Archived - Canada and UK Conclude Agreement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

July 21, 2014 – London, UK – Department of Finance

On behalf of Finance Minister Joe Oliver, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird today signed, along with David Gauke, Financial Secretary to Her Majesty's Treasury, an agreement amending the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income and capital gains.

Quick Facts

  • Canada has an extended network of 92 such conventions in force.
  • The provisions of the agreement signed today will generally apply on and after January 1, 2015.

Quotes

"This agreement is the latest in a range of measures the Harper Government has undertaken to improve the coordination of tax rules governing cross-border trade and investment, and to promote tax fairness and prevent international fiscal evasion. It underscores the value of the ongoing work that we are engaged in to keep Canada's tax conventions up to date through renegotiation. I would like to thank Financial Secretary Gauke and Her Majesty's Treasury for working cooperatively and in common purpose with the Government of Canada towards making today's agreement a reality."  

—John Baird, Minister of Foreign Affairs

"Bilateral tax conventions like this are fundamental to eliminating tax barriers to trade and investment. They provide greater certainty to taxpayers regarding their potential liability to tax in the other country. They allocate taxing rights between the two countries so that taxpayers are not subject to double taxation. They reduce the risk of burdensome taxation that may arise because of high withholding taxes.  And they ensure that taxpayers will not be subject to discriminatory taxation in the foreign jurisdiction. By advancing these goals, today's agreement will help keep Canada well positioned as a place to work, do business and invest."

—Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le Canada et le Royaume-Uni concluent un accord fiscal tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 21 juillet 2014 – Londres (Royaume-Uni) – Ministère des Finances

Au nom du ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, le ministre des Affaires étrangères, John Baird, a signé aujourd'hui en compagnie de David Gauke, secrétaire financier auprès du Trésor britannique, un accord modifiant la Convention entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et les gains en capital.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Canada dispose d'un vaste réseau de 92 conventions de ce type en vigueur.
  • Les dispositions de l'accord signé aujourd'hui s'appliqueront généralement à compter du 1er janvier  2015.

Citations

« Cet accord est le plus récent élément d'un éventail de mesures prises par le gouvernement Harper dans le but d'améliorer la coordination des règles fiscales régissant le commerce et les investissements transfrontaliers, de promouvoir l'équité fiscale et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale internationale. Cet accord souligne la valeur du travail continu dans lequel nous nous sommes engagés afin de tenir à jour les conventions fiscales conclues par le Canada au moyen d'une renégociation. Je souhaite remercier le secrétaire financier Gauke et le Trésor britannique d'avoir collaboré à ce but commun avec le gouvernement du Canada afin de concrétiser l'accord conclu aujourd'hui. »  

– John Baird, ministre des Affaires étrangères

« Les conventions fiscales bilatérales comme celle-ci sont essentielles en vue de l'élimination des obstacles fiscaux au commerce et aux investissements. Elles offrent une plus grande certitude aux contribuables quant à leur obligation fiscale éventuelle dans l'autre pays. Elles répartissent les droits d'imposition entre les deux pays, de façon à ce que les contribuables ne soient pas assujettis à une double imposition. Elles réduisent le risque d'être assujetti à des impôts accablants pouvant survenir en raison de retenues d'impôt élevées. En outre, elles garantissent que les contribuables ne sont pas assujettis à des politiques fiscales discriminatoires dans le pays étranger. En contribuant à l'avancement de ces objectifs, l'accord conclu aujourd'hui aidera le Canada à se maintenir dans une bonne position en tant que pays favorisant le travail, les affaires et les investissements. »

– Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés