Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment of New Chair of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister congratulates Heather Munroe-Blum on her appointment

June 24, 2014 - Ottawa, Ontario -Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Heather Munroe-Blum as Chair of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB), effective October 27, 2014. Dr. Munroe-Blum has served on the Board of Directors of the CPPIB since 2011. Her appointment as Chair is for a three-year term ending on October 26, 2017.

Dr. Munroe-Blum became the first woman to serve as Principal and Vice-Chancellor (President) of McGill University in 2003. She is a professor at McGill’s Faculty of Medicine and Principal Emerita, and is returning from a leave at Stanford University’s Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences.

Quick Facts

  • The CPPIB is a professional investment management organization that invests the assets of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) not currently needed to pay pension, disability and survivor benefits.
  • The CPP Fund ended its fiscal year on March 31, 2014, with net assets of $219.1 billion, compared with $183.3 billion at the end of the 2013 fiscal year. The portfolio delivered a gross investment return of 16.5 per cent for fiscal year 2014.
  • In the most recent triennial review released in December 2013, the Chief Actuary of Canada reaffirmed that, as of December 2012, the CPP remains sustainable at the current contribution rate of 9.9 per cent throughout the 75-year period of his report.

Quotes

“Heather Munroe-Blum’s extensive management expertise, deep strategic thinking and proven innovative skill are attributes sought in the thorough recruitment process for a new CPPIB Chair. I congratulate Dr. Munroe-Blum on her appointment and am confident she will provide highly competent leadership to this important organization. I wish to thank Robert Astley, who is Chair until October, for his contributions on behalf of 18 million Canadians who build their financial security in retirement upon the Canada Pension Plan.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Heather Munroe-Blum has served on the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB) since 2011.

Dr. Munroe-Blum became the first woman to serve as Principal and Vice-Chancellor (President) of McGill University in 2003. She previously served as Vice-President (Research and International Relations) at the University of Toronto and she serves on numerous not-for-profit boards and advisories.

She is the author or co-author of more than 65 scholarly publications. She is a founder of the Toronto-based Medical and Related Sciences Discovery District, a founding director of Genome Canada and the founding Co-Chair of the biannual State of the Nation Report of the Science, Technology and Innovation Council. She also serves on the Board of Directors of the Royal Bank of Canada, and has served on the boards of the Four Seasons Hotels, Alcan, the Canada Forum of Rio Tinto Alcan, Yellow Media Inc., and Hydro One (Ontario), among others.

Dr. Munroe-Blum holds a Ph.D. with distinction in epidemiology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, an M.S.W. from Wilfrid Laurier University and a B.A. and B.S.W. from McMaster University.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce la nomination de la nouvelle présidente de l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre félicite Mme Heather Munroe-Blum pour sa nomination

Le 24 juin 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Heather Munroe-Blum à la présidence de l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada (OIRPC). Cette nomination prend effet le 27 octobre 2014. Mme Munroe-Blum siège au conseil d’administration de l’Office depuis 2011. Sa nomination est assortie d’un mandat de trois ans se terminant le 26 octobre 2017.

Mme Munroe-Blum a été la première femme à occuper le poste de présidente (rectrice) et vice-chancelière de l’Université McGill, en 2003. Actuellement professeure à la faculté de médecine et principale émérite de l’Université McGill, elle est sur le point de terminer un congé administratif passé au Centre des hautes études en science comportementale de l’Université Stanford.

Les faits en bref

  • L’OIRPC est un organisme de gestion de placements professionnel qui place l’actif dont le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) n’a pas actuellement besoin pour verser les prestations de retraite, d’invalidité et de survivant.
  • À la fin de l’exercice clos le 31 mars 2014, le fonds du RPC affichait un actif net de 219,1 milliards de dollars, comparativement à 183,3 milliards de dollars à la fin de l’exercice 2013. Le portefeuille a enregistré un rendement brut du capital investi de 16,5 % pour l’exercice 2014.
  • Lors du plus récent examen triennal dont les résultats ont été publiés en décembre 2013, l’actuaire en chef du Canada a réaffirmé qu’en décembre 2012, le RPC demeurait viable au taux de cotisation actuel de 9,9 % dans l’ensemble de la période de 75 ans visée par son rapport.

Citations

« La vaste expertise de gestion de Heather Munroe-Blum, sa réflexion stratégique approfondie et ses compétences novatrices établies constituaient des qualités recherchées dans le rigoureux processus de recrutement d'un nouveau président ou d'une nouvelle présidente de l'OIRPC. Je félicite Mme Munroe-Blum pour sa nomination et je suis certain qu'elle exercera un leadership hautement compétent au sein de cette organisation importante. Au nom des 18 millions de Canadiens qui assurent leur sécurité financière à la retraite en misant sur le Régime de pensions du Canada, je tiens à remercier Robert Astley, qui assurera la présidence jusqu'au mois d'octobre, pour son apport. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés


Notices biographiques

Mme Heather Munroe-Blum siège au conseil d’administration de l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada (OIRPC) depuis 2011.

Mme Munroe-Blum a été la première femme à occuper le poste de présidente (rectrice) et vice-chancelière de l’Université McGill, en 2003, après avoir été vice-présidente (recherche et relations internationales) de l’Université de Toronto. Elle siège actuellement au conseil d’administration ou aux organes consultatifs de nombreux organismes à but non lucratif.

Elle est auteure ou coauteure de plus de 65 publications spécialisées. Mme Munroe-Blum est une fondatrice du district de découverte en médecine et en sciences connexes, qui est établi à Toronto, et une directrice fondatrice de Génome Canada ainsi que coprésidente fondatrice du rapport semestriel L’état des lieuxdu Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation. Elle siège aussi au conseil d’administration de la Banque Royale du Canada, et elle a notamment siégé aux conseils de Four Seasons Hotels, d’Alcan, du Forum Canada de Rio Tinto Alcan, de Yellow Média Inc. et de Hydro One (Ontario).

Mme Munroe-Blum est titulaire d’un doctorat (avec distinction) en épidémiologie de l’Université de la Caroline du Nord à Chapel Hill, d’une maîtrise en service social de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier et de baccalauréats ès arts et en service social de l’Université McMaster.