Archived - Minister Oliver Addresses Kitchener-Waterloo Chamber of Commerce

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity remains Government’s top priority

August 18, 2014 – Kitchener, Ontario – Department of Finance

In a speech to the Greater Kitchener-Waterloo Chamber of Commerce, Finance Minister Joe Oliver celebrated the Waterloo region as a “crown jewel of Canadian innovation” and outlined the Harper Government’s Economic Action Plan—creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity across Ontario.

Minister Oliver emphasized the foundation of the Government’s plan: keeping taxes low and returning to balanced budgets in 2015. Once the budget is balanced, the Government’s first priority will be to provide tax relief for hard-working Canadian families.

Minister Oliver is touring Kitchener, London and Guelph this week to talk to Canadians about the state of our economy—our successes, challenges and opportunities—and to solicit their ideas ahead of next year’s federal budget.

Quick Facts

  • Canada has created over 1.1 million net new jobs since the height of the recession—one of the strongest job creation records in the Group of Seven (G-7).
  • The overall federal tax burden is at its lowest level in more than 50 years.
  • In 2013, Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s ranking of the most attractive destinations for business. Canada’s total business tax costs are now the lowest in the G-7 and 46% lower than those in the United States.
  • KPMG rates Canada as the most tax competitive country for business globally.
  • A recent New York Times article reported that “after-tax middle-class incomes in Canada—substantially behind in 2000—now appear to be higher than in the United States.”
  • The New Building Canada Plan will invest approximately $11 billion in dedicated federal funding in Ontario, including more than $2.7 billion under the New Building Canada Fund and an estimated $8.12 billion under the federal Gas Tax Fund.

Quotes

“Canada is on the right track. We are creating growth, lowering taxes and returning to balanced budgets. Once we balance the budget in 2015, our first priority will be to provide tax relief for hard-working Canadian families. We want you to keep more of the money you work so hard to earn, so you can decide how to spend and save it.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver s’adresse aux membres de la Chambre de commerce de Kitchener-Waterloo

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme demeurent la grande priorité du gouvernement

Le 18 août 2014 – Kitchener (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Lors d’une allocution devant la Chambre de commerce du Grand Kitchener-Waterloo, le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a qualifié la région de Waterloo de « joyau de la Couronne de l’innovation canadienne » et donné un aperçu du Plan d’action économique du gouvernement Harper pour la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme partout en Ontario.

Le ministre Oliver a souligné l’assise du plan du gouvernement : maintenir des impôts peu élevés et rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015. Lorsque l’équilibre budgétaire sera rétabli, la grande priorité du gouvernement sera d’accorder des allègements d’impôt aux familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort.

Le ministre Oliver effectue une tournée cette semaine à Kitchener, London et Guelph pour discuter de la situation économique avec les Canadiennes et les Canadiens, notamment en ce qui a trait aux réussites, aux défis et aux possibilités économiques, et pour recueillir leurs idées en prévision du budget fédéral de l’an prochain.

Les faits en bref

  • Plus de 1,1 million d’emplois nets ont été créés au Canada depuis le creux de la récession, ce qui représente l’un des meilleurs bilans en la matière parmi les pays du G-7.
  • Le fardeau fiscal fédéral est aujourd’hui à son niveau le plus bas en plus de 50 ans.
  • En 2013, le Canada a bondi du sixième au deuxième rang dans le palmarès des meilleurs endroits pour faire des affaires établi par la firme Bloomberg. Les coûts fiscaux globaux des entreprises au Canada sont maintenant les plus bas du G-7, et ils sont inférieurs de 46 % à ceux qui prévalent aux États-Unis.
  • Selon la firme KPMG, le Canada demeure pour les entreprises le pays le plus concurrentiel en ce qui a trait à l’ensemble des coûts fiscaux.
  • Un article récent du New York Times indiquait que les revenus après impôt de la classe moyenne au Canada semblaient désormais plus élevés que ceux aux États-Unis, alors qu’ils accusaient un recul important en 2000.
  • Aux termes du nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada, le gouvernement investira environ 11 milliards de dollars de fonds réservés à l’Ontario, y compris plus de 2,7 milliards dans le cadre du nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada et environ 8,12 milliards en financement provenant du Fonds de la taxe sur l’essence du gouvernement fédéral.

Citations

« Le Canada est sur la bonne voie. Nous faisons croître l’économie, nous réduisons les impôts et nous rétablissons l’équilibre budgétaire. Lorsque nous aurons rétabli l’équilibre budgétaire, en 2015, nous aurons comme grande priorité d’accorder des allègements fiscaux aux familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort. Nous voulons que vous conserviez une plus grande part de l’argent que vous avez travaillé si fort pour gagner, et que ce soit vous qui décidiez de la manière de le dépenser et de l’économiser. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés