Archived - Harper Government Engages with C.D. Howe Institute on Target Benefit Plans

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Discussion focuses on how Target Benefit Plans can help support the long-term sustainability of federally regulated private and Crown corporation pension plans

May 5, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today spoke to the C.D. Howe Institute on the benefits of a proposed federal framework for Target Benefit Plans (TBPs).

TBPs would be structured to help ensure that effective, sustainable pension options are available to individuals who work in the federally regulated private sector or Crown corporations. Its innovative approach is intended to preserve and increase the number of employers that can offer employees an affordable workplace pension plan that has a predictable pension in retirement. The voluntary nature of the proposed framework means that all parties would be involved in the decision as to whether or not to adopt a TBP, and have a say in the design elements of the plan if they do.

The Harper Government recently launched public consultations on the proposed TBP framework. Canadians are invited to take part in the consultations over the coming months to ensure that the final framework reflects the views of all stakeholders. Individuals interested in finding out more or in submitting their views on the proposed framework should refer to the consultation paper listed below.

Quick Facts

  • There were 1,234 federally regulated pension plans in Canada in 2013.
  • TBPs would promote plan viability through their ability to adjust benefits and contributions to ensure the target benefit is met and deal with surplus or deficit situations.
  • TBPs would not have a solvency funding requirement because benefits are targeted and benefits and contributions adjustable.
  • The proposed TBP framework would be a new and innovative pension option for federally regulated private sector or Crown corporation pension plans within Canada’s comprehensive and strong pension system that also includes Old Age Security, the Guaranteed Income Supplement, the Canada Pension Plan, Tax-Free Savings Accounts, Registered Retirement Savings Plans and Pooled Registered Pension Plans.
  • The TBP framework consultations will not consider changes to federal public sector pension plans, which are governed by their own respective legislation. The Government has already taken steps to ensure that federal public sector pension plans are more in line with the private sector.  

Quotes

“It was great to have the opportunity to consult with the C.D. Howe Institute and its members on the new and innovative Target Benefit Plan framework. Our Government is providing a predictable and flexible pension option to support the long-term sustainability of federally regulated private pension plans in both favourable and adverse market conditions.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch  
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper discute des régimes à prestations cibles à l’Institut C.D. Howe

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La discussion porte sur la manière dont les régimes à prestations cibles peuvent contribuer à la viabilité à long terme des régimes de retraite sous réglementation fédérale du secteur privé et des sociétés d’État

Le 5 mai 2014 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, s’est adressé aujourd’hui aux membres de l’Institut C.D. Howe au sujet des avantages du projet de cadre fédéral relatif aux régimes de retraite à prestations cibles.

La structure proposée des régimes à prestations cibles ferait en sorte que les particuliers travaillant pour des entreprises du secteur privé ou des sociétés d’État sous réglementation fédérale pourraient disposer de différentes options efficaces et viables en matière de régimes de retraite. L’approche innovatrice des prestations cibles vise à maintenir ou à accroître le nombre d’employeurs en mesure d’offrir à leurs employés un régime de retraite abordable assorti de prestations prévisibles. En vertu de la nature volontaire du cadre, toutes les parties d’un régime donné participeraient à la décision d’adopter ou non la formule de régime à prestations cibles et, le cas échéant, à la conception des éléments du régime.

Le gouvernement Harper a récemment amorcé des consultations publiques sur le projet de cadre relatif aux régimes à prestations cibles. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens sont invités à participer aux consultations au cours des prochains mois afin que le cadre définitif qui sera retenu tienne compte des points de vue de toutes les parties prenantes. Les personnes qui souhaitent obtenir des renseignements additionnels ou transmettre leurs opinions sur le cadre proposé sont priées de consulter le document de consultation accessible grâce au lien ci-dessous.

Les faits en bref

  • Il existait 1 234 régimes de retraite sous réglementation fédérale au Canada en 2013.
  • Les régimes à prestations cibles contribueraient à la viabilité des régimes de retraite grâce à leur souplesse, qui permet l’ajustement des prestations et des cotisations afin que les prestations cibles puissent être versées. Cette souplesse facilite aussi la gestion des situations excédentaires ou déficitaires.
  • Les régimes à prestations cibles ne seraient pas assujettis à une exigence de capitalisation des déficits de solvabilité du fait que le montant des prestations serait ciblé et que les prestations et les cotisations seraient ajustables.
  • Le cadre proposé prévoit une nouvelle formule viable et innovatrice de régime, celle des prestations cibles, qui pourrait être adoptée pour les régimes de retraite des entreprises du secteur privé ou des sociétés d’État sous réglementation fédérale. Ce cadre s’inscrirait dans le système complet et robuste de régimes de retraite du Canada qui comprend également la Sécurité de la vieillesse, le Supplément de revenu garanti, le Régime de pensions du Canada, les comptes d’épargne libres d’impôt, les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite et les régimes de pension agréés collectifs.
  • Les consultations sur le cadre des régimes à prestations cibles ne porteront pas sur des modifications éventuelles aux régimes de retraite du secteur public fédéral, qui sont régis par des lois particulières. Le gouvernement a déjà pris des mesures afin que ces régimes correspondent davantage à ceux offerts par le secteur privé.

Citations

« Avoir l’occasion de consulter le personnel et les membres de l’Institut C.D. Howe au sujet du nouveau cadre innovateur relatif aux régimes à prestations cibles était une très bonne chose. Notre gouvernement met de l’avant une option additionnelle en matière de régimes de retraite qui allie la prévisibilité et la souplesse, ce qui contribue à la viabilité à long terme des régimes de pension sous réglementation fédérale, peu importe que les conditions du marché soient favorables ou défavorables. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch 
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés