Archived - Minister Oliver Meets With Quebec Finance Minister Carlos Leitão

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

First meeting focuses on expanding opportunities for jobs and growth

May 20, 2014 – Québec City, Quebec – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today met with Quebec Finance Minister Carlos Leitão in Québec City. The Ministers discussed the state of the Canadian and Quebec economies and ways to achieve their shared objective of creating jobs and economic growth, as well as a commitment to balanced budgets.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has enjoyed one of the strongest employment performances of the Group of Seven (G-7), with more than 1.6 million new jobs created since 2006.
  • Major federal transfers to Quebec to support health and social services will total $19.6 billion in 2014–15, representing an increase of $7.6 billion, or 64%, since 2005–06.
  • Quebec has been allocated $1.77 billion under the new Building Canada Fund, and $2.4 billion in federal funding will flow to Quebec municipalities from 2014 to 2019 through the Gas Tax Fund.
  • The federal government has announced funding of $165 million over the next two years for a new bridge over the St. Lawrence River and $378 million for the repair and maintenance of federal bridges in the Greater Montréal Area.
  • The Government of Canada has introduced close to 180 tax relief measures since 2006. For an average family of four, taxes have been cut by close to $3,400, and more than 1 million Canadians have been removed from the tax rolls.

Quotes

“From our meeting, it is clear that our two governments are focused on the priorities that matter to Quebecers and all Canadians: creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity. I look forward to working with Minister Leitão to achieve a prosperous Quebec, thriving as a dynamic partner in Canada—the greatest country in the world.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

“My meeting today with the federal Minister of Finance was indeed positive. Our discussions bode well for a new spirit of collaboration between our two governments, which share common objectives, especially in the realm of economic development. Finance Minister Oliver has indicated his confidence in our government and the importance that he attaches to Quebec.”

- Carlos Leitão, Quebec Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver rencontre le ministre des Finances du Québec, Carlos Leitão

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Cette première rencontre vise à accroître les possibilités au chapitre de l’emploi et de la croissance

Le 20 mai 2014 – Québec (Québec) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a rencontré aujourd’hui le ministre des Finances du Québec, Carlos Leitão, à Québec. Les ministres ont discuté de l’état de l’économie canadienne et de celle du Québec et des façons dont ils peuvent réaliser leur objectif commun de créer des emplois et de stimuler la croissance économique. Ils ont aussi discuté de leur engagement en matière d’équilibre budgétaire.

Les faits en bref

  • Grâce à la création de plus de 1,6 million d’emplois depuis 2006, l’économie canadienne est parmi les plus performantes au chapitre de l’emploi à l’échelle du Groupe des Sept (G-7).
  • Les principaux transferts fédéraux au Québec à l’appui de la santé et des services sociaux totaliseront 19,6 milliards de dollars en 2014-2015, soit 7,6 milliards (64 %) de plus qu’en 2005-2006.
  • Le Québec a reçu 1,77 milliard de dollars aux termes du nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada, et les municipalités du Québec recevront 2,4 milliards du gouvernement fédéral entre 2014 et 2019 par l’entremise du Fonds de la taxe sur l’essence.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé l’octroi de 165 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour la construction d’un nouveau pont sur le Saint-Laurent, et de 378 millions pour des travaux de réparation et d’entretien visant les ponts fédéraux dans la région métropolitaine de Montréal.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada a instauré près de 180 mesures d’allègement d’impôt depuis 2006. Une famille moyenne de quatre personnes paie aujourd’hui près de 3 400 $ de moins en impôts et en taxes, et plus de un million de Canadiennes et de Canadiens n’ont plus à payer d’impôt fédéral sur le revenu.

Citations

« Nos discussions montrent clairement que nos deux gouvernements ont à cœur les priorités des Québécois et de tous les Canadiens : créer de l’emploi, de la croissance et de la prospérité à long terme. Je me réjouis à l’idée de collaborer avec le ministre Leitão pour assurer la prospérité du Québec, qui réussit en étant un partenaire dynamique au sein du Canada, le meilleur pays au monde. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

« Ma rencontre avec le ministre fédéral des Finances a effectivement été positive. Les échanges que nous avons eus laissent augurer l’établissement d’un nouvel esprit de collaboration entre nos gouvernements, lesquels partagent des objectifs communs, tout particulièrement dans le domaine du développement économique. Le ministre Oliver a manifesté sa confiance à l’endroit de notre gouvernement et indiqué l’importance qu’il attache au Québec. »

- Carlos Leitão, ministre des Finances du Québec

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés