Archived - Minister Oliver Meets With Private Sector Economists to Discuss Canada’s Economy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Remains confident we will return to balanced budgets in 2015

June 16, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today met with Canada’s leading private sector economists to gather their views on Canada’s economic prospects.

The economists confirmed that Canada’s economy remains resilient, despite an uncertain global economic climate. Noting that risks remain, Minister Oliver reiterated the Government’s relentless focus on creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity through the low-tax Economic Action Plan.

The average of private sector economic forecasts forms the basis for the Department of Finance’s economic and fiscal planning assumptions. This ensures objectivity in the fiscal forecast—a practice supported by organizations like the International Monetary Fund.

Quick Facts

  • As outlined in Economic Action Plan 2014, the Government’s responsible fiscal management is expected to yield a solid surplus in 2015–16.
  • Canada has one of the smallest total government budget deficits in the Group of Seven (G-7), and the lowest total government net debt-to-GDP (gross domestic product) ratio of any G-7 country, less than half the G-7 average.
  • Canada is one of only a handful of countries in the world, alongside Australia, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Switzerland and Singapore, that continues to receive a triple-A credit rating, with a stable outlook, from all the major credit rating agencies.
  • The June 2014 survey of private sector economists projects a somewhat higher level of nominal GDP and somewhat lower interest rates relative to the Economic Action Plan 2014 survey.

Quotes

“At a time of global economic uncertainty, we remain focused on what matters most to Canadians: a low-tax plan which creates jobs, growth and long-term prosperity. After today’s meeting I remain confident we will achieve a balanced budget next year. When that happens our top priority will be to provide tax relief for hard-working Canadian families.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver rencontre des économistes du secteur privé pour discuter de l’économie canadienne

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Il demeure persuadé que le gouvernement rétablira l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 16 juin 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a rencontré aujourd’hui d’éminents économistes canadiens du secteur privé pour connaître leurs points de vue sur les perspectives économiques du Canada.

Les économistes ont confirmé que l’économie canadienne demeure résiliente, malgré un contexte économique mondial incertain. Tout en indiquant que des risques subsistent, le ministre Oliver a réitéré que le gouvernement maintient résolument l’accent sur la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, et ce, par l’entremise du Plan d’action économique axé sur des impôts bas.

Le ministère des Finances fonde ses hypothèses économiques et ses hypothèses de planification budgétaire sur la moyenne des prévisions économiques du secteur privé. Cette approche assure l’objectivité des prévisions budgétaires et elle est appuyée par des organisations comme le Fonds monétaire international.

Les faits en bref

  • Comme il a été indiqué dans le Plan d’action économique de 2014, la gestion budgétaire responsable du gouvernement devrait permettre de dégager un excédent ferme en 2015-2016.
  • Le déficit budgétaire de l’ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada est parmi le plus faible des pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7). Le Canada est également le pays dont le ratio de la dette nette au PIB (produit intérieur brut) de l’ensemble des administrations publiques est le plus bas, à moins de la moitié de la moyenne du G-7.
  • Le Canada est l’un des rares pays, avec l’Australie, le Danemark, la Finlande, la Suède, la Norvège, la Suisse et Singapour, qui continuent de se voir attribuer une cote de crédit AAA, assortie de perspectives stables, de la part de toutes les grandes agences de notation.
  • L’enquête de juin 2014 auprès d’économistes du secteur privé prévoit un PIB nominal légèrement plus élevé et des taux d’intérêt légèrement plus faibles par rapport aux prévisions contenues dans l’enquête du Plan d’action économique de 2014.

Citations

« En cette période marquée par l’incertitude économique à l’échelle mondiale, nous continuons de mettre l’accent sur ce qui compte le plus pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens : un plan axé sur des impôts bas qui favorise la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme. À la suite de la rencontre d’aujourd’hui, je demeure persuadé que nous atteindrons l’équilibre budgétaire l’an prochain. Par la suite, notre grande priorité sera d’alléger le fardeau fiscal des familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés