Toronto, May 16, 2014
2014-071

Archived - Harper Government Highlights the Importance Between Strong Financial Management and Good Health

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson, Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women Kellie Leitch and Canada’s new Financial Literacy Leader Jane Rooney today met with the Junior Economic Club of Canada at the Toronto Stock Exchange to stress the importance of financial literacy for youth.

The primary mandate of the Junior Economic Club of Canada is to educate and inspire Canadian youth to become financially literate. Each year, high school students from across Ontario are invited by the Junior Economic Club of Canada to take part in “A Day on Bay,” which is a field trip to Toronto’s Financial District where they are taught the fundamentals of finance. This year, students are learning about the important link between financial health and physical health.

The Harper Government is committed to improving the financial literacy of all Canadians and supporting youth in better preparing to face their financial future. Since 2006, the Government has delivered on an ambitious agenda to improve Canada’s financial consumer protection framework, making it one of the most advanced in the world. The Government is developing a comprehensive financial consumer code, which will create a framework to more effectively protect consumers in a rapidly evolving financial industry.

Quick Facts

  • The Government has taken steps to update the existing financial consumer protection framework, which the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada monitors and the Financial Literacy Leader is mandated to raise awareness about, including:
    • Mandating an effective minimum 21-day, interest-free grace period on all new credit card purchases when a customer pays the outstanding balance in full and introducing a fee summary box;
    • Reducing the maximum cheque hold period to four days from seven days for cheques of less than $1,500 and providing consumers with access to the first $100 within 24 hours;
    • Banning unsolicited credit card cheques;
    • Requiring that financial institutions offer products and services on an opt-in basis only, where consumers have sufficient disclosure about the terms and conditions before accepting;
    • Appointing Jane Rooney as Canada’s first Financial Literacy Leader;
    • Designating November as Financial Literacy Month; and
    • Introducing new requirements for prepaid cards issued by federally regulated financial institutions such as disclosing activation fees, expiry dates and other relevant information to consumers. These regulations came into force on May 1.

Quotes

“Understanding how to manage money is one of the most important life skills people can develop, and it’s never too early to start. Events like today’s with the Junior Economic Club of Canada help equip the workers of tomorrow with a solid understanding of the value of money and budgeting skills, and help them maintain good physical and mental health throughout their life.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“Becoming financially literate at a young age and adopting smart practices contribute to good fiscal management and better overall health. Developing this knowledge at a younger age can help Canadians secure their own individual economic prosperity.”

- Kellie Leitch, Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women

“The economic burden of poor health is staggering, with the treatment of chronic diseases accounting for 67% of all direct health care costs. Supporting children in adopting healthy habits early in their lives, such as eating well and being more active, will have a positive impact on their future health and wealth. I applaud the Junior Economic Club of Canada for exploring this important link, and for demonstrating the economic impact of healthy living.”

- Rona Ambrose, Minister of Health

“As Canada’s Financial Literacy Leader, my role is to collaborate on and coordinate activities that strengthen Canadians’ financial literacy. I am very pleased to be working with the Junior Economic Club on their great initiatives for young people, who are at a point in their lives when developing their knowledge and confidence in making financial decisions can have a lifelong impact.”

- Jane Rooney, Financial Literacy Leader

Associated Links

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Toronto, le 16 mai 2014
2014-071

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper souligne l’importante corrélation entre une gestion budgétaire rigoureuse et une bonne santé

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, la ministre du Travail et ministre de la Condition féminine, Kellie Leitch, ainsi que la nouvelle chef du développement de la littératie financière, Jane Rooney, ont rencontré aujourd’hui, à la Bourse de Toronto, des jeunes du Junior Economic Club of Canada afin d’attirer l’attention sur l’importance de la littératie financière chez les jeunes.

La mission première du Junior Economic Club of Canada consiste à sensibiliser et à inspirer les jeunes Canadiens afin qu’ils acquièrent des compétences de base en matière financière. Chaque année, le Junior Economic Club of Canada invite des élèves du secondaire de partout en Ontario à l’activité « A Day on Bay ». Dans le cadre de cette excursion scolaire dans le district financier de Toronto, on apprend les rudiments de la gestion financière aux élèves. Cette année, l'apprentissage porte sur le lien important qui existe entre la santé financière et la santé physique.

Le gouvernement Harper est déterminé à rehausser la littératie financière de l’ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, et à aider les jeunes à mieux se préparer à prendre leur avenir financier en main. Depuis 2006, le gouvernement a réalisé un programme ambitieux pour améliorer le cadre canadien de protection des consommateurs de produits et services financiers, et en a fait l’un des cadres les plus avancés au monde. Il élabore actuellement un code exhaustif pour les consommateurs de produits et services financiers. Ce code mettra en place un cadre permettant de protéger plus efficacement les consommateurs dans le contexte d’un secteur financier qui évolue rapidement.

Les faits en bref

  • Le gouvernement a pris des mesures pour mettre à jour le cadre de protection des consommateurs de produits et services financiers, dont l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada assure la surveillance de la conformité et dont le chef du développement de la littératie financière est chargé de faire la promotion. Ces mersures consistent notamment à :
    • Imposer un délai de grâce minimum effectif de 21 jours sans intérêt pour tous les nouveaux achats réglés par carte de crédit, lequel s’applique lorsque le consommateur paie son solde en entier, et à exiger la présentation d’un encadré récapitulatif des frais;
    • Réduire de 7 à 4 jours la période maximale de retenue des chèques dont le montant ne dépasse pas 1 500 $ et donner aux consommateurs un accès dans les 24 heures à la première tranche de 100 $ du montant déposé;
    • Interdire les chèques non sollicités sur les cartes de crédit;
    • Exiger que les institutions financières offrent les produits et services uniquement selon le principe de l’abonnement volontaire et que les consommateurs soient suffisamment informés des modalités avant de les accepter;
    • Nommer Mme Rooney au poste de première chef du développement de la littératie financière;
    • Désigner le mois de novembre « Mois de la littératie financière »;
    • Mettre en place de nouvelles exigences concernant les cartes prépayées émises par les institutions financières assujetties à la réglementation fédérale, ce qui comprend la divulgation des frais d’activation, des dates d’expiration et d’autres renseignements pertinents pour les consommateurs. Ce règlement est entré en vigueur le 1er mai.

Citations

« La gestion financière est l’une des plus importantes compétences de base que les gens peuvent acquérir, et il n’est jamais trop tôt pour s’y mettre. Des activités comme celle d’aujourd’hui avec le Junior Economic Club of Canada permettent d’inculquer aux travailleurs de demain les principes de la valeur de l’argent et de la gestion budgétaire, tout en les aidant à maintenir une bonne santé physique et mentale tout au long de leur vie. »

– Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Le fait de se doter de compétences en matière financière à un jeune âge et d’adopter de bonnes pratiques à cet égard contribue à une saine gestion financière et à une meilleure santé globale. L’acquisition de ces connaissances tôt dans la vie peut aider les Canadiens à assurer leur prospérité économique personnelle. »

– Kellie Leitch, ministre du Travail et ministre de la Condition féminine

« Le fardeau économique d’une mauvaise santé est considérable et l’on constate à l’heure actuelle que 67 % de tous les coûts directs des soins de santé sont affectés au traitement des maladies chroniques. En encourageant nos enfants à adopter de saines habitudes de vie, telles qu’une bonne alimentation et un mode de vie plus actif, nous pouvons avoir une incidence positive sur leur santé et leur richesse futures. Je félicite le Junior Economic Club of Canada d’avoir analysé et démontré l’impact économique d’un mode de vie sain. »

– Rona Ambrose, ministre de la Santé

« En ma qualité de chef du développement de la littératie financière, mon rôle consiste à collaborer aux activités qui visent à améliorer la littératie financière des Canadiens et à coordonner ces activités. Je suis très ravie de travailler en collaboration avec le Junior Economic Club dans le cadre des formidables initiatives que le Club organise à l’intention des jeunes, qui se trouvent à ce stade de leur vie où de meilleures connaissances et une plus grande confiance dans la prise de décisions financières peuvent avoir un effet positif pour le reste de leur vie. »

– Jane Rooney, chef du développement de la littératie financière

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :