Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Meets With Insurance Brokers to Discuss Canada’s Economy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Confirms the return to a balanced budget in 2015; highlights importance of insurance industry to jobs, growth and wealth

August 14, 2014 – Waterloo, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today welcomed the invitation from Member of Parliament Peter Braid (Kitchener–Waterloo) to meet with the Insurance Brokers Association of Waterloo Region. Minister Sorenson used the opportunity to discuss Canada’s economy and to confirm the return to a balanced budget in 2015. Minister Sorenson focused on the importance of the insurance industry to the Canadian economy, both in terms of its contributions to employment and to gross domestic product (GDP).

In addition, Minister Sorenson highlighted the insurance industry’s increased role in helping Canadians save for retirement and in explaining to Canadians the insurance products and services necessary for appropriate financial planning. Minister Sorenson stated that both industry and government have a role to play in helping Canadians make financial decisions that suit their needs. He added that improved financial literacy will contribute to growth, long-term prosperity and continued national economic success.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the Group of Seven (G-7) over the recovery, with more than 1 million jobs created since July 2009.
  • Real GDP is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • According to the International Monetary Fund, the Canadian insurance industry manages more than $1.4 trillion in assets, which is equal to roughly three-quarters of Canada’s annual GDP.
  • Statistics Canada estimates that over 200,000 people are employed by the insurance industry in Canada.
  • With the introduction of the Pooled Registered Pension Plan, millions of small business owners and their employees will now have access to a private, low-cost pension plan.
  • Recognizing that Canadians’ financial health affects the country’s financial health, the Government is working to improve Canadians’ financial literacy. In April 2014, the Government appointed Canada’s first Financial Literacy Leader and is working to develop a national strategy to increase the financial literacy of Canadians, with the first phase focused on seniors.

Quotes

“The insurance industry is an important engine of growth for our economy. Brokers are key partners in ensuring consumers are well-informed about products and services crucial for sound financial planning. I welcomed the dialogue today with the Insurance Brokers Association of Waterloo Region on how industry and government can further work together toward common objectives on our path to a balanced budget in 2015.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“I was pleased to welcome Minister Sorenson to Waterloo to discuss important issues relating to the insurance sector. As we endeavour to keep our economy on track, we recognize and value the jobs and opportunities that the insurance industry provides for Canadians across the country—a fact so clearly evidenced here in Waterloo.”

- Peter Braid, Member of Parliament (Kitchener–Waterloo) and Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Communities

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d’État (Finances) se réunit avec des courtiers d’assurances pour discuter de l’économie du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Il confirme le rétablissement de l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015 et met l’accent sur l’importance de l’industrie des assurances sur les plans de l’emploi, de la croissance et de la richesse

Le 14 août 2014 – Waterloo (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a rencontré aujourd’hui, à l’invitation du député fédéral Peter Braid (Kitchener–Waterloo), les membres de l’Association des courtiers d’assurances de la région de Waterloo. Le ministre Sorenson a profité de l’occasion pour discuter de l’économie canadienne et confirmer le rétablissement de l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015. Il a mis l’accent sur l’importance de l’industrie des assurances pour l’économie canadienne par son apport à l’emploi et au produit intérieur brut (PIB).

De plus, le ministre Sorenson a souligné le rôle croissant que l’industrie des assurances assume pour aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à économiser en prévision de la retraite et leur expliquer les produits et services d’assurance nécessaires à une planification financière adéquate. Selon lui, l’industrie et le gouvernement ont tous deux un rôle à jouer afin d’aider les Canadiens à prendre des décisions financières qui répondent à leurs besoins. Le ministre a ajouté que l’amélioration de la littératie financière des Canadiens contribuera à la croissance, à la prospérité à long terme et à un succès économique soutenu au pays.

Les faits en bref

  • L’économie canadienne a affiché l’un des meilleurs bilans en matière de création d’emplois parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) au cours de la reprise, soit plus de 1 million d’emplois créés depuis juillet 2009.
  • Le PIB réel du Canada a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – il s’agit de la meilleure performance parmi les pays du G-7.
  • Selon le Fonds monétaire international, l’industrie canadienne des assurances gère des actifs de plus de 1,4 billion (1 400 milliards) de dollars, ce qui équivaut aux trois quarts du PIB annuel du Canada.
  • Statistique Canada estime que l’industrie des assurances du Canada emploie plus de 200 000 personnes.
  • À la suite de l’instauration des régimes de pension agréés collectifs, des millions de propriétaires de petites entreprises et leurs employés auront accès à un régime de retraite privé à faible coût.
  • Reconnaissant que la santé financière des Canadiens a une incidence sur celle du pays, le gouvernement s’emploie à améliorer la littératie financière au sein de la population. En avril 2014, il a nommé la première chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, et il collabore à l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale visant à améliorer la littératie financière des Canadiens, dont la première phase sera axée sur les aînés.

Citations

« L’industrie des assurances est un important moteur de croissance de notre économie. Les courtiers sont des partenaires clés pour faire en sorte que les consommateurs soient bien renseignés sur les produits et services essentiels à une saine planification financière. Je suis heureux d’avoir pu discuter aujourd’hui avec l’Association des courtiers d’assurances de la région de Waterloo au sujet des façons dont l’industrie et le gouvernement peuvent unir leurs efforts en vue de l’atteinte d’objectifs communs alors que nous nous dirigeons vers un budget équilibré en 2015. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« J’étais heureux d’accueillir le ministre Sorenson à Waterloo pour discuter de questions importantes liées à l’industrie des assurances. Alors même que nous nous efforçons de maintenir l’économie sur les rails, nous reconnaissons et nous valorisons les emplois et les possibilités que cette industrie offre aux Canadiens dans l’ensemble du pays. Cette réalité est des plus évidente ici à Waterloo. »

- Peter Braid, député fédéral (Kitchener–Waterloo) et secrétaire parlementaire pour l’Infrastructure et les Collectivités

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés