Archived - Canada Issues More Ultra-Long Bonds

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

July 10, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced that the Government of Canada successfully issued $1 billion in 50-year bonds. This is in addition to the $1.5 billion 50-year bonds issued on April 28.

The additional issuance of bonds in the ultra-long sector is in line with the commitment the Government made in Economic Action Plan 2012 to reallocate short-term bond issuance towards long-term bonds to help reduce refinancing risk and to lock in low funding costs for Canadian taxpayers.

Quick Facts

  • This is the first reopening of the Government’s ultra-long bond.
  • Maturing on December 1, 2064, and with a yield of 2.76 per cent, the Government doubled its minimum size of $500 million for the transaction.
  • Canada received exceptionally strong demand from both domestic and international investors, with 35 individual accounts across most investor types participating in the issue.
  • With the addition of $1 billion in issuance today, the Government has now issued a total of $2.5 billion in 50-year bonds.
  • Locking in additional low-cost funding for 50 years benefits Canadian taxpayers and reduces the Government’s refinancing risk, which is consistent with the key objectives of the medium-term debt strategy.

Quotes

"Today's successful re-opening of the long-term bond is another example of how this Government efficiently responds to market needs and benefits from its focussed approach on fiscal prudence and sustainability. We are continuing to deliver on our commitment to reduce refinancing risk and lock in low-cost funding for Canadian taxpayers as the Government returns to budget balance in 2015."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le Canada émet d'autres obligations à très longue échéance

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 10 juillet 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada avait émis avec succès des obligations à 50 ans totalisant 1,0 milliard de dollars. Cette émission s’ajoute à l’émission d’obligations à 50 ans totalisant 1,5 milliard de dollars effectuée le 28 avril.

L’émission supplémentaire d’obligations à très longue échéance est conforme à l’engagement du gouvernement, énoncé dans le Plan d'action économique de 2012, à réduire l’émission d’obligations à court terme en faveur de l’émission d’obligations à long terme, pour aider à réduire le risque de refinancement et s’assurer d’obtenir des coûts de financement peu élevés dans l’intérêt des contribuables canadiens.

Les faits en bref

  • Il s’agit de la première réouverture de l’émission d’obligations à très long terme du gouvernement.
  • La taille de cette opération, qui touche des titres arrivant à échéance le 1er décembre 2064 et affichant un rendement de 2,76 %, correspond au double de la taille minimale de 500 millions de dollars fixée par le gouvernement.
  • Cette émission du Canada a fait l’objet d’une demande exceptionnellement élevée d’investisseurs nationaux et étrangers; la participation s’est étendue à 35 comptes particuliers représentant la plupart des types d’investisseurs.
  • Grâce à l’émission supplémentaire de 1,0 milliard de dollars réalisée aujourd’hui, le gouvernement a maintenant émis pour 2,5 milliards de dollars d’obligations à 50 ans.
  • L’obtention à faible coût d’un financement d’une durée assurée de 50 ans est avantageuse pour les contribuables canadiens en plus de réduire le risque de refinancement pour le gouvernement, ce qui est conforme aux principaux objectifs de la stratégie de gestion de la dette à moyen terme.

Citations

« La réouverture réussie de l'émission d'obligations à long terme effectuée aujourd'hui constitue un nouvel exemple de la façon dont le gouvernement répond de manière efficiente aux besoins du marché et tire profit de son approche axée sur la prudence budgétaire et la soutenabilité. Nous continuons de concrétiser notre engagement à réduire le risque de refinancement et à assurer un financement à faible coût pour les contribuables canadiens, alors que le gouvernement s'apprête à rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire en 2015. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés