Archived - Harper Government Consulting With Small and Medium-Sized Businesses in Richmond Hill to Ensure Canada’s Economy Remains Strong

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

August 19, 2014 – Richmond Hill, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Costas Menegakis, Member of Parliament for Richmond Hill, met with business leaders in Richmond Hill, Ontario, today to discuss ways the Government and businesses can work together to build a stronger economy.

Minister Sorenson provided an update on the economy, financial literacy initiatives and the Government’s plan to return to balanced budgets. He also consulted businesses on how to further reduce red tape, enhance private sector growth, break down internal trade barriers and improve overall competitiveness.

Feedback from stakeholders and communities across the country helps the Government set policies that will continue to support families, communities and businesses so that all Canadians benefit from a strong economy as the federal budget returns to balance in 2015.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the Group of Seven (G-7) over the recovery, with more than 1 million jobs created since July 2009.
  • Real gross domestic product is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • In 2013, Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s ranking of the most attractive destinations for business.
  • According to KPMG, Canada’s total business tax costs are now the lowest in the G-7 and 46% lower than those in the United States.
  • With the introduction of the Pooled Registered Pension Plan, millions of small business owners and their employees will have access to a private, low-cost pension plan.
  • Recognizing that Canadians’ financial health affects the country’s financial health, the Government is working to improve Canadians’ financial literacy. In April 2014, the Government appointed Canada’s first Financial Literacy Leader and is working with her to develop a national strategy on financial literacy, with the first phase focused on seniors.

Quotes

“Our Government supports businesses and Canadians by keeping taxes low, cutting red tape, offering low-cost pension options to small businesses and the self-employed, and improving financial literacy. Together with our Government’s commitment to return to balanced budgets in 2015, these measures will further strengthen Canada’s business climate and economy.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“Our Government is proud to be working with small and medium-sized businesses like those here in Richmond Hill to create jobs and grow the economy, which is vital to building long-term prosperity in this community and across the country. I am pleased that Minister Sorenson has come to Richmond Hill to hear from our local business leaders about ways we can continue to work together to create jobs and opportunities for this community and all Canadians.”

- Costas Menegakis, Member of Parliament for Richmond Hill

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper consulte les petites et moyennes entreprises de Richmond Hill pour s’assurer que l’économie canadienne demeure forte

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 19 août 2014 – Richmond Hill (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, et le député fédéral de Richmond Hill, Costas Menegakis, ont rencontré aujourd’hui des dirigeants d’entreprises à Richmond Hill, en Ontario, pour s’entretenir des moyens par lesquels le gouvernement et les entreprises peuvent collaborer pour renforcer l’économie.

Le ministre Sorenson a fait le point sur l’économie, les initiatives en matière de littératie financière et le plan du gouvernement pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire. Il a également consulté les entreprises sur les moyens qui permettraient de réduire davantage les formalités administratives, d’augmenter la croissance du secteur privé, d’éliminer les obstacles au commerce intérieur et d’améliorer la compétitivité globale.

Les commentaires que le gouvernement recueille auprès d’intervenants et de citoyens des collectivités de l’ensemble du pays l’aident à élaborer des politiques qui continueront d’appuyer les familles, les collectivités et les entreprises afin que tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes bénéficient d’une économie vigoureuse, alors que le gouvernement s’apprête à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire fédéral en 2015.

Les faits en bref

  • L’économie canadienne a affiché l’un des meilleurs bilans au chapitre de la création d’emplois parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) pendant la reprise : plus de 1 million d’emplois ont été créés depuis juillet 2009.
  • Le produit intérieur brut réel du Canada a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – il s’agit de la meilleure performance parmi les pays du G-7.
  • En 2013, le Canada a fait un bond dans le classement établi par Bloomberg des pays les plus attrayants pour les entreprises, passant du sixième au deuxième rang.
  • Selon la firme KPMG, les coûts fiscaux globaux des entreprises au Canada sont maintenant les plus bas du G-7, et ils sont inférieurs de 46 % à ceux qui prévalent aux États-Unis.
  • À la suite de l’instauration des régimes de pension agréés collectifs, des millions de propriétaires de petites entreprises et leurs employés auront accès à un régime de retraite privé à faible coût.
  • Reconnaissant que la santé financière des Canadiens a une incidence sur celle de tout le pays, le gouvernement s’emploie à améliorer la littératie financière au sein de la population. En avril 2014, il a nommé la première chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, et il collabore avec elle à l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale en matière de littératie financière, dont la première phase est axée sur les aînés.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement soutient les entreprises et les Canadiens en maintenant de faibles taux d’imposition, en réduisant les formalités administratives, en offrant des mécanismes de pension à faible coût aux petites entreprises et aux travailleurs indépendants, et en améliorant la littératie financière. Ces mesures, conjuguées à l’engagement de notre gouvernement de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015, donneront encore plus de vigueur au climat des affaires et à l’économie du Canada. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Notre gouvernement est fier de collaborer avec les petites et moyennes entreprises comme celles établies ici à Richmond Hill afin de créer des emplois et de faire croître l’économie, car cela est essentiel à l’atteinte d’une prospérité à long terme, tant dans cette collectivité que dans l’ensemble du pays. Je suis heureux que le ministre Sorenson soit venu à Richmond Hill pour entendre nos dirigeants d’entreprises locaux s’exprimer sur les moyens par lesquels nous pouvons poursuivre notre collaboration afin de créer des emplois et des possibilités pour les membres de cette collectivité et pour tous les Canadiens. »

- Costas Menegakis, député fédéral de Richmond Hill

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés