Archived - Harper Government Encourages Financial Literacy for Young Canadians as Key to a Strong Economic Future for Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister Kevin Sorenson and Financial Literacy Leader Jane Rooney part of an expert panel judging student business plans

August 29, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today participated in the Junior Economic Club of Canada’s second annual Bay Street Boot Camp to highlight the importance of financial literacy for students. Minister Sorenson was joined by Financial Literacy Leader Jane Rooney as part of an expert panel of judges to which students pitched a business plan.

The primary mandate of the Junior Economic Club of Canada is to educate and inspire Canadian youth to become financially literate. The Club is hosting a five-day Boot Camp for students aged 15 to 17 designed to explore how financial literacy contributes to both financial and personal success.

Quick Facts

  • Economic Action Plan 2009 established a Task Force on Financial Literacy.
  • In February 2011, the Task Force released its final report, which included 30 recommendations to help various levels of government and other stakeholders strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians.
  • In April 2014, the Government appointed Canada’s first Financial Literacy Leader, Jane Rooney, and is currently developing a National Strategy for Financial Literacy, which will focus, in part, on children and youth.
  • In addition to improving financial literacy across Canada, the Harper Government has a “Consumers First” agenda. As a key part of this agenda, the Harper Government took efforts to alleviate the costs of banking services for Canadians. In May 2014, it secured voluntary commitments from eight of the largest banks to make low-cost or no-cost accounts available to a wider range of eligible customers, including youths and students.  

Quotes

“I was greatly impressed by the bright young minds I encountered at the Junior Economic Club today. These students are taking financial literacy seriously and, in the process, are ensuring a successful future for both themselves and our country. The Harper Government is investing in financial literacy and in our leaders of tomorrow, and I am sure that by working together, we will enhance our long-term prosperity.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“These inspiring students are getting a head start on the life-long learning that is needed for Canadians to achieve their financial goals. The Junior Economic Club’s Boot Camp program is an excellent example of the grassroots initiatives needed to strengthen financial literacy and set the foundation for a stronger economy.”

- Jane Rooney, Financial Literacy Leader

“I can’t believe how bright and engaged these young students are. Every year we run Bay Street Boot Camp—I am blown away by the level of talent and enthusiasm the students display. I think the judges will be extremely impressed with the creativity and vision of the business plans being presented this year.”

- Rhiannon Traill, President of the Junior Economic Club of Canada

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper fait la promotion de la littératie financière des jeunes Canadiens en tant que facteur clé d’un avenir économique prospère au pays

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre d’État Kevin Sorenson et la chef du développement de la littératie financière, Jane Rooney, font partie d’un comité d’experts qui juge les plans d’entreprise des étudiants

Le 29 août 2014 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a participé aujourd’hui à la deuxième séance annuelle de formation intensive offerte par le Junior Economic Club of Canada, intitulée Bay Street Boot Camp, afin de souligner l’importance de la littératie financière chez les étudiants. La chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, Jane Rooney, s’est jointe au ministre Sorenson pour faire partie d’un comité d’experts auquel les étudiants ont présenté des plans d’affaires.

Le Junior Economic Club of Canada a pour mission première de sensibiliser et d’inspirer les jeunes Canadiennes et Canadiens afin qu’ils acquièrent des compétences financières. Il offre actuellement à des étudiants âgés de 15 à 17 ans une séance de formation intensive de cinq jours qui examine l’apport de la littératie financière à la réussite financière et personnelle.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Plan d’action économique de 2009 a annoncé la mise sur pied du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière.
  • En février 2011, le Groupe de travail a publié son rapport final, qui compte 30 recommandations à divers ordres de gouvernement et d’autres intervenants pour les appuyer dans leurs efforts visant à améliorer la littératie financière des Canadiens.
  • En avril 2014, le gouvernement a nommé la première chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, Jane Rooney, et il participe actuellement à l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale en matière de littératie financière qui sera axée en partie sur les enfants et les adultes.
  • Outre l’amélioration de la littératie financière à l’échelle du Canada, le gouvernement Harper a élaboré le programme Les consommateurs d’abord. Donnant suite à l’une des composantes clés de ce programme, le gouvernement Harper a déployé des efforts afin d’alléger les coûts des services bancaires pour les Canadiens. En mai 2014, il a obtenu des engagements volontaires, de la part de huit des plus grandes banques du pays, d’offrir des comptes à frais modiques et des comptes sans frais à un plus grand éventail de consommateurs admissibles, dont les jeunes et les étudiants.

Citations

« J’ai été très impressionné par les jeunes esprits brillants que j’ai rencontrés aujourd’hui au Junior Economic Club. Ces étudiants prennent la littératie financière au sérieux et, ce faisant, ils assurent un bel avenir pour eux-mêmes et notre pays. Le gouvernement Harper investit dans la littératie financière et dans nos chefs de file de demain, et je suis sûr qu’en travaillant ensemble, nous accroîtrons notre prospérité à long terme. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Ces étudiants sont une source d’inspiration; ils s’offrent une bonne longueur d’avance dans le processus d’apprentissage continu que les Canadiens doivent suivre afin d’atteindre leurs objectifs financiers. Le programme Boot Camp du Junior Economic Club est un excellent exemple du genre d’initiatives communautaires dont nous avons besoin pour améliorer la littératie financière et jeter les bases d’une économie plus forte. »

- Jane Rooney, chef du développement de la littératie financière

« La vivacité d’esprit et le dévouement de ces jeunes étudiants m’étonnent. À chaque édition de notre camp annuel, je suis épaté par le talent et l’enthousiasme qu’ils manifestent. Je crois que les juges seront fort impressionnés par la créativité et la vision d’ensemble qui transparaissent dans les plans d’affaires présentés cette année. »

- Rhiannon Traill, présidente du Junior Economic Club of Canada

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés