Archived - Minister Oliver Announces his Economic Advisory Council

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Harper Government remains committed to strengthening the economy for all Canadians

July 16, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the members of his Economic Advisory Council.

The group of 16 members from across Canada includes Canadian business and academic leaders who will meet with the Minister periodically to provide advice on a broad range of fiscal, economic and financial issues, as the Government will be returning to balance in 2015.

The Council members are:

  • John Bradlow
  • Bonnie Brooks
  • Peter Brown
  • Paul Desmarais
  • Murray Edwards
  • Monique Leroux
  • Donald Lindsay
  • Rebecca MacDonald
  • Janice MacKinnon, Chair
  • Jack Mintz
  • Andrew Oland
  • Jim Pattison
  • Dani Reiss
  • H. Sanford Riley
  • Nancy Southern
  • Rob Wildeboer

Quick Facts

  • Council members have agreed to a salary of $1, with their expenses being reimbursed by the Government.
  • The Council was established on December 18, 2008 to provide economic advice to the Minister of Finance in the wake of the global financial crisis and recession.
  • Since the Government introduced the Economic Action Plan to respond to the global recession, Canada has performed better than most developed countries.
  • Real GDP is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • The Canadian economy posted one of the strongest job creation records in the G-7 over the recovery, with more than 1 million jobs created since July 2009.

Quotes

"As we return to balanced budgets in 2015 it is important we listen to Canada's leading business and economic innovators. Balanced budgets will provide a host of benefits and opportunities. It means we can lower taxes and invest in the priorities of Canadian families. I look forward to working with the Council members and hearing their ideas as we move toward a new era of fiscal sustainability and prosperity for our country."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Biographical Notes

John Bradlow

Mr. John Bradlow is the managing partner of Penfund, a leading Canadian private equity firm specializing in providing junior capital to middle market companies throughout North America. He has almost 40 years of broad-based financial experience.

After beginning his career as an investment banker, he joined Bank of Montreal where he became a senior executive. Later, Mr. Bradlow was one of the founders of Private Equity Management Corporation, an institutional money management firm, ultimately acquired by Penfund in 1998.

Mr. Bradlow has an M.B.A. from Harvard University and is a Chartered Professional Accountant (Ontario). He is a director of several federal and private sector corporations and was for many years a director of the Canadian Venture Capital Association.

Bonnie Brooks

Ms. Bonnie Brooks was appointed Vice Chairman of Hudson’s Bay Company in February 2014. She joined Canada’s pioneering retailer, Hudson’s Bay, as President and CEO in 2008 and was appointed to President of the Hudson’s Bay Company in 2012 when Lord & Taylor (USA) joined with the Hudson’s Bay Company.

Before joining HBC in 2008, Ms. Brooks was based in Hong Kong for 11 years, as President of Lane Crawford Joyce Group with more than 500 stores in nine Asian countries, and previously served as Executive Vice President for Holt Renfrew in Canada.

Ms. Brooks holds an M.B.A. from the University of Western Ontario. She was named one of the Top 25 Retailers worldwide by Monocle magazine and was recognized by Fast Company magazine (USA) as one of the world’s “100 Most Creative People in Business.”

Peter M. Brown

Mr. Peter M. Brown is the Founder of Canaccord Genuity Group Inc. which he established in 1968. Mr. Brown retired from the firm in June 2014 and is currently serving as Chairman of the Board for the Fraser Institute, Chairman of the Vancouver Police Foundation and is Chair Emeritus of the Investment Industry Association of Canada. He is also British Columbia’s representative on the Advisory Committee to the Canadian Securities Transition Office.

Mr. Brown is a previous member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Federal Minister of Finance, and recently, the Business Council of British Columbia appointed Mr. Brown to their Board of Governors.

Mr. Brown has received many awards including the Pacific Entrepreneur of the Year, Her Majesty’s Commemorative Golden Jubilee Medal, the Order of British Columbia and was recently inducted into the Canadian Business Hall of Fame.

Paul Desmarais, Jr.

Mr. Paul Desmarais, Jr. is Chairman and Co-Chief Executive Officer of Power Corporation of Canada and Co-Chairman of Power Financial Corporation. Prior to attaining his current position he was President and Chief Operating Officer of Power Financial from 1986 to 1989, Vice-Chairman from 1989 to 1990, and was Chairman of the Board from 1990 to 2005.

Mr. Desmarais is Chairman of the Board of Governors of The International Economic Forum of the Americas, Founder and member of the International Advisory Board of l’École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC), an Honourary Member of the Desautels Faculty of Management Advisory Board, and a member of the Principal’s International Advisory Board of McGill University.

In 2006 Mr. Desmarais received a doctorate honoris causa from Université Laval, in 2008 from the Université de Montréal, and in 2012 from McGill University. In 2012, he was named Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur in France.

N. Murray Edwards

Mr. N. Murray Edwards is President and owner of Edco Financial Holdings Ltd., a Calgary based management company. He is a leading investor in and a managing director and executive chairman of numerous publicly traded companies including Canadian Natural Resources Limited, Ensign Energy Services Inc., and Magellan Aerospace Corporation. Mr. Edwards is also a director, chairman and co-owner of the Calgary Flames Hockey Club.

At a community level, Mr. Edwards is a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives and the C.D. Howe Institute.

Mr. Edwards graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Saskatchewan with Great Distinction and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Toronto with Honours. After moving to Calgary in 1983 he became a lawyer and later a Partner with Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer, a Calgary based law firm.

Monique F. Leroux

Ms. Monique F. Leroux is the Chair of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Desjardins Group, a leading cooperative financial group in Canada. A member of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives and the Founders' Council of the Quebec Global 100 network, she also chairs the Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité and is a member of the Board of Directors of Co-operatives and Mutuals Canada.

Ms. Leroux is also a member of the Board of Directors of the International Co-operative Alliance, the European Association of Co-operative Banks and the International Confederation of Popular Banks and of Crédit Mutuel’s subsidiary CIC (Crédit industriel et commercial). In addition, she is a member of the Governing Board of Finance Montréal, and the Advisory Committee on the Canadian Public Service.

Ms. Leroux is a member of the Order of Canada and an officer of l’Ordre national du Québec. She has received the title of Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, the Woodrow Wilson Award and the Outstanding Achievement Award from l’Ordre des CPA.

Donald R. Lindsay

Mr. Donald R. Lindsay was appointed President of Teck Resources Limited in January 2005 and assumed the additional responsibility of Chief Executive Officer in April 2005. Before joining Teck, he was President of CIBC World Markets and led the bank’s Investment and Corporate Banking Division as well as the Asia Pacific Region. Earlier in his career he was responsible for CIBC’s Global Mining Group.

Mr. Lindsay is a member of the Board of Directors of Manulife Financial Corporation and the Board of Directors of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives. He is Chair of the Board of Governors for Mining and Metals for the World Economic Forum, serves on the Executive Committee for the Governor General’s Canadian Leadership Conference, and previously served as a Member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Federal Minister of Finance.

Mr. Lindsay has a B.Sc. (Honours) in Mining Engineering from Queen’s University and an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School.

Rebecca MacDonald

Ms. Rebecca MacDonald is a founder and current Executive Chair of Just Energy Group, a Toronto based marketer of deregulated electricity and natural gas.  Just Energy currently supplies more than 2 million customers across Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom.

In 1988, Ms. MacDonald founded Energy Marketing Inc., the first company which targeted small customers under Canadian natural gas deregulation. Following the sale of that business, in 1995 she founded a new company which aggregated customers within the UK natural gas deregulation. This company was sold and the proceeds were used to create her current company.

Ms. MacDonald was named Canadian Woman Entrepreneur of the Year for 2002 by the Rotman School of Business, and was named Canada’s top woman CEO for 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007 by Profit magazine.  She is also the founder of the Rebecca MacDonald Centre for Arthritis and Autoimmune Disease at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto.

In 2003, Ms. MacDonald was named Ontario Entrepreneur of the Year by Ernst & Young, and in 2009 she won the International Horatio Alger Award. She sits on the Board of Governors of the Royal Ontario Museum, is Vice Chair of the Board of Mount Sinai Hospital, and sits on the Board of Canadian Pacific Railway. In 2009 she received an Honourary Ph.D. from the University of Victoria.

Janice MacKinnon

Dr. Janice MacKinnon is a professor of fiscal policy at the University of Saskatchewan, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a former Saskatchewan Finance Minister. Between 1991 and 2001 she was a cabinet minister in Saskatchewan and held various portfolios including Minister of Finance, Minister of Social Services, Minister of Economic Development, and Government House leader.

In 2009 Dr. MacKinnon was appointed to the National Task Force on Financial Literacy, and previously served as a Member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Federal Minister of Finance. In 2012 she was appointed to the Order of Canada and in September 2013 she was chosen as one of Canada’s top 25 Women of Influence.

Ms. MacKinnon has an Honours B.A. from the University of Western Ontario and a M.A. and Ph.D. from Queen’s University.

Jack Mintz

Dr. Jack M. Mintz is the Palmer Chair in Public Policy at the University of Calgary and Director of the School of Public Policy.

Dr. Mintz previously held the position of Professor of Business Economics at the Rotman School of Business from 1989 to 2007 and Department of Economics at Queen’s University, Kingston, 1978 to 1989.  He was a Visiting Professor, New York University Law School, 2007; President and CEO of the C. D. Howe Institute, 1999 to 2006; Clifford Clark Visiting Economist at the Department of Finance; and Associate Dean (Academic) of the Faculty of Management, University of Toronto, 1993 to 1995.

Dr. Mintz has consulted widely with the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the governments of Canada, Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Ontario, Prince Edward Island and Saskatchewan, and various businesses and non-profit organizations.

Andrew Oland

Mr. Andrew Oland has been President of Moosehead Breweries Limited since 2008. In 2013, he became CEO as well. As President and CEO of Moosehead, he has direct responsibility for the performance of the company and its subsidiary operations.

Mr. Oland currently serves as a board member with the Conference Board of Canada, Beer Canada, and is a member of the New Brunswick Business Council. He has a wide range of concerns and interests outside of the brewing industry.

Mr. Oland received his business degree in 1989 from Old Dominion University in Norfolk Virginia, and his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School in 1997.

Jim Pattison

Mr. Jim Pattison is the Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and sole owner of The Jim Pattison Group, one of the largest privately held companies in Canada.

Mr. Pattison serves as a director on various boards, including Canadian Forest Products (Canfor Corporation) and Brookfield Asset Management, and serves as a Trustee on the Board of the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation.

Mr. Pattison was appointed to the Order of Canada in 1987 and the Order of British Columbia in 1990.  He is also the recipient of the Governor General’s Commemorative Medal for the 125th Anniversary of Canada. Mr. Pattison is an inductee of the Canadian Business Hall of Fame and the Canadian Professional Sales Association Hall of Fame.

Dani Reiss

Dani Reiss is President and CEO of Canada Goose Inc., one of the world's leading manufacturers of outdoor luxury apparel.

In addition to his role at Canada Goose, Mr. Reiss serves as Chairman of Polar Bears International, is a member of the Board of Directors of Mount Sinai Hospital Foundation, and sits on the Advisory Board of Queen’s University School of Business Centre for Responsible Leadership. In 2011, he was named Canada’s Entrepreneur of the Year by Ernst & Young.

Mr. Reiss has a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Toronto.

H. Sanford Riley

Mr. Sanford Riley is President & Chief Executive Officer of Richardson Financial Group Limited, Canada’s largest independent wealth management firm. Before joining Richardson Financial Group, Mr. Riley was President and CEO of Investors Group Inc., a position he held for nearly 10 years. He was appointed Chairman in 2001.

Mr. Riley is Chairman of the Board of Directors of the University of Winnipeg Foundation and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the North West Company Fund. He serves as a Director of Molson Coors Brewing Company, the Canada West Foundation and the Canadian Western Bank Group.

Mr. Riley was appointed as a member of the Order of Canada in 2002 and the Order of Manitoba in 2013. He is a graduate of Queen’s University in Political Science and of Osgoode Hall Law School.

Nancy Southern

Ms. Nancy Southern is Chair, President & Chief Executive Officer of ATCO Ltd. and Canadian Utilities Limited, an ATCO company. After joining the ATCO Board of Directors in 1989, she served as Co-Chair of ATCO for 16 years prior to being elected Chair in December 2012. Ms. Southern has been President & CEO of both ATCO Ltd. and Canadian Utilities Limited since 2003.

Ms. Southern is a member of The U.S. Business Council, the Canadian Council of Chief Executives, the American Society of Corporate Executives, the C.D. Howe Institute, and a Canadian Member of the Trilateral Commission. In 2013, she was appointed by the Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women to an advisory council to promote the participation of women on public and private corporate boards. She has previously served as a Member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Federal Minister of Finance.

In 2013, Ms. Southern received the T. Patrick Boyle Founder’s Award from the Fraser Institute for her entrepreneurial achievements and recognized accomplishments in the promotion of freedom and free markets. She was also included in Fortune’s list of the “50 Most Powerful Women In Business: The Global 50” and named as one of “The 50 Most Important People in Canada” in Maclean’s. She is an honorary Chief of the Kainai (Blood Tribe of Alberta) and in June 2014, Ms. Southern was awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree by the University of Calgary.

Rob Wildeboer

Mr. Rob Wildeboer is the Executive Chairman and co-founder of Martinrea International Inc., a global leader in automotive parts manufacturing and product development. Previously, he was a partner of Wildeboer Dellece LLP, a law firm that practises corporate, securities and tax law, which he co-founded in 1993.

Mr. Wildeboer is a director and Vice Chair of the Automotive Parts Manufacturers Association (APMA), a director of the Canadian Automotive Partnership Counsel (CAPC), a past member of the Science, Technology and Innovation Council of Canada, a member of the Ontario Manufacturing Council, Chair of the CEO Manufacturing Advisory Council of the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association, Chair of the Macdonald-Laurier Institute, and a Member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Federal Minister of Finance.

Mr. Wildeboer holds an undergraduate degree from the University of Guelph, a law degree from Osgoode Hall Law School, an M.B.A. from York University and an LL.M. from Harvard University.

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver annonce la composition de son conseil consultatif sur l'économie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement Harper maintient son engagement de renforcer l’économie dans l’intérêt des Canadiennes et des Canadiens

Le 16 juillet 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la composition de son conseil consultatif sur l’économie.

Formé de 16 chefs d’entreprise et universitaires canadiens de premier plan provenant de l’ensemble du pays, ce conseil se réunira régulièrement avec le ministre pour présenter des conseils sur une vaste gamme de questions budgétaires, économiques et financières, en cette période où le gouvernement s’apprête à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015.

Le Conseil regroupe les personnes suivantes :

  • John Bradlow
  • Bonnie Brooks
  • Peter Brown
  • Paul Desmarais
  • Murray Edwards
  • Monique Leroux
  • Donald Lindsay
  • Rebecca MacDonald
  • Janice MacKinnon, présidente
  • Jack Mintz
  • Andrew Oland
  • Jim Pattison
  • Dani Reiss
  • H. Sanford Riley
  • Nancy Southern
  • Rob Wildeboer

Les faits en bref

  • Les membres du Conseil ont convenu d’un salaire de 1 $ assorti du remboursement de leurs frais par le gouvernement.
  • Le Conseil a été mis sur pied le 18 décembre 2008 pour fournir des conseils d’ordre économique au ministre des Finances dans la foulée de la crise financière et de la récession mondiales.
  • Depuis que le gouvernement a mis en œuvre le Plan d’action économique en réponse à la récession mondiale, le Canada a affiché de meilleurs résultats que la plupart des pays développés.
  • Le produit intérieur brut réel du Canada a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession; il s’agit de la meilleure performance parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7).
  • L’économie canadienne a affiché l’une des plus fortes créations d’emploi parmi les pays du G-7 au cours de la reprise, plus de 1 million d’emplois ayant été créés depuis juillet 2009.

Citations

« Alors que le rétablissement de l’équilibre budgétaire se fera en 2015, il importe que nous demeurions à l’écoute d’innovateurs éminents des domaines des affaires et de l’économie. L’équilibre budgétaire entraînera de nombreux avantages et possibilités et nous permettra d’abaisser les impôts et d’investir dans les grandes priorités des familles canadiennes. Je me réjouis à l’idée de travailler avec les membres du Conseil et d’entendre leurs points de vue alors que nous nous dirigeons vers une nouvelle ère de viabilité des finances publiques et de prospérité pour notre pays. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés

Notices biographiques

John Bradlow

M. John Bradlow est associé directeur de Penfund, une firme canadienne d’investissement en capital de premier plan qui se spécialise dans la prestation de capitaux de démarrage à des entreprises de taille moyenne dans l’ensemble de l’Amérique du Nord. Il possède une vaste expérience des finances acquise sur près de 40 ans.

Après avoir commencé sa carrière en tant que banquier d’affaires, M. Bradlow s’est joint à la Banque de Montréal, où il est devenu un cadre supérieur. Plus tard, il a été l’un des fondateurs de la Private Equity Management Corporation, une société de gestion de portefeuilles institutionnels que Penfund a acquise en 1998.

M. Bradlow est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Harvard et comptable professionnel agréé de l’Ontario. Actuellement administrateur de plusieurs sociétés fédérales et du secteur privé, il a été l’un des administrateurs de l’Association canadienne du capital de risque pendant de nombreuses années.

Bonnie Brooks

Mme Bonnie Brooks a été nommée vice-présidente du conseil de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (Hbc) en février 2014. Elle s’était jointe à ce détaillant d’avant-garde canadien à titre de présidente et chef de la direction en 2008, puis nommée présidente de cette entreprise en 2012 lorsque Lord & Taylor (États-Unis) s’y est intégrée.

Avant d’entrer au service de la Hbc, Mme Brooks a travaillé à Hong Kong pendant 11 ans à titre de présidente du Lane Crawford Joyce Group regroupant plus de 500 commerces dans neuf pays d’Asie. Elle avait auparavant occupé les fonctions de première vice-présidente chez Holt Renfrew au Canada.

Mme Brooks détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université de Western Ontario. Elle a figuré au palmarès des 25 meilleurs détaillants à l’échelle internationale établie par le magazine Monocle et à celui des 100 gens d’affaires les plus créatifs du monde du magazine américain Fast Company.

Peter M. Brown

M. Peter M. Brown a fondé en 1968 le Canaccord Genuity Group Inc., duquel il a pris sa retraite en juin 2014. Il est actuellement président du conseil d’administration de l’Institut Fraser, président de la Vancouver Police Foundation et président émérite de l’Association canadienne du commerce des valeurs mobilières. Il est également le représentant de la Colombie-Britannique au comité consultatif du Bureau de transition canadien en valeurs mobilières.

M. Brown a précédemment fait partie du Conseil consultatif sur l’économie du ministre des Finances du Canada. Il a récemment été nommé au conseil des gouverneurs du Business Council of British Columbia.

M. Brown a reçu de nombreuses distinctions, dont le Grand Prix de l’Entrepreneur dans la région du Pacifique, la Médaille commémorative du jubilé de Sa Majesté la reine et l’Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique. Il a récemment été intronisé au Temple de la renommée de l’entreprise canadienne.

Paul Desmarais fils

M. Paul Desmarais fils est président du conseil et cochef de la direction de la Power Corporation du Canada et coprésident de la Corporation Financière Power. Avant d’occuper son poste actuel, il a été président et chef de l’exploitation de 1986 à 1989, vice-président du conseil de 1989 à 1990 et président du conseil de 1990 à 2005 à la Financière Power.

M. Desmarais est président du bureau des gouverneurs du Forum économique international des Amériques, fondateur et membre du conseil consultatif international de l’École des hautes études commerciales, ainsi que membre honoraire du conseil consultatif de la Faculté de gestion Desautels et membre du conseil consultatif international du doyen de l’Université McGill.

M. Desmarais a reçu des doctorats honorifiques de l’Université Laval en 2006, de l’Université de Montréal en 2008 et de l’Université McGill en 2012. En 2012, il a été nommé Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur de France.

N. Murray Edwards

M. N. Murray Edwards est président et propriétaire d’Edco Financial Holdings Ltd., une société de gestion de Calgary. Il est le principal investisseur, l’administrateur délégué et le président exécutif de nombreuses sociétés cotées en bourse, dont Canadian Natural Resources Limited, Ensign Energy Services Inc. et Magellan Aerospace Corporation. Il est également administrateur, président du conseil et copropriétaire des l’équipe de hockey des Flames de Calgary.

Sur le plan communautaire, M. Edwards est membre du conseil d’administration du Conseil canadien des chefs d'entreprise et de l’Institut C.D. Howe.

M. Edwards détient un baccalauréat en commerce (avec grande distinction) de l’Université de la Saskatchewan et un baccalauréat en droit (avec distinction) de l’Université de Toronto. Après son déménagement à Calgary en 1983, il est devenu avocat puis associé au cabinet d’avocats Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer.

Monique F. Leroux

Mme Monique F. Leroux est présidente du conseil et chef de la direction du Mouvement Desjardins, l’un des groupes financiers coopératifs de premier plan du Canada. Membre du Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise et du Conseil des fondateurs du réseau Québec Global 100, Mme Leroux préside également le Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité et est membre du conseil d'administration de Coopératives et mutuelles Canada.

Elle est aussi membre du conseil d’administration de l’Alliance coopérative internationale, du Groupement européen des banques coopératives, de la Confédération internationale des banques populaires et de la filiale Crédit industriel et commercial du Crédit Mutuel. De plus, elle est membre du conseil des gouverneurs de Finance Montréal et du Comité consultatif sur la fonction publique du Canada.

Mme Leroux est membre de l’Ordre du Canada et officière de l’Ordre national du Québec. Elle a reçu le titre de Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur, le prix Woodrow-Wilson et le prix Hommage de l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec.

Donald R. Lindsay

M. Donald R. Lindsay a été nommé président de Teck Resources Limited en janvier 2005 et a assumé les responsabilités additionnelles de chef de la direction en avril 2005. Avant d’entrer au service de Teck, il a été président de Marchés mondiaux CIBC, où il a dirigé la Division des investissements et des services bancaires aux entreprises, de même que la Division de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.Auparavant, il avait été chargé du groupe mondial de l’exploitation minière de la CIBC.

M. Lindsay est membre du conseil d’administration de la Financière Manuvie et du conseil d'administration du Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise. Il est président du conseil des gouverneurs pour les mines et métaux du Forum économique mondial, est membre du comité de direction de La Conférence canadienne du Gouverneur général sur le leadership, et a été membre du Conseil consultatif sur l’économie du ministre des Finances du Canada.

M. Lindsay détient un baccalauréat ès sciences avec spécialisation en génie minier de l’Université Queen’s et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Harvard Business School.

Rebecca MacDonald

Mme Rebecca MacDonald est l’un des fondateurs et la présidente exécutive actuelle de Just Energy Group, un négociant en électricité et en gaz naturel déréglementés de Toronto. Just Energy approvisionne actuellement plus de 2 millions de consommateurs au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni.

En 1988, Mme MacDonald a fondé Energy Marketing Inc., première société à cibler les petits consommateurs dans le marché déréglementé du gaz naturel au Canada. Après la vente de cette entreprise, elle a fondé en 1995 une nouvelle société qui a regroupé des consommateurs aux termes de la déréglementation du marché du gaz naturel au Royaume-Uni. Mme MacDonald a utilisé le produit de la vente de cette société pour créer son entreprise actuelle.

La Rotman School of Business lui a décerné le Prix canadien de l’entrepreneuriat féminin en 2002, et elle a été désignée meilleure présidente-directrice générale du Canada de 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 et 2007 par le magazine Profit. Elle est également fondatrice du Rebecca MacDonald Centre for Arthritis and Autoimmune Disease à l’hôpital Mount Sinai de Toronto.

Mme MacDonald a été nommée Entrepreneure de l’année de l’Ontario par la firme Ernst & Young en 2003, et lauréate du prix international Horatio Alger en 2009. Actuellement, elle siège au conseil des gouverneurs du Musée royal de l’Ontario, au conseil d’administration de l’hôpital Mount Sinai à titre de vice-présidente, et au conseil du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique. Elle a reçu un doctorat honorifique de l’Université de Victoria en 2009.

Janice MacKinnon

Mme Janice MacKinnon est professeure en politique budgétaire à l’Université de la Saskatchewan, membre de la Société royale du Canada et ancienne ministre des Finances de la Saskatchewan. Elle a siégé au Conseil des ministres de la Saskatchewan de 1991 à 2001, notamment aux portefeuilles des Finances, des Services sociaux et du Développement économique de même que dans les fonctions de leader du gouvernement à l’Assemblée législative.

En 2009, Mme MacKinnon a été nommée au Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière national. Elle a précédemment fait partie du Conseil consultatif sur l’économie du ministre des Finances du Canada. En 2012, elle a été admise à l’Ordre du Canada, et en septembre 2013, son nom a figuré aux palmarès des 25 femmes les plus influentes du Canada.

Mme MacKinnon détient un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation de l’Université de Western Ontario et une maîtrise et un doctorat de l’Université Queen’s.

Jack Mintz

M. Jack M. Mintz est titulaire de la chaire Palmer d’étude des politiques publiques et directeur de la School of Public Policy à l’Université de Calgary.

M. Mintz a auparavant occupé le poste de professeur d’économie de l’entreprise à la Rotman School of Management de 1989 à 2007 et au département d’économie de l’Université Queen’s, à Kingston, de 1978 à 1989. Il a été professeur invité à l’école de droit de l’Université de New York en 2007, président et chef de la direction de l’Institut C.D. Howe de 1999 à 2006, économiste invité Clifford-Clark au ministère des Finances du Canada, ainsi que doyen associé aux études de la Faculté de gestion de l’Université de Toronto de 1993 à 1995.

M. Mintz a aussi été consultant auprès de la Banque mondiale, du Fonds monétaire international, de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, des gouvernements du Canada, de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Ontario, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Saskatchewan, et de diverses entreprises et organisations sans but lucratif.

Andrew Oland

M. Andrew Oland est depuis 2008 président de Moosehead Breweries, de même que chef de la direction de cette entreprise depuis 2013. Ces deux fonctions lui confèrent la responsabilité directe du rendement de l’entreprise et de ses filiales.

M. Oland est actuellement membre des conseils d’administration du Conference Board du Canada et de Bière Canada et membre du Conseil d’entreprises du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il cultive une vaste gamme d’intérêts à l’extérieur de l’industrie brassicole.

M. Oland a reçu un baccalauréat en administration de l’Université Old Dominion de Norfolk, en Virginie, en 1989 et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Harvard Business School en 1997.

Jim Pattison

M. Jim Pattison est président du conseil, chef de la direction et unique propriétaire du Jim Pattison Group, l’une des plus importantes sociétés fermées du Canada.

M. Pattison siège à de nombreux conseils d’administration, dont ceux des sociétés Produits forestiers du Canada (Canfor) et Brookfield Asset Management ainsi que celui de la Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation.

Il a été admis à l’Ordre du Canada en 1987 et à l’Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique en 1990, et a reçu la Médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire de la Confédération décernée par le gouverneur général. Il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée de l’entreprise canadienne et au panthéon de l’Association canadienne des professionnels de la vente.

Dani Reiss

Dani Reiss est président et chef de la direction de Canada Goose Inc., l’un des principaux fabricants mondiaux de vêtements d’extérieur de luxe.

Outre ses fonctions à Canada Goose, M. Reiss occupe la présidence de Polar Bears International, est membre du conseil d’administration de la fondation de l’hôpital Mount Sinai et siège au conseil consultatif du Centre for Responsible Leadership de la School of Business de l’Université Queen’s. En 2011, il a été nommé lauréat du Grand Prix de l’Entrepreneur 2011 pour le Canada, décerné par Ernst & Young.

M. Reiss détient un baccalauréat ès arts en littérature anglaise de l’Université de Toronto.

H. Sanford Riley

M. Sanford Riley est président et chef de la direction du Groupe Financier Richardson Limitée, la plus importante société de gestion de patrimoine indépendante au Canada. Avant de se joindre à cette dernière, M. Riley a été président et chef de la direction du Groupe Investors Inc. pendant près de 10 ans et nommé président du conseil en 2001.

M. Riley est président des conseils d’administration de la fondation de l’Université de Winnipeg et du North West Company Fund. Il siège également aux conseils d’administration de la Molson Coors Brewing Company, de la Canada West Foundation et de la Banque Canadienne de l’Ouest.

M. Riley a été admis à l’Ordre du Canada en 2002 et à l’Ordre du Manitoba en 2013. Il est titulaire de baccalauréats de l’Université Queen’s (science politique) et de l’Osgoode Hall Law School.

Nancy Southern

Mme Nancy Southern est présidente, chef de la direction et présidente du conseil d’administration d’ATCO Ltd. et de Canadian Utilities Limited, une filiale d’ATCO. Après s’être jointe au conseil d’administration d’ATCO en 1989, elle en a été la coprésidente pendant 16 ans avant d’être élue présidente en décembre 2012. Mme Southern est présidente et chef de la direction d’ATCO. et de Canadian Utilities depuis 2003.

Mme Southern est membre du Business Council des États-Unis, du Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise, de l’American Society of Corporate Executives et de l’Institut C.D. Howe, de même que membre canadien de la Commission trilatérale. En 2013, la ministre de la Condition féminime, Kellie Leitch, l’a nommée à un comité consultatif dont l’objectif consiste à favoriser une plus grande participation des femmes aux conseils de direction d’entreprises canadiennes. Mme Southern a précédemment fait partie du Conseil consultatif sur l’économie du ministre des Finances du Canada.

En 2013, elle a reçu le Prix du Fondateur T. Patrick Boyle de l’Institut Fraser pour ses réussites entrepreneuriales et ses réalisations reconnues dans la promotion de la liberté et de l’économie de marché. Elle a aussi figuré aux palmarès du magazine Fortune des 50 femmes les plus puissantes du monde des affaires à l’échelle internationale et des 50 personnes les plus importantes au Canada du magazine Maclean's. Elle est chef honoraire de la nation Kainai (tribu des Blood d’Alberta). En juin 2014, elle a reçu un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université de Calgary.

Rob Wildeboer

M. Rob Wildeboer est président directeur et cofondateur de Martinrea International Inc., l’un des chefs de fil mondiaux de la fabrication et du développement de pièces d’automobiles. Précédemment, il a été associé fondateur de Wildeboer Dellece LLP, un cabinet juridique spécialisé en droit des sociétés, en droit des valeurs mobilières et en fiscalité, établi en 1993.

M. Wildeboer est administrateur et vice-président de l’Association des fabricants de pièces d’automobile, membre du Conseil du Partenariat du secteur canadien de l’automobile, ancien membre du Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l’innovation, membre du Conseil ontarien du secteur de la fabrication, président du conseil consultatif des PDG de la fabrication de Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada, président de l’Institut Macdonald-Laurier. Il a précédemment fait partie du Conseil consultatif sur l’économie du ministre des Finances.

M. Wildeboer est titulaire d’un baccalauréat de l’Université de Guelph, d’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Osgoode Hall Law School, d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université York et d’une maîtrise en droit de l’Université Harvard.