Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointments to Bank of Canada Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister congratulates Norman Betts and Alan Borger on their appointments

June 18, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario– Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointments of Norman Betts and Alan Borger to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada.

Dr. Betts is an Associate Professor at the University of New Brunswick’s Faculty of Business Administration and is the former Minister of Finance for New Brunswick.

Mr. Borger is President and Chairman of the Board of Ladco Company Limited and Chairman of Borland Construction Inc.

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada is the nation’s central bank. Its purpose, as set out in the Bank of Canada Act, is to promote the economic and financial welfare of Canada.
  • The Bank is responsible for Canada’s monetary policy and bank notes, and also has responsibilities relating to the financial system and funds management.
  • The Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada is composed of the Governor, the Senior Deputy Governor and 12 independent directors appointed to three-year renewable terms by the Governor in Council (the Cabinet).
  • The role of the Board of Directors is to provide general oversight of the management and administration of the Bank with respect to strategic planning, financial and accounting matters, risk management, human resources, and other internal policies.

Quotes

"I am pleased to announce the appointments of Norman Betts and Alan Borger to the Bank of Canada's Board of Directors. With their collective expertise in the areas of accounting, finance, business administration, politics and law, spanning both the public and private sectors, they bring a wealth of varied and valuable experience to this important institution."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Biographical Notes

Norman Betts

Dr. Betts is an Associate Professor at the University of New Brunswick’s Faculty of Business Administration. He is a former Member of the Legislative Assembly of the province of New Brunswick and was the provincial Minister of Finance from 1999 to 2001.

Dr. Betts has an accomplished career in accounting and finance and vast experience in the public and private sectors as well as academia. He is an expert in accounting regulations, and has extensive experience in audits, risk management, governance and oversight.

Dr. Betts holds positions on multiple Boards of Directors, including with Tembec Inc. and NB Power.

Dr. Betts holds a BBA in Business Administration from the University of New Brunswick (1978) and a PhD in Management with a concentration in accounting and finance from Queen’s University’s School of Business (1992). He also holds a Fellow Chartered Accountant designation.

Alan Borger

Mr. Borger is President and Chairman of the Board of Ladco Company Limited and Chairman of its wholly owned subsidiary, Borland Construction Inc., and has also served as Ladco’s Executive Vice-President and Corporate Counsel. Ladco is a corporation with interests in land development, commercial and residential real estate, property management, heavy construction, building products, and hospitality.

Mr. Borger is a member of the Residential Tenancies Advisory Committee, the President’s Advisory Committee (University of Manitoba) and the Law Society of Manitoba, and has also served as a director of The Forks North Portage Partnership.

Mr. Borger holds a BComm from Queen’s University (1983), an LLB from the University of Manitoba (1986) and an MBA from the University of Virginia (1992).

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce des nominations au conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre félicite Norman Betts et Alan Borger pour leur nomination

Le 18 juin 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario)– Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de MM. Norman Betts et Alan Borger au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada.

M. Betts est professeur agrégé à la faculté d’administration des affaires de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et ancien ministre des Finances du Nouveau-Brunswick.

M. Borger est président du conseil d’administration et président de la Ladco Company Limited, de même que président de Borland Construction Inc.

Les faits en bref

  • La Banque du Canada est la banque centrale du pays. Sa raison d’être, telle qu’elle est énoncée dans la Loi sur la Banque du Canada, consiste à favoriser la prospérité économique et financière du Canada.
  • La Banque est responsable de la politique monétaire et des billets de banque du Canada et s’acquitte également de responsabilités liées au système financier et à la gestion financière du pays.
  • Le conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada est composé du gouverneur, du premier sous-gouverneur et de 12 administrateurs indépendants nommés pour un mandat renouvelable de trois ans par le gouverneur en conseil (le Cabinet).
  • Le conseil d’administration est chargé de la surveillance de la gestion et de l’administration de la Banque, en particulier en ce qui concerne la planification stratégique et la gestion des risques, les finances et la comptabilité, les ressources humaines et les autres politiques internes.

Citations

« Je suis heureux d'annoncer la nomination de MM. Norman Betts et Alan Borger au conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada. Grâce à leur savoir-faire dans les domaines de la comptabilité, des finances, de l'administration des affaires, de la politique et du droit, acquis dans les secteurs public et privé, ils pourront mettre un éventail riche et diversifié d'expériences au service de cette importante institution. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés


Notices biographiques

Norman Betts

M. Norman Betts est professeur agrégé à la faculté d’administration des affaires de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ancien député de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, il a été ministre des Finances de cette province de 1999 à 2001.

M. Betts mène une brillante carrière en comptabilité et en finances et possède une vaste expérience dans les secteurs public et privé ainsi que dans le milieu universitaire. Expert de la réglementation comptable, il a acquis une grande expérience en matière d’audit, de gestion des risques, de gouvernance et de surveillance.

Il siège à plusieurs conseils d’administration, dont ceux de Tembec Inc. et d’Énergie NB.

M. Betts est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (1978) et d’un doctorat en administration avec concentration en comptabilité et en finances de la School of Business de l’Université Queen’s (1992). Il détient aussi le titre de fellow de l'Ordre des comptables agréés.

Alan Borger

M. Alan Borger est président du conseil d’administration et président de la Ladco Company Limited, de même que président de sa filiale à cent pour cent, Borland Construction Inc. Il a aussi occupé les fonctions de premier vice-président et d’avocat de société chez Ladco. La société Ladco exerce ses activités dans les domaines de l’aménagement de terrain, de l’immobilier commercial et résidentiel, de la gestion immobilière, de la construction lourde, des produits de construction et de l’hébergement.

M. Borger est membre du Comité consultatif des locateurs et des locataires, du comité consultatif du président (Université du Manitoba) et de la Société du Barreau du Manitoba, et il a également siégé comme administrateur au conseil du Forks North Portage Partnership.

Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Queen’s (1983), d’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université du Manitoba (1986) et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université de la Virginie (1992).