Archived - Government of Canada Considering an Ultra-Long Bond Issuance

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 28, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

As noted in the Debt Management Strategy for 2014–15, published as an annex to Economic Action Plan 2014, the Government of Canada has been engaged in the assessment of potential benefits of issuing bonds with a maturity of 50 years. Accordingly, the Government of Canada is considering issuing a bond with a maturity of 50 years through the process of syndication in the near future, subject to favourable market conditions.

The Government has pursued a tactical strategy of reallocating short-term issuance towards long-term bonds since 2012–13. Given the current yield environment and the strong demand for long-term bonds, it remains advantageous and prudent for the Government of Canada to continue to lock in additional long-term funding.

The issuance of bonds in the ultra-long sector would contribute to a reduction in refinancing risk at a low cost, in line with the key objectives of the medium-term debt strategy. 

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada envisage l'émission d'obligations à très longue échéance

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 28 avril 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Comme il est mentionné dans la Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2014-2015, publiée en annexe du Plan d’action économique de 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a poursuivi l’étude des avantages éventuels à tirer de l’émission d’obligations ayant une échéance de 50 ans. En conséquence, il envisage d’émettre sous peu des obligations à 50 ans par syndication, si les conditions du marché sont favorables.

Depuis 2012-2013, le gouvernement applique une stratégie tactique visant à diminuer l’émission d’obligations à court terme en faveur de l’émission d’obligations à long terme. Compte tenu de la situation actuelle des rendements et de la forte demande d’obligations à long terme, il continue d’être avantageux et prudent pour le gouvernement du Canada d’immobiliser davantage de financement à long terme.

L’émission d’obligations à très long terme contribuerait à réduire le risque de refinancement d’une façon peu coûteuse, ce qui est conforme aux objectifs clés de la stratégie de gestion de la dette à moyen terme.

Restez branchés