Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a $1.6-billion surplus in June 2014; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

August 29, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for June 2014.

There was a budgetary surplus of $1.6 billion in June 2014, compared to a surplus of $0.2 billion in June 2013. 

Revenues increased by $0.9 billion, or 3.8 per cent, due mainly to higher revenues from non-resident income tax, excise taxes and duties, and Employment Insurance (EI) premiums.  Program expenses decreased by $0.7 billion, or 3.2 per cent, largely reflecting a decrease in direct program expenses.  Public debt charges increased by $0.1 billion, or 5.1 per cent.

Quick Facts

  • For the April to June 2014 period of the 2014–15 fiscal year, the Government posted a budgetary surplus of $0.4 billion, compared to a deficit of $2.6 billion reported in the same period of 2013–14.
  • Revenues were up $2.5 billion, or 3.8 per cent, largely reflecting increased revenues from income taxes, the Goods and Services Tax and EI premiums. 
  • Program expenses were down $0.4 billion, or 0.7 per cent, reflecting a decrease in direct program expenses, offset in part by increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government.  Public debt charges were down $49 million, or 0.6 per cent.
  • The financial results through the April to June 2014 period and economic developments since Budget 2014 suggest that the fiscal projection for 2014–15 presented in the budget is on track.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un excédent budgétaire de 1,6 milliard de dollars pour le mois de juin 2014. Le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015.

Le 29 août 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour le mois de juin 2014.

Le mois de juin 2014 s’est soldé par un excédent budgétaire de 1,6 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un excédent de 0,2 milliard en juin 2013.

Les revenus ont augmenté de 0,9 milliard (3,8 %), en raison principalement de revenus plus élevés provenant de l’impôt sur le revenu des non-résidents, des taxes et droits d’accise et des cotisations d’assurance-emploi. Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 0,7 milliard (3,2 %), en raison surtout de la baisse des charges de programmes directes. Pour leur part, les frais de la dette publique ont augmenté de 0,1 milliard (5,1 %).

Les faits en bref

  • Pour la période d’avril à juin 2014 de l’exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement a affiché un excédent budgétaire de 0,4 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 2,6 milliards pour la même période de l’exercice 2013-2014. 
  • Les revenus ont connu une hausse de 2,5 milliards de dollars (3,8 %), ce qui traduit principalement la hausse des revenus tirés des impôts sur le revenu, de la taxe sur les produits et services et des cotisations d’assurance-emploi.
  • Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 0,4 milliard de dollars (0,7 %), en raison de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, laquelle a été partiellement compensée par la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et aux autres administrations. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 49 millions (0,6 %). 
  • Les résultats d’avril à juin 2014, de même que l’évolution de l’économie depuis le budget de 2014, laissent croire que les projections budgétaires pour 2014-2015 contenues dans ce budget demeurent pertinentes.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés