Archived - Harper Government Consults Business Leaders in Vaughan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

July 29, 2014 – Vaughan, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Minister of Veterans Affairs Julian Fantino, Member of Parliament for Vaughan, met with business leaders in Vaughan today to discuss ways the Government and businesses can work together to build a stronger economy.

Feedback from stakeholders and communities across the country helps the Government set policies that will continue to support families, communities and businesses so that all Canadians can benefit from a strong economy as the federal budget returns to balance in 2015.

Key topics discussed at the roundtable included how our Government could further encourage private sector growth, increase competitiveness for Canadian businesses as well as improve Canada's taxation and regulatory systems.

Quick Facts

  • The Harper Government has introduced close to 180 tax relief measures since 2006.
  • An average family of four will pay $3,400 less in taxes in 2014.
  • More than 1 million Canadians have been removed from the tax rolls.
  • Since 2006, Canada’s tax competitiveness and overall business environment have been significantly improved, with the result that Canada now offers the lowest overall tax rate on new business investment in the G-7.

Quotes

"Our Government has worked hard to make Canada's economy even more competitive and to create jobs, growth and prosperity right across the country. Gathering views from people and business leaders in communities like Vaughan is critical to ensuring that the actions we take in pursuit of these goals are effective and responsive to the needs of Canadians."

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

"I welcome this discussion with business leaders from Vaughan on how we can work together to ensure a brighter future for all Canadians. By listening to what businesses need in the Greater Toronto Area, our Government is better equipped to help our local community and keep our national economy strong."

- Julian Fantino, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Member of Parliament for Vaughan

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper consulte des dirigeants d'entreprises à Vaughan

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 29 juillet 2014 – Vaughan (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d'État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, et le ministre des Anciens Combattants et député fédéral de Vaughan, Julian Fantino, ont rencontré aujourd'hui des dirigeants d'entreprises à Vaughan pour s'entretenir des moyens par lesquels le gouvernement et les entreprises peuvent collaborer pour renforcer l'économie.

Les commentaires que le gouvernement recueille auprès d'intervenants et de citoyens des collectivités de l'ensemble du pays lui permettent d'élaborer des politiques qui continueront d'appuyer les familles, les collectivités et les entreprises afin que tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes puissent bénéficier d'une économie vigoureuse, alors que l'équilibre budgétaire fédéral sera rétabli en 2015.

Les principaux sujets abordés dans le cadre de la table ronde portaient notamment sur les moyens à mettre en œuvre pour favoriser davantage la croissance dans le secteur privé, accroître la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes et améliorer les régimes de fiscalité et de réglementation canadiens.

Les faits en bref

  • Le gouvernement Harper a instauré près de 180 mesures d’allègement fiscal depuis 2006.
  • Une famille moyenne de quatre personnes paiera 3 400 $ de moins en impôts et en taxes en 2014.
  • Plus de 1 million de Canadiens n’ont plus à payer d’impôt fédéral sur le revenu.
  • Depuis 2006, la compétitivité du régime fiscal et le climat d’affaires ont été nettement améliorés au pays. En conséquence, le Canada est maintenant le pays du G-7 offrant le plus faible taux global d’imposition sur les nouveaux investissements des entreprises.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement a travaillé fort pour rendre l'économie canadienne encore plus compétitive et créer des emplois, stimuler la croissance et favoriser la prospérité partout au pays. Le fait de recueillir les points de vue de particuliers et de dirigeants d'entreprises dans des collectivités telles que Vaughan est essentiel pour faire en sorte que les mesures que nous prenons à l'égard de ces objectifs sont efficaces et qu'elles répondent aux besoins des Canadiens. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d'État (Finances)

« Je suis heureux d'avoir pris part à cette discussion avec des dirigeants d'entreprises de Vaughan sur la façon dont nous pouvons coopérer pour assurer un avenir meilleur à l'ensemble des Canadiens. En étant à l'écoute des besoins des entreprises de la région du Grand Toronto, notre gouvernement est davantage en mesure de venir en aide à notre collectivité et de maintenir la vigueur de l'économie canadienne. »

- Julian Fantino, ministre des Anciens Combattants et député fédéral de Vaughan

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés