives clés du Plan d’action économique 2014 qui aideront à maintenir la prospérité dans le Sud de l’Ontario. Le ministre Oliver a également réitéré que la grande priorité du gouvernement du Canada consistait à créer des emplois et à stimuler la croissance économique grâce à des impôts peu élevés et à une intensification des échanges commerciaux, tout en demeurant sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Fonds monétaire international et l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques prévoient tous deux que la croissance de l’économie canadienne sera l’une des plus fortes parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) cette année et l’an prochain.
  • Le Sud de l’Ontario abrite le tiers de la population du pays et compte pour plus du tiers de l’emploi national et de la production économique annuelle.
  • De février 2006 à janvier 2014, le gouvernement Harper a investi plus de 4 milliards de dollars dans des projets d’infrastructure dans la région du Grand Toronto.
  • Le Fonds d’innovation pour le secteur de l’automobile a reçu 1 milliard de dollars depuis sa création en 2008, afin de soutenir des investissements à long terme clés pour le secteur de l’automobile ainsi que des projets de recherche et de développement stratégiques en vue de construire des véhicules novateurs, moins polluants et plus éconoergétiques.
  • Depuis sa création en 2009, l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario a investi près de 1,2 milliard de dollars, ce qui s’est traduit par des partenariats avec 5 300 organisations et a suscité plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars en investissements supplémentaires provenant de sources presque exclusivement non gouvernementales.

Citation

« Le Canada est sur la bonne voie. Nous faisons croître l’économie, nous réduisons les impôts et nous rétablissons l’équilibre budgétaire. La priorité de notre gouvernement est la croissance économique et la création d’emplois, un engagement que nous avons entièrement l’intention de respecter. Grâce à notre plan d’action économique, nous assurerons une prospérité économique à long terme et durable – celle sur laquelle nos enfants et nos petits-enfants pourront compter. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés