Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister congratulates Jean Bédard on his appointment

June 18, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of Finance Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Jean Bédard as a member of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT).

Mr. Bédard is a Partner in a private business law firm and is also a Deputy Judge of the Small Claims Court of Ontario (East Region).

Quick Facts

  • The CITT provides Canadian and international businesses with access to fair, transparent and timely processes for the investigation of trade remedy cases and complaints concerning federal government procurement and for the adjudication of appeals on customs and excise matters. At the request of the Government, the CITT also provides advice on tariff, trade, commercial and economic matters.
  • The CITT may be composed of up to seven full-time members, including a Chairperson, who are appointed by the Governor in Council (the Cabinet).

Quotes

"I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Bédard to the CITT. His extensive experience in the field of business law makes him an ideal fit for a position on the tribunal for Canada's trade remedy system."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Jean Bédard

Mr. Bédard is a Partner at Marlay Bédard LLP, in Kingston, Ontario. His corporate and commercial law practice has a special focus in the area of franchising. He is also a Deputy Judge of the Small Claims Court of Ontario (East Region).

Mr. Bédard began his career operating a family-owned business, Compagnie Médicale et Scientifique Ltée. He practised law in Québec City from 1975 until 1988. He then became General Counsel of Beneficial Canada Inc., a position he held until 1999. He has been responsible for major files in Canada, Europe and Latin America. He returned to private practice in Toronto in 2000.

Mr. Bédard holds an LL.L and an MBA from Université Laval (1974 and 1978), and an LL.M in International Business Law from York University's Osgoode Hall Law School (1992). He has been a member of the Quebec Bar since 1975 and a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada since 1988.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre félicite M. Jean Bédard pour sa nomination

Le 18 Juin 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario)– Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de M. Jean Bédard à titre de membre du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE).

M. Bédard est associé au sein d'un cabinet d'avocats privé spécialisé en droit des affaires. Il est également juge suppléant à la Cour des petites créances de l'Ontario pour la région de l'Est.

Les faits en bref

  • Le TCCE fournit aux entreprises canadiennes et internationales l’accès à des procédures d’enquête justes, transparentes et efficaces sur les causes liées aux recours commerciaux et les plaintes concernant les marchés publics fédéraux ainsi que sur les appels en matière de douanes et d’accise. À la demande du gouvernement, il fournit aussi des conseils sur des questions tarifaires, commerciales et économiques.
  • Le TCCE peut compter jusqu’à sept membres à temps plein, dont un président, qui sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil (le Cabinet).

Citations

« Je suis heureux d'annoncer la nomination de M. Bédard au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur. Il possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine du droit des affaires, ce qui fait de lui une personne toute désignée pour occuper un poste au tribunal des mécanismes de recours commerciaux du Canada. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

Jean Bédard

Jean Bédard est associé chez Marlay Bédard s.r.l. à Kingston, en Ontario. Il pratique le droit des sociétés et le droit commercial, et se spécialise plus particulièrement dans le domaine du droit du franchisage. Il est également juge suppléant à la Cour des petites créances de l’Ontario pour la région de l’Est.

M. Bédard a commencé sa carrière en dirigeant une entreprise familiale, Compagnie médicale et scientifique ltée. Il a pratiqué le droit à Québec de 1975 à 1988. Il a ensuite agi à titre de conseiller juridique général de Beneficial Canada Inc. jusqu’en 1999. Il a été responsable de dossiers importants au Canada, en Europe et en Amérique latine. Il est retourné à la pratique privée à Toronto en 2000.

M. Bédard est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit (1974) et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires (1978) de l’Université Laval, ainsi que d’une maîtrise en droit international des affaires de l’Osgoode Hall Law School de l’Université York (1992). Il est membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1975 et membre du Barreau du Haut Canada depuis 1988.