Archived - Minister Oliver Addresses Manitoba Chambers of Commerce

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity remains Government’s top priority

August 15, 2014 – Winnipeg, Manitoba – Department of Finance

Speaking to the Manitoba Chambers of Commerce, Finance Minister Joe Oliver outlined Canada’s low-tax plan for jobs and growth. Calling Canada an economic success story, Minister Oliver highlighted the Government’s targeted support for Manitoba, including major investments in infrastructure across the province. Minister Oliver emphasized the importance of innovation in strengthening Canada’s competitiveness and ensuring its future prosperity. The Minister noted that Canada is on track for a balanced budget in 2015.

Quick Facts

  • Canada has created more than 1 million net new jobs since the height of the recession—one of the strongest job creation records in the Group of Seven (G-7).
  • The federal tax burden is at its lowest level in more than 50 years.
  • In 2013, Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s ranking of the most attractive destinations for business. Canada’s total business tax costs are now the lowest in the G-7 and 46% lower than those in the United States.
  • A recent New York Times study found that “after-tax middle-class incomes in Canada—substantially behind in 2000—now appear to be higher than in the United States.”
  • The New Building Canada Plan will see the Government invest almost $1.2 billion in Manitoba, including more than $467 million under the New Building Canada Fund and an estimated $713 million in dedicated municipal infrastructure funding under the federal Gas Tax Fund.
  • The Canada Accelerator and Incubator Program will provide $100 million in support over the next five years to enable leading business accelerators and incubators to expand their mentorship and other business development services to innovative, early-stage firms. On June 20, 2014, the Prime Minister announced that Manitoba Technology Accelerator (Biomedical Commercialization Canada Inc.) was one of the organizations chosen to advance in the selection process for this initiative.

Quotes

“Canada is on the right track. We are creating growth, lowering taxes and returning to a balanced budget. Once we balance the budget in 2015, our first priority will be to provide tax relief for hard-working Canadian families. We want you to keep more of the money you work so hard to earn, so you can decide how to spend and save it.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver prononce une allocution devant les membres des Chambres de commerce du Manitoba

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme demeurent la grande priorité du gouvernement

Le 15 août 2014 – Winnipeg (Manitoba) – Ministère des Finances

Dans une allocution devant les membres des Chambres de commerce du Manitoba, le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a présenté les grandes lignes du plan du Canada prévoyant des impôts bas pour stimuler la croissance et l’emploi. Qualifiant le Canada de succès économique, le ministre Oliver a souligné le soutien ciblé accordé au Manitoba par le gouvernement, dont d’importants investissements dans les infrastructures de l’ensemble de la province. Le ministre Oliver a mis l’accent sur l’importance de l’innovation pour renforcer la compétitivité du Canada et assurer sa prospérité à l’avenir. Le ministre a souligné le fait que le Canada est en voie de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015.

Les faits en bref

  • Plus de 1 million d’emplois nets ont été créés au Canada depuis le creux de la récession, ce qui représente l’un des meilleurs bilans en la matière parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7).
  • Le fardeau fiscal fédéral est à son plus faible niveau en plus de 50 ans.
  • En 2013, le Canada a bondi du sixième au deuxième rang dans le palmarès des meilleurs endroits pour faire des affaires établi par la firme Bloomberg. Les coûts fiscaux globaux des entreprises au Canada sont maintenant les plus bas du G-7, et ils sont inférieurs de 46 % à ceux qui sont imposés aux États-Unis.
  • Une étude publiée récemment par le New York Times révélait que les revenus après impôt de la classe moyenne au Canada semblaient désormais plus élevés que ceux des États-Unis, alors qu’ils accusaient un recul important en 2000.
  • Aux termes du nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada, le gouvernement investira près de 1,2 milliard de dollars au Manitoba, y compris plus de 467 millions dans le cadre du nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada et environ 713 millions en financement réservé aux infrastructures municipales à même le Fonds de la taxe sur l’essence du gouvernement fédéral.
  • Le Programme canadien des accélérateurs et des incubateurs fournira 100 millions de dollars en soutien au cours des cinq prochaines années, permettant aux principaux accélérateurs et incubateurs d’entreprises d’étendre leur mentorat et d’autres services de développement des entreprises à des sociétés novatrices en début de croissance. Le 20 juin 2014, le premier ministre a annoncé que la société Manitoba Technology Accelerator (Biomedical Commercialization Canada Inc.) était l’une des organisations admises à poursuivre le processus de sélection dans le cadre de cette initiative.

Citations

« Le Canada est sur la bonne voie. Nous faisons croître l’économie, nous réduisons les impôts et nous rétablissons l’équilibre budgétaire. Lorsque nous rétablirons l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015, nous aurons comme priorité d’accorder des allègements fiscaux aux familles canadiennes qui travaillent dur. Nous voulons que vous conserviez une plus grande part de l’argent que vous travaillez si fort pour gagner, et que ce soit vous qui décidiez comment le dépenser et l’économiser. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés