Archived - Harper Government Helps Ensure Consumers Are Informed About Their Banking

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister Oliver welcomes commitments to provide more information to consumers

Commitments secured from banks on collateral charge mortgages, powers of attorney and joint deposit accounts

September 3, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of Finance Joe Oliver today welcomed a series of voluntary commitments from Canada’s eight major banks and smaller banks to help consumers make more informed choices by providing more information on powers of attorney and joint deposit accounts, as well as on collateral charge mortgages.

This development builds on additional voluntary commitments secured from eight major banks in May to enhance low-cost bank accounts and offer no-cost accounts with the same features as low-cost accounts to a wider range of eligible consumers. This second announcement further demonstrates the Harper Government’s commitment, as stated in the 2013 Speech from the Throne, to put Canadian consumers first by improving the fairness and transparency of financial services. 

Quick Facts

  • In Economic Action Plan 2014, the Harper Government called on banks to enhance disclosure of the cost and benefits of using powers of attorney and joint accounts and to provide more robust bank processes and staff training.
  • Banks have voluntarily committed to disclose information about powers of attorney and joint deposit accounts on their websites by September 1, 2014 and in their branches by December 31, 2014, and will implement staff training on powers of attorney and joint deposit accounts by March 31, 2015.
  • Banks also committed to disclose key information on residential mortgages taken on by consumers. Banks will implement this commitment by the following dates:
    • General information has been posted on their websites by September 1, 2014.
    • General information available in branches, at points of service where residential mortgages are offered, and at the request of consumers by November 30, 2014.
    • Specific information for the individual consumer on their own mortgage at the time of or before entering into the mortgage loan agreement by January 31, 2015.
  • In May, eight major banks committed to enhance low-cost bank accounts and offer no-cost accounts with the same features as low-cost accounts to a wider range of eligible consumers. No-cost accounts will be available to youth, students, seniors qualifying for the Guaranteed Income Supplement, and Registered Disability Savings Plan beneficiaries, totalling about 7 million customers. These voluntary guidelines will come into force by January 15, 2015.


“I welcome the voluntary commitments that our banks have made to enhance the disclosure of information related to collateral charge mortgages and powers of attorney and joint deposit accounts. These commitments will protect Canadians making financial decisions and demonstrate how the Government is again putting consumers first in the financial sector.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Protecting Consumers. For details, see the PDF version that follows
PDF Version [621 KB]

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper contribue à veiller à ce que les consommateurs soient bien informés de leurs affaires bancaires

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Oliver accueille favorablement les engagements visant à communiquer davantage de renseignements aux consommateurs

Des engagements sont obtenus des banques concernant les hypothèques subsidiaires, les procurations et les comptes de dépôt conjoints

Le 3 septembre 2014 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a accueilli favorablement aujourd’hui une série d’engagements volontaires pris par huit grandes banques du Canada ainsi que par des banques de moindre envergure qui aideront les consommateurs à faire des choix plus éclairés en leur fournissant davantage de renseignements sur les procurations et les comptes de dépôt conjoints ainsi que sur les hypothèques subsidiaires.

Cet élément s’ajoute aux engagements volontaires supplémentaires obtenus en mai de huit grandes banques qui visaient à améliorer les conditions des comptes à frais modiques ainsi qu’à offrir des comptes sans frais ayant les mêmes caractéristiques que les comptes à frais modiques à un éventail élargi de consommateurs admissibles. Cette deuxième annonce témoigne une fois encore de l’engagement du gouvernement Harper, énoncé dans le discours du Trône de 2013, d’accorder la priorité aux consommateurs canadiens en améliorant équité et la transparence des services financiers.

Les faits en bref

  • Dans le Plan d’action économique de 2014, le gouvernement Harper a demandé aux banques d’améliorer les renseignements communiqués au sujet des coûts et des avantages de l’utilisation des procurations et des comptes conjoints, et à ce qu’elles disposent de procédés bancaires plus rigoureux et d’une meilleure formation du personnel à l’égard de ces services en la matière.
  • Les banques se sont engagées volontairement à communiquer des renseignements sur les procurations et les comptes de dépôt conjoints dans leurs sites Web d’ici le 1er septembre 2014 et dans leurs succursales d’ici le 31 décembre 2014; elles instaureront la formation de leur personnel sur les procurations et les comptes de dépôt conjoints d’ici le 31 mars 2015.
  • Les banques se sont également engagées à communiquer des renseignements clés sur les prêts hypothécaires résidentiels accordés aux consommateurs. Elles mettront en œuvre cet engagement d’ici les dates suivantes :
    • des renseignements sont affichés dans leurs sites Web depuis le 1er septembre 2014;
    • des renseignements généraux seront offerts dans les succursales, dans les points de services où des prêts hypothécaires résidentiels sont offerts et à la demande des consommateurs d’ici le 30 novembre 2014;
    • des renseignements précis à l’intention d’un consommateur particulier sur sa propre hypothèque au moment de conclure une convention de prêt hypothécaire ou avant ce moment, d’ici le 31 janvier 2015.
  • En mai, huit grandes banques se sont engagées à améliorer les conditions des comptes à frais modiques et à offrir des comptes sans frais possédant les mêmes caractéristiques que les comptes à frais modiques à un éventail élargi de consommateurs admissibles. Les comptes sans frais seront offerts aux jeunes, aux étudiants, aux aînés admissibles au Supplément de revenu garanti et aux bénéficiaires d’un régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité, ce qui représente environ 7 millions de consommateurs. Ces lignes directrices volontaires entreront en vigueur d’ici le 15 janvier 2015.

Citations

« J’accueille positivement les engagements volontaires que nos banques ont pris afin d’améliorer la communication des renseignements au sujet des hypothèques subsidiaires, des procurations et des comptes conjoints. Ces engagements, qui protègent les Canadiennes et les Canadiens qui prennent des décisions financières, démontrent que le gouvernement accorde une fois encore la priorité aux consommateurs dans le secteur financier. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances


Protéger les consommateurs. Pour détails, voir la version PDF qui suit
Version PDF [314 ko]