Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Engages the Startup Canada Task Force Financial Literacy Committee

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 25, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today took part in an event marking the launch of the Startup Canada Financial Literacy Committee, and then participated in a roundtable discussion with the group on how best to bridge the financial literacy gap for entrepreneurs.

Quick Facts

  • Launched in May 2012, Startup Canada is a national, grassroots, volunteer-run and entrepreneur-led movement to enhance the nation’s competitiveness and prosperity by uniting and strengthening Canada’s entrepreneurship ecosystem and promoting a vibrant entrepreneurial culture.
  • The Startup Canada Financial Literacy Committee will undertake research and activities to:
    • better understand the financial literacy gap for entrepreneurs;
    • educate government and entrepreneurs about the realities and implications of this gap;
    • provide government with its key findings; and
    • undertake entrepreneur and private sector-led initiatives to reduce this gap and advance entrepreneur financial literacy in Canada.

Quotes

"The Government of Canada's Task Force on Financial Literacy highlighted the fact that strengthening financial literacy is a shared responsibility among a wide range of parties, including schools, families, governments, and private sector and voluntary organizations, and that collaboration is vital to achieve greater results. Initiatives like the one we are taking part in today exemplify the kind of partnership that can be built to enhance financial literacy across Canada."

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Related Products

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d'État (Finances) discute avec le comité de la littératie financière de StartUp Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 25 avril 2014 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d'État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a participé aujourd'hui à une activité marquant les débuts du comité de la littératie financière de StartUp Canada, puis à une table ronde avec les membres du groupe au sujet de la meilleure façon dont on peut combler les lacunes en matière de littératie financière pour les entrepreneurs.

Les faits en bref

  • L’organisme communautaire national Startup Canada, qui a démarré ses activités en mai 2012, est animé par des bénévoles et dirigé par des entrepreneurs dont l’objectif est d’accroître la compétitivité et la prospérité du Canada en rassemblant et en raffermissant l’écosystème de l’entrepreneuriat canadien et en favorisant une culture d’entrepreneuriat dynamique.
  • Le comité de la littératie financière de Startup Canada réalisera des travaux de recherche et des activités pour :
    • mieux connaître les lacunes en matière de littératie financière dans l’intérêt des entrepreneurs;
    • renseigner les gouvernements et les entrepreneurs sur la nature et les conséquences de ces lacunes;
    • transmettre ses principales constatations aux gouvernements;
    • exécuter des initiatives dirigées par les entrepreneurs et le secteur privé pour réduire ces lacunes et faire progresser la littératie financière des entrepreneurs au Canada.

Citations

« Le Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière du gouvernement du Canada a souligné le fait que l'amélioration de la littératie financière est une responsabilité partagée entre un grand nombre d'intervenants, notamment les écoles, les familles, les gouvernements, le secteur privé et les organismes bénévoles, et que la collaboration est essentielle à l'atteinte de meilleurs résultats. Des initiatives telles que celle à laquelle nous participons aujourd'hui illustrent le genre de partenariats qui peuvent être développés en vue de l'amélioration de la littératie financière partout au Canada. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d'État (Finances)

Produits connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés