Archived - Canada Launches Its First Ultra-Long Bond Issue

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 28, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced that the Government of Canada successfully issued $1.5 billion in 50-year bonds.

This inaugural ultra-long issue is the first of its kind for the Government and is in line with its commitment since 2012–13 to reallocate short-term bond issuance towards long-term bonds to help reduce refinancing risk.

Quick Facts

  • Maturing on December 1, 2064, and with a yield of 2.96 per cent, this issuance will contribute to a reduction in refinancing risk at a low cost, which is consistent with the key objectives of the medium-term debt strategy.
  • Alone among the Group of Seven countries, Canada continues to receive the highest possible credit ratings, with a stable outlook, from all the major credit rating agencies.
  • Locking in low-cost funding for 50 years benefits taxpayers.

Quotes

“In the current environment, it is both advantageous and prudent for our Government to lock in additional long-term funding. This 50-year bond will help us meet our goal of raising stable and low-cost funding to meet Canada’s financial needs and best serve taxpayers.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le Canada effectue sa première émission d’obligations à très longue échéance

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 28 avril 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada avait émis avec succès des obligations à 50 ans totalisant 1,5 milliard de dollars.

Cette émission d’obligations à très longue échéance constitue une première pour le gouvernement, et elle s’inscrit dans son engagement maintenu depuis 2012-2013 de diminuer l’émission d’obligations à court terme en faveur de l’émission d’obligations à long terme, pour aider à réduire le risque de refinancement.

Les faits en bref

  • Cette émission, qui vient à échéance le 1er décembre 2064 et qui offre un rendement de 2,96 %, contribuera à réduire le risque de refinancement de façon peu coûteuse, ce qui est conforme aux objectifs clés de la stratégie de gestion de la dette à moyen terme.
  • Le Canada est le seul pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) qui continue d’obtenir les cotes de crédit les plus élevées, assorties de perspectives stables, de toutes les grandes agences de notation.
  • L’obtention à faible coût d’un financement d’une durée assurée de 50 ans est avantageuse pour les contribuables.

Citations

« Dans le contexte actuel, il est à la fois avantageux et prudent pour notre gouvernement d’immobiliser des fonds additionnels à long terme. Ces obligations à 50 ans nous aideront à réaliser notre objectif d’obtenir un financement stable et à faible coût afin de combler les besoins financiers du Canada et de mieux servir les intérêts des contribuables. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés