Archived - Government Approves Appointment of Carolyn Wilkins as Senior Deputy Governor of the Bank of Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Finance Minister Joe Oliver congratulates Carolyn Wilkins and thanks Tiff Macklem for his distinguished contributions to Monetary and Financial Sector Policy.

April 11, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today confirmed that the Government approved the appointment of Carolyn Wilkins as Senior Deputy Governor of the Bank of Canada, effective May 2, 2014. Ms. Wilkins will replace Tiff Macklem, who has accepted the role of Dean of the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto.

Ms. Wilkins joined the Bank of Canada in 2001, occupying a broad range of increasingly senior positions until her appointment as Adviser to the Governor and Secretary to the Governing Council in August 2013. She currently represents Canada on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and chairs its Working Group on Liquidity. Prior to joining the Bank, she held a number of senior analytical roles at the Department of Finance and the Privy Council Office.

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada’s Senior Deputy Governor sits on the interest-rate setting Governing Council and is a member of the Board of Directors of the Bank.
  • The Governor-In-Council (federal Cabinet) approved appointment is for a seven-year term that can be renewed at its conclusion for another term.
  • The Bank of Canada has four core functions:
    • It sets monetary policy to keep inflation low and stable and contribute to solid economic performance and rising living standards.
    • It works with other agencies and market participants to promote a safe and efficient financial system.
    • It is Canada’s sole bank note-issuing authority and is responsible for designing, producing, and distributing Canada’s bank notes.
    • It is the fiscal agent of the Government of Canada, which entails several responsibilities relating to the management of public funds.

Quotes

“Carolyn Wilkins has a distinguished career in public service, and her experience in fiscal and monetary policy making, and knowledge of financial markets is extensive. This has been an extremely thorough process as we sought the best candidate to fill this critical role. I would also like to thank the outgoing Senior Deputy Governor, Tiff Macklem, for his many outstanding contributions to monetary policy, financial stability and to contributing to making the Bank of Canada a preeminent central bank.”  

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement approuve la nomination de Carolyn Wilkins au poste de première sous-gouverneure de la Banque du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, félicite Carolyn Wilkins et remercie Tiff Macklem pour ses contributions remarquables à la politique monétaire et à la politique du secteur financier.

Le 11 avril 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a confirmé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement avait approuvé la nomination de Carolyn Wilkins au poste de première sous-gouverneure de la Banque du Canada. La nomination prend effet à partir du 2 mai 2014. Mme Wilkins remplacera Tiff Macklem, qui a accepté de devenir doyen de l’École de gestion Rotman de l’Université de Toronto.

Depuis son arrivée à la Banque du Canada en 2001, Mme Wilkins a occupé une diversité de postes aux responsabilités croissantes jusqu’à sa nomination en août 2013 à titre de conseillère du gouverneur et de secrétaire du Conseil de direction. Elle représente actuellement le Canada au Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire, dont elle préside le Groupe de travail sur la liquidité. Avant de se joindre à la Banque, Mme Wilkins a exercé de nombreuses fonctions d’analyste de niveau supérieur au ministère des Finances et au Bureau du Conseil privé. 

Les faits en bref

  • Le premier sous-gouverneur siège au Conseil de direction, qui est chargé d’établir les taux d’intérêt, et au Conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada.
  • La nomination approuvée par le gouverneur en conseil (Cabinet fédéral) est valable pour un mandat de sept ans pouvant être renouvelé au moment où il prend fin.
  • La Banque du Canada a quatre grandes fonctions :
    • Elle établit la politique monétaire de manière à ce que l’inflation demeure faible et stable et favorise la solidité de la performance de l’économie et l’augmentation du niveau de vie.
    • Elle collabore avec d’autres organismes et les participants au marché afin de promouvoir la sûreté et l’efficience du système financier.
    • Seul organisme habilité à émettre des billets de banque au Canada, elle est responsable de la conception, de la fabrication et de la distribution des billets de banque canadiens.  
    • Elle est l’agent financier du gouvernement du Canada; dans ce rôle, elle assume plusieurs responsabilités liées à la gestion des fonds publics.

Citations

« Carolyn Wilkins s’est illustrée au cours de sa remarquable carrière dans la fonction publique, et elle possède une vaste expérience de l’établissement des politiques budgétaire et monétaire ainsi qu’une connaissance approfondie des marchés financiers. Nous avons mené un processus de sélection extrêmement rigoureux à la recherche du meilleur candidat pour occuper ces fonctions cruciales. Je remercie le premier sous-gouverneur sortant, Tiff Macklem, pour ses nombreuses contributions extraordinaires à l’élaboration de la politique monétaire et à la stabilité financière. Je le remercie également d’avoir aidé à faire de la Banque du Canada une banque centrale de premier plan. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés