Archived - Harper Government Supports Canada's Rural Communities

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 30, 2014 – Rockland, Ontario – Department of Finance

Speaking at the Rural Economic Summit of Ontario on behalf of Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson, Pierre Lemieux, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture and Member of Parliament for Glengarry–Prescott–Russell, today highlighted the importance of strong and vibrant rural communities in the Canadian economy. The Harper Government continues to put forward measures to support rural economies including investments for enhanced broadband and more trade and innovation for the agriculture industry.

For example, Economic Action Plan 2014 invested $305 million over five years to expand and enhance access to high-speed broadband networks to a target speed of 5 megabits per second for up to 280,000 Canadian households, which represents near universal access. Enhanced broadband helps small businesses operate and expand their ideas, sales and opportunities.

Mr. Lemieux also noted that the agriculture and agri-food sector in Canada accounts for over $100 billion in economic activity and provides jobs to over 2.1 million Canadians. The Harper Government continues to support agriculture in Canada through new trade agreements and the new Growing Forward 2 policy framework, which will provide more than $3 billion over five years for investments in innovation, competitiveness and market development.

Quick Facts

  • Between 2009 and 2012, the Broadband Canada program connected nearly 220,000 Canadian households to fast, reliable Internet service.
  • Through Economic Action Plan 2014, the Government of Canada aims to expand and enhance access for up to 280,000 households to reliable Internet service at 5 megabits per second.
  • Under Canada-European Union (EU) Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), Canada has gained full access to the EU market, the largest and most lucrative market in the world.
  • CETA will provide new market access opportunities for key Canadian agricultural exports: beef, pork and bison.
  • The Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement will create thousands of new jobs in Canada in a wide range of sectors, including agricultural and agri-food products, and wood and forestry products.

Quotes

"Strong and vibrant rural communities are key to having a strong national economy. The Harper Government is dedicated to setting the right conditions for rural communities, including farmers and small businesses, to compete in Canada and around the world. Together, we will take the steps needed to support our rural communities and keep our economy strong for the future."

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

"It is an honour to have my friend and colleague, Minister of State for Finance Kevin Sorenson, at the Rural Summit to highlight our Government's strong support and important initiatives to strengthen our local economies and to create jobs."

- Pierre Lemieux, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture and Member of Parliament for Glengarry–Prescott–Russell

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper soutient les collectivités rurales du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 30 avril 2014 – Rockland (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Dans une allocution au Sommet économique rural de l’Ontario prononcée au nom du ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, le secrétaire parlementaire du ministre de l’Agriculture et député fédéral de Glengarry–Prescott–Russell, Pierre Lemieux, a souligné aujourd’hui l’importance de collectivités rurales solides et dynamiques pour l’économie canadienne. Le gouvernement Harper continue de prendre des mesures de soutien économique aux régions rurales, notamment des investissements pour améliorer les réseaux à large bande et des efforts pour intensifier les échanges commerciaux et l’innovation dans le secteur agricole.

Par exemple, dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2014, il investit 305 millions de dollars sur cinq ans afin d’élargir et d’améliorer l’accès aux réseaux Internet haute vitesse à large bande pour que ceux-ci atteignent un débit cible de 5 mégabits par seconde; jusqu’à 280 000 ménages canadiens pourraient bénéficier de cette mesure, de telle manière que l’accès serait quasi universel. L’amélioration de la bande passante aide les petites entreprises à mieux fonctionner et à accroître leurs possibilités de création et d’affaires.

M. Lemieux a aussi fait remarquer que le secteur canadien de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire comptait pour plus de 100 milliards de dollars d’activité économique au pays et qu’il fournissait des emplois à plus de 2,1 millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens. Le gouvernement Harper continue d’appuyer ce secteur à l’aide de mesures comme de nouveaux accords commerciaux et le nouveau cadre stratégique Cultivons l’avenir 2, qui consacre plus de 3 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans à des investissements dans l’innovation, la compétitivité et l’expansion des marchés.

Les faits en bref

  • De 2009 à 2012, près de 220 000 ménages canadiens ont obtenu un accès à un service Internet rapide et fiable à l’aide du programme Large bande Canada.
  • Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2014, le gouvernement du Canada s’efforce d’élargir et d’améliorer l’accès aux réseaux Internet fiables et à haute vitesse (5 mégabits par seconde) pour 280 000 ménages canadiens.
  • Aux termes de l’accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, le Canada a obtenu un plein accès au marché le plus vaste et le plus lucratif du monde.
  • L’AECG ouvrira de nouveaux marchés d’exportation pour d’importants produits agricoles canadiens comme le bœuf, le porc et le bison.
  • L’accord de libre–échange Canada-Corée créera des milliers d’emplois au Canada dans un large éventail de secteurs, par exemple les produits agricoles et agroalimentaires ou le bois et les produits forestiers.

Citations

« Les collectivités rurales solides et dynamiques sont déterminantes pour la vigueur de l'économie nationale. Le gouvernement Harper est résolu à créer les conditions qui permettront aux collectivités rurales, ainsi qu'à leurs agriculteurs et petites entreprises, d'être concurrentielles au Canada et partout dans le monde. Ensemble, nous prendrons les mesures qui s'imposent pour soutenir nos collectivités rurales et assurer la vigueur future de notre économie. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« C'est un honneur de pouvoir accueillir le ministre d'État aux Finances, mon collègue et ami Kevin Sorenson, au Sommet rural pour mettre en relief le soutien ferme et les importantes initiatives de notre gouvernement pour renforcer l'économie à l'échelle locale et créer des emplois. »

- Pierre Lemieux, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre de l'Agriculture et député fédéral de Glengarry–Prescott–Russell

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés