Archived - Harper Government Consults With Canadians on a New Financial Consumer Code

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister of State (Finance) and Parliamentary Secretary launch national roundtable discussions

April 17, 2014 – Winnipeg, Manitoba – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Parliamentary Secretary Andrew Saxton today launched roundtable discussions in Winnipeg and Vancouver on the development of a new and comprehensive financial consumer code. These roundtables follow online consultations held from December to February with the Government receiving submissions from across the country.

In Economic Action Plan 2014, the Government committed to continue to engage with Canadians on the development of a consumer code that will better protect consumers of financial products and services. Canadians have provided many views on how to strengthen the current legislative and regulatory framework, and the Government is continuing that discussion through these regional roundtables. The Harper Government will consider this input when developing a comprehensive legislative framework that will be more flexible and forward-looking and ensure that Canadians have the necessary information to make responsible financial decisions.

Quick Facts

The Harper Government has taken steps to update the existing financial consumer protection framework, including:

  • Mandating an effective minimum 21-day, interest-free grace period on all new credit card purchases when a customer pays the outstanding balance in full and introducing a fee summary box;
  • Reducing the maximum cheque hold period to four days from seven days for cheques of less than $1,500 and providing consumers with access to the first $100 within 24 hours;
  • Banning unsolicited credit card cheques;
  • Requiring that financial institutions offer products and services on an opt-in basis only, where consumers have sufficient disclosure about the terms and conditions before accepting; and
  • Introducing new requirements for prepaid cards issued by federally regulated financial institutions requiring them to disclose to consumers relevant information at appropriate points in time. These regulations come into force on May 1, 2014.

Quotes

“Our Government’s Consumers First agenda helps better protect consumers of financial products and services. When Canadian families save, spend and invest their hard-earned money, they should be confident that they are being protected in a competitive marketplace.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“We are listening to Canadians on how a financial consumer code could help them make more informed financial decisions today. The code will address the modern-day challenges of a fast-evolving digital financial environment while responding to the needs of vulnerable Canadians.”

- Andrew Saxton, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper consulte les Canadiens au sujet d’un nouveau code pour les consommateurs de produits et services financiers

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre d’État (Finances) et le secrétaire parlementaire lancent une série de tables rondes à l’échelle du pays

Le 17 avril 2014 – Winnipeg (Manitoba) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, et le secrétaire parlementaire Andrew Saxton ont lancé aujourd’hui à Winnipeg et à Vancouver une série de tables rondes au sujet de l’élaboration d’un nouveau code au contenu exhaustif pour les consommateurs de produits et services financiers. Ces rencontres font suite aux consultations en ligne qui ont été organisées de décembre à février derniers et qui ont suscité des commentaires provenant de toutes les régions du pays.

Dans le Plan d’action économique de 2014, le gouvernement s’est engagé à continuer de solliciter la participation des Canadiennes et des Canadiens à l’élaboration d’un code qui protégerait mieux les consommateurs canadiens de produits et services financiers. Les Canadiens ont exprimé de nombreux points de vue sur les moyens de renforcer le cadre législatif et réglementaire actuel, et ces échanges se poursuivent par l’entremise de tables rondes régionales. Le gouvernement Harper évaluera les commentaires reçus au moment d’élaborer un cadre législatif exhaustif plus souple et prospectif. Ces travaux viseront aussi à doter les Canadiens de l’information dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions financières responsables.

Les faits en bref

Le gouvernement Harper a pris des mesures pour mettre à jour le cadre actuel de protection des consommateurs de produits et services financiers, dont celles consistant à :

  • Imposer un délai de grâce minimum effectif de 21 jours sans intérêt pour tous les nouveaux achats réglés par carte de crédit, délai qui s'applique lorsque le consommateur paie son solde en entier, et exiger la présentation d’un encadré récapitulatif des frais.
  • Faire passer de 7 à 4 jours la période maximale de retenue des chèques dont le montant ne dépasse pas 1 500 $ et donner aux consommateurs un accès dans les 24 heures à la première tranche de 100 $ du montant déposé.
  • Interdire les chèques non sollicités sur les cartes de crédit.
  • Exiger que les institutions financières offrent les produits et services uniquement selon le principe de l’abonnement volontaire et que les consommateurs soient suffisamment informés des modalités avant de les accepter.
  • Mettre en place de nouvelles exigences concernant les cartes prépayées délivrées par les institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale, exigences qui obligent les institutions à divulguer aux consommateurs les renseignements pertinents à des moments appropriés. Cette réglementation entrera en vigueur le 1er mai 2014.

Citations

« Le programme Les consommateurs d’abord de notre gouvernement aide à mieux protéger les consommateurs de produits et services financiers. Lorsque les familles canadiennes épargnent, dépensent et investissent l’argent qu’elles ont durement gagné, elles doivent être convaincues qu’elles sont protégées dans un marché concurrentiel. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Nous sommes à l’écoute des Canadiens quant à la manière dont un code pour les consommateurs de produits et services financiers pourrait aider ces derniers à prendre des décisions financières plus éclairées à court terme. Le code répondra aux défis posés par l’univers financier numérique d’aujourd’hui, qui est en évolution rapide, tout en répondant aux besoins des Canadiens vulnérables. »

- Andrew Saxton, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés