Archived - Harper Government’s Prepaid Card Regulations Take Effect May 1

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New prepaid card regulations will protect consumers and save Canadians money

April 30, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today welcomed the coming into force of the Government’s Prepaid Payment Products Regulations on May 1. Prepaid cards, which are available through financial institutions and at retail commercial outlets, are used to make purchases or withdraw funds via a payment network such as American Express, MasterCard or Visa. Part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan, these regulations support our Government’s commitment to protect consumers and save money for Canadian families.

The new rules will ban maintenance fees for at least one year after the card is activated and will ensure that funds for a prepaid card never expire. Federally regulated financial institutions must also disclose fees in an information box that appears prominently on the card’s packaging.

The regulations also require that key information for consumers be included prior to issuing these cards in a manner that is clear, simple and not misleading.

Quick Facts

  • The new regulations apply to all federally regulated financial institutions, such as banks.
  • The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) is responsible for overseeing and enforcing compliance with these regulations. FCAC has worked with federally regulated financial institutions that offer prepaid cards to ensure that the new requirements are fully implemented.
  • Financial institutions have all indicated that the regulations will apply to all prepaid cards in the market on May 1, 2014, regardless of when the card was purchased.


“As part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan, our Government committed to protecting consumers and saving Canadians money. These new regulations show we are taking action to support that commitment, helping to create jobs, growth and prosperity across Canada.”

—Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

“FCAC welcomes the new prepaid product regulations, as they are an important part of Canada’s financial consumer protection framework. As the federal agency responsible for overseeing these regulations, we have updated our consumer information on prepaid cards and will continue to work with financial institutions to ensure that the requirements set out in the regulations are effectively implemented.”

—Lucie Tedesco, Commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Protecting Consumers. For details, see the PDF version that follows
PDF Version [213 KB]

Archivé - Un règlement du gouvernement Harper sur les cartes prépayées entrera en vigueur le 1er mai

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les nouvelles cartes prépayées protègeront les consommateurs et permettront aux Canadiens d’épargner de l’argent

Le 30 avril 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, s’est réjoui aujourd’hui de l’entrée en vigueur, le 1er mai, du Règlement sur les produits de paiement prépayés. Les cartes prépayées, qui peuvent être obtenues auprès des institutions financières et dans des établissements de vente au détail, servent à effectuer des achats ou à retirer des fonds par l’intermédiaire d’un réseau de paiement comme American Express, MasterCard ou Visa. Annoncé dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada, ce règlement appuie l’engagement de notre gouvernement de protéger les consommateurs et de faire épargner de l’argent aux familles canadiennes.

Les nouvelles règles interdiront l’imposition de frais de tenue de compte pendant une période minimale d’un an après l’activation d’une carte prépayée et feront en sorte que les fonds chargés sur une telle carte ne puissent pas expirer. Les institutions financières assujetties à la réglementation fédérale sont également tenues d’indiquer les frais dans un encadré informatif bien visible sur l’emballage du produit.

Le Règlement exige également que des renseignements essentiels à l’intention des consommateurs soient transmis avant l’émission de ces cartes, et ce, de manière claire, simple, et qui n’induit pas en erreur.

Les faits en bref

  • Le nouveau règlement s’applique à toutes les institutions financières assujetties à la réglementation fédérale, notamment les banques.
  • L’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC) est chargée de superviser et d’appliquer ce nouveau règlement. Elle a collaboré avec les institutions financières fédérales qui offrent des cartes prépayées pour veiller à ce que les nouvelles exigences soient mises en œuvre de façon intégrale.
  • Toutes les institutions financières ont indiqué que le Règlement s’appliquera à l’ensemble des cartes prépayées en circulation le 1er mai 2014, indépendamment de leur date d’acquisition.

Citations

« Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du Canada, notre gouvernement s’est engagé à protéger les consommateurs et à faire épargner les Canadiennes et les Canadiens. Ce nouveau règlement montre que nous adoptons des mesures pour appuyer cet engagement, ce qui contribue à créer des emplois, de la croissance et de la prospérité partout au pays. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

« L’ACFC se réjouit de l’entrée en vigueur du nouveau règlement sur les produits de paiement prépayés, car il s’agit d’un élément important du cadre de protection des consommateurs de produits et services financiers du Canada. À titre d’organisme fédéral chargé de superviser l’application de ce règlement, l’ACFC a mis à jour ses renseignements à l’intention des consommateurs au sujet des cartes prépayées et elle continuera de collaborer avec les institutions financières pour veiller à ce que les exigences énoncées dans le Règlement soient dûment mises en œuvre. »

- Lucie Tedesco, commissaire de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés


Protéger les consommateurs. Pour détails, voir la version PDF qui suit
Version PDF [282 ko]