Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment of New Superintendent of Financial Institutions

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Finance Minister Joe Oliver congratulates Jeremy Rudin and thanks Julie Dickson for her distinguished contribution to the stability and soundness of Canada’s financial system

June 13, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Jeremy Rudin as the new Superintendent of Financial Institutions for a term of seven years, effective June 29, 2014. Mr. Rudin will replace Julie Dickson, who led the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) for eight years and helped guide Canada through the 2008–2009 global financial crisis.

Jeremy Rudin is currently the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Financial Sector Policy Branch of the Department of Finance. 

Quick Facts

  • Created in 1987, OSFI regulates and supervises financial institutions and private pension plans subject to federal oversight, to determine whether they are in sound financial condition and meeting minimum plan funding requirements, and are complying with their governing law and supervisory requirements.
  • OSFI is mandated to advise financial institutions and pension plan administrators in the event there are material deficiencies and to take or require management, boards or plan administrators to take the necessary corrective measures to deal with the situation expeditiously.
  • The agency advances and administers a regulatory framework that promotes the adoption of policies and procedures designed to control and manage risk.
  • OSFI also monitors and evaluates system-wide or sectoral risks to financial institutions.

Quotes

“Jeremy Rudin is a distinguished public servant. He has extensive direct experience in the oversight of financial institutions, financial system stability and financial markets. He played an important role in Canada’s response to the global financial crisis. These skills and knowledge will be an asset in this critical position. I would also like to thank the outgoing Superintendent, Julie Dickson, for her outstanding contributions to the stability and soundness of Canada’s financial system, in particular through the 2008–2009 global financial crisis.”

—Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Jeremy Rudin

Jeremy Rudin was Assistant Deputy Minister of the Financial Sector Policy Branch, Department of Finance, from 2008 until his appointment as Superintendent of the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions in June 2014. In his role as Assistant Deputy Minister, he was instrumental in the development of a range of extraordinary policy measures to support access to credit during the global financial crisis and other financial sector policy issues. He has represented Canada on standing committees of the Financial Stability Board, such as the Resolution Steering Group and the Standing Committee on Standards Implementation.

Mr. Rudin joined the Department of Finance in the Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch in 1993. He held a number of positions in that branch, including General Director from 2001 to 2004. In that role, he was closely involved in the development of the federal budget. Subsequently, he became Director, Funds Management, in the Financial Markets Department of the Bank of Canada and upon his return to the Department of Finance in 2006, he became General Director of the Financial Sector Policy Branch. In that role, he led efforts in the modernization of the Government of Canada borrowing authority legislation and co-chaired the Finance Canada Risk Committee with the Bank of Canada.

Before joining the public service, Mr. Rudin taught economics at the University of British Columbia and Queen’s University during which time he co-authored a leading textbook on Canadian macroeconomics. He holds a B.A. from the University of Toronto, an M.C.R.P. from Harvard University, and a Ph.D. in economics from Stanford University.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce la nomination du nouveau surintendant des institutions financières

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, félicite Jeremy Rudin et remercie Julie Dickson pour ses contributions remarquables à la stabilité et à la solidité du système financier du Canada

Le 13 juin 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de M. Jeremy Rudin à titre de nouveau surintendant des institutions financières pour un mandat de sept ans débutant le 29 juin 2014. M. Rudin remplacera Mme Julie Dickson, qui a dirigé le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) pendant huit ans et a aidé le Canada à traverser la crise financière mondiale de 2008-2009.

M. Rudin est actuellement sous-ministre adjoint de la Direction de la politique du secteur financier du ministère des Finances. 

Les faits en bref

  • Le BSIF, créé en 1987, réglemente et surveille les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite privés sous le régime d’une loi fédérale pour s’assurer qu’ils sont en bonne santé financière et pour veiller à ce qu’ils respectent les exigences minimales de capitalisation, les lois qui les régissent et les exigences découlant de l’application de ces lois.
  • Le BSIF a pour mandat d’aviser les institutions financières et les administrateurs de régime de retraite dont l’actif est jugé insuffisant et de prendre ou d’obliger la direction, le conseil ou l’administrateur de régime responsable à prendre sans délai les mesures nécessaires pour corriger la situation.
  • L’organisme développe et administre un cadre réglementaire incitant à l’adoption de politiques et de procédures destinées à contrôler et à gérer le risque.
  • De plus, le BSIF surveille et évalue les risques systémiques et sectoriels auxquels les institutions financières sont exposées.

Citations

« M. Jeremy Rudin est un fonctionnaire éminent. Il possède une vaste expérience directe de la surveillance des institutions financières, de la stabilité du système financier et des marchés financiers. Il a joué un rôle important dans les interventions du Canada en réaction à la crise financière mondiale. Ces compétences et ces connaissances seront un atout dans ce poste essentiel. J’aimerais aussi remercier la surintendante sortante, Mme Julie Dickson, pour ses contributions remarquables à la stabilité et à la solidité du système financier canadien, surtout au cours de la crise financière mondiale de 2008-2009. »   

— Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

Jeremy Rudin

M. Jeremy Rudin a été sous-ministre adjoint de la Direction de la politique du secteur financier, au ministère des Finances de 2008 jusqu’à sa nomination, en juin 2014, au poste de surintendant du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières. Dans son rôle de sous-ministre adjoint, il a contribué au premier plan à élaborer un éventail de mesures stratégiques extraordinaires visant à soutenir l'accès au crédit au cours de la crise financière mondiale, en plus de s'occuper d'autres dossiers de la politique du secteur financier. Il a représenté le Canada à des comités permanents du Conseil de stabilité financière tels que le groupe directeur sur les redressements et le comité permanent sur la mise en œuvre des normes.

En 1993, M. Rudin s’est joint à la Direction des politiques économique et budgétaire du ministère des Finances. Il y a occupé divers postes, y compris celui de directeur général de 2001 à 2004, où il a participé étroitement à l'élaboration du budget fédéral. Par la suite, il est devenu directeur, Gestion des fonds, au Département des marchés financiers de la Banque du Canada. À son retour au ministère des Finances en 2006, il est devenu directeur général de la Direction de la politique du secteur financier. Dans ce poste, il a été à la tête des efforts déployés pour moderniser la législation sur le pouvoir d'emprunt du gouvernement du Canada et il a coprésidé le Comité de gestion du risque du ministère des Finances et de la Banque du Canada.

Avant de se joindre à la fonction publique, M. Rudin a enseigné la science économique à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et à l’Université Queen’s. Au cours de cette période, il a été le coauteur d’un manuel de premier plan sur la macroéconomie canadienne. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université de Toronto, d’une maîtrise en planification urbaine et régionale de l’Université Harvard et d’un doctorat en économie de l’Université Stanford.