Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Consults Business Leaders in Winnipeg on How to Keep Canada’s Economy Strong and Growing

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

June 13, 2014 – Winnipeg, Manitoba – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Joyce Bateman, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South Centre, met with business leaders in Winnipeg today to discuss ways the Government and businesses can work together to build a stronger economy.

Input from stakeholders and communities across the country helps the Government determine how best to support families, communities and businesses so that all Canadians benefit from good jobs, a strong economy and long-term prosperity.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has enjoyed one of the strongest employment performances of the Group of Seven (G-7) countries, with more than 1.6 million new jobs created since 2006.
  • The Government has introduced close to 180 tax relief measures since 2006. For an average family of four, taxes have been cut by close to $3,400, and more than 1 million Canadians have been removed from the tax rolls.
  • Since 2006, Canada’s tax competitiveness and overall business environment have been significantly improved, with the result that Canada now offers the lowest overall tax rate on new business investment in the G-7.

Quotes

“Our Government has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to safeguard Canada’s economy and to create jobs, growth and prosperity right across the country. Gathering views from communities, such as Winnipeg, helps us ensure that the actions we take in pursuit of these goals are effective and responsive to the needs of Canadians.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“I was pleased to host this roundtable in Winnipeg with business leaders from a range of sectors including food service, realty and banking. By listening to what businesses need in Manitoba, our Government is better equipped to help our local community and keep our national economy strong.”

- Joyce Bateman, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South Centre

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d’État (Finances) tient des consultations auprès de dirigeants d’entreprises à Winnipeg sur les moyens de maintenir la vigueur et la croissance de l’économie canadienne

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 13 juin 2014 – Winnipeg (Manitoba) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, et la députée fédérale de Winnipeg-Centre-Sud, Joyce Bateman, ont rencontré aujourd’hui des dirigeants d’entreprises à Winnipeg pour s’entretenir des moyens par lesquels le gouvernement et les entreprises peuvent collaborer pour renforcer l’économie.

Les commentaires que le gouvernement recueille d’intervenants et des collectivités de l’ensemble du pays lui permettent de déterminer les mesures optimales pour appuyer les familles, les collectivités et les entreprises afin que tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes puissent bénéficier de bons emplois, d’une économie vigoureuse et d’une prospérité à long terme.

Les faits en bref

  • Grâce à la création de plus de 1,6 million d’emplois depuis 2006, l’économie canadienne est parmi les plus performantes au chapitre de l’emploi à l’échelle des pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7).
  • Le gouvernement a instauré près de 180 mesures d’allègement fiscal depuis 2006. C’est ainsi qu’une famille moyenne de quatre personnes paie aujourd’hui près de 3 400 $ de moins en impôts et en taxes, et que plus de 1 million de Canadiens n’ont plus à payer d’impôt fédéral sur le revenu.
  • Depuis 2006, la compétitivité du régime fiscal et le climat d’affaires ont été nettement améliorés au pays. Par conséquent, le Canada est maintenant le pays du G-7 offrant le plus faible taux global d’imposition sur les nouveaux investissements des entreprises.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement a fait preuve d’un engagement inébranlable pour protéger l’économie canadienne, créer des emplois, stimuler la croissance et favoriser la prospérité partout au pays. En recueillant les points de vue des membres de collectivités telles que celle de Winnipeg, nous pouvons nous assurer que les mesures que nous prenons à l’égard de ces objectifs sont efficaces et qu’elles répondent aux besoins des Canadiens. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Ce fut un réel plaisir pour moi d’animer cette table ronde qui réunissait à Winnipeg des dirigeants d’entreprises de divers secteurs, dont ceux de la restauration et de l’immobilier ainsi que du secteur bancaire. En étant à l’écoute des besoins des entreprises du Manitoba, notre gouvernement est davantage en mesure de venir en aide à notre collectivité et de maintenir la vigueur de l’économie canadienne. »

- Joyce Bateman, députée de Winnipeg-Centre-Sud

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés