Archived - Harper Government Stresses the Importance of Financial Literacy for Youth on Talk With Our Kids About Money Day

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister of State (Finance) and Financial Consumer Agency of Canada Commissioner underscore benefits of teaching children to manage their money

April 15, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) Deputy Commissioner Brigitte Goulard today joined students and teachers in Ottawa to underscore the importance of financial literacy among youth on Talk With Our Kids About Money Day, which is being highlighted at hundreds of schools across Canada.

Talk With Our Kids About Money Day is an annual event to encourage parents and educators to take the time to discuss with young people the importance of financial literacy, from managing pocket money to knowing about more complex financial tools that they will be using later in life. As part of Talk With Our Kids About Money Day, FCAC has made available on its website a number of interactive tools.

With the generous support of BMO Financial Group, the Canadian Foundation for Economic Education (CFEE), a non-profit organization, launched this annual initiative. CFEE has developed a program used at home and in schools across Canada that equips parents, guardians and teachers with a wide range of information, activities and resources to ensure that children develop the knowledge and skills necessary to manage their personal finances throughout their lives.

Quick Facts

  • CFEE launched Talk With Our Kids About Money Day last year as an annual event taking place on the third Wednesday in April. It has developed a program to help children learn how to manage their personal finances.
  • CFEE maintains a database of more than 5,000 classroom teachers, which means its resources and programs have the potential to reach approximately 300,000 students across Canada each year.
  • An estimated 400 schools across Canada took part in Talk With Our Kids About Money Day in 2013.
  • CFEE has distributed close to half a million copies of resource materials for use by educators in schools across Canada. 

Quotes

“Understanding how to manage money is one of the most important life skills parents and teachers can show our kids, and it’s never too early to start. I applaud the hundreds of schools across Canada that are actively taking up this challenge and are participating in this year’s Talk With Our Kids About Money Day. While every day is a good day to talk with our kids about money, this tremendous initiative will help get that conversation started.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“Kids at any age need to learn the basics of money management. By equipping them with a solid understanding of the value of money and the difference between needs and wants, they can be well positioned for adulthood.”

- Lucie Tedesco, Commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper souligne l’importance de la littératie financière des jeunes lors de la journée « Parlons argent avec nos enfants »

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre d’État (Finances) et la commissaire de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada mettent en relief les bienfaits de l’enseignement de la gestion financière aux enfants

Le 15 avril 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, et la commissaire adjointe de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC), Brigitte Goulard, ont rencontré aujourd’hui des élèves et des enseignants à Ottawa pour mettre en évidence l’importance de la littératie financière chez les jeunes, à l’occasion de la journée « Parlons argent avec nos enfants » qui se tient dans des centaines d’écoles partout au Canada.

La journée annuelle « Parlons argent avec nos enfants » a pour but d’encourager les parents et les éducateurs à prendre le temps de discuter de l’importance de la littératie financière avec les jeunes, qu’il s’agisse par exemple de la gestion de leur argent de poche ou de la familiarisation avec des outils financiers plus complexes qu’ils utiliseront à un âge plus avancé. Dans le cadre de cette journée, l’ACFC a affiché sur son site Web divers outils interactifs accessibles.

La Fondation canadienne d’éducation économique (FCEE) a élaboré cette journée annuelle avec l’aide financière du groupe bancaire BMO Groupe financier. La FCEE, un organisme à but non lucratif, a mis au point un programme à l’intention des ménages et des écoles du Canada. Ce programme propose un large éventail de renseignements, d’activités et de ressources destinés aux parents, aux tuteurs et aux enseignants et permet aux enfants d’acquérir les connaissances et les compétences requises pour gérer leurs finances personnelles tout au long de leur vie.

Les faits en bref

  • La FCEE a organisé l’an dernier la première édition de la journée annuelle « Parlons argent avec nos enfants » qui a lieu le troisième mercredi d’avril. Elle a également mis au point un programme visant à aider les enfants à apprendre à gérer leurs finances personnelles.
  • La FCEE dispose d’une base de données répertoriant plus de 5 000 enseignants en milieu scolaire, ce qui lui donne la possibilité d’offrir ses ressources et ses programmes à quelque 300 000 élèves chaque année dans l’ensemble du Canada.
  • On estime que 400 écoles de toutes les régions du pays ont participé à la journée « Parlons argent avec nos enfants » en 2013.
  • La FCEE a distribué près d’un demi-million d’exemplaires de ses documents d’information à l’intention des éducateurs en milieu scolaire au Canada. 

Citations

« La gestion financière est l’une des plus importantes compétences de base que les parents et les enseignants peuvent développer chez nos enfants, et il n’est jamais trop tôt pour s’y mettre. Je félicite les centaines d’écoles d’un bout à l’autre du Canada qui relèvent ce défi et prennent part à la journée "Parlons argent avec nos enfants” cette année. Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de mauvaise journée pour parler argent avec nos enfants, cette initiative formidable offre une belle occasion de lancer la discussion. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Les enfants de tout âge ont besoin d’apprendre les rudiments de la gestion financière. En leur inculquant bien les principes de la valeur de l’argent et de la différence entre les besoins et les désirs, on les prépare mieux à la vie d’adulte. »

- Lucie Tedesco, commissaire de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés