Archived - Communiqué - Meeting of G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors - Washington D.C., 10-11 April 2014

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1. We welcome the prospects for global economic growth to strengthen in 2014 but remain vigilant in the face of important global risks and vulnerabilities. We are determined to manage these risks and take actions to further strengthen the recovery, create jobs and improve medium-term growth prospects.

2. We commit to working with our leaders and across our governments to ensure that our comprehensive growth strategies to be presented at the Brisbane Summit outline ambitious, realistic and concrete measures to achieve strong, sustainable and balanced growth. We will develop these measures to support growth and create jobs in the context of maintaining financial sector stability and fiscal sustainability, including by addressing tax avoidance and evasion. To meet our Sydney growth ambition to lift our collective GDP by more than 2 per cent above the trajectory implied by current policies over the coming 5 years, we are committed to developing new actions that: build on previous G20 commitments; address identified gaps in our policy settings; lift and rebalance global demand and achieve exchange rate flexibility as well as increase growth potential; and create substantial positive spillovers to each other and the world economy. At our September meeting, we will together review our comprehensive growth strategies, to ensure they include action across a broad front including in the areas of investment, employment and participation, trade and competition, in addition to macroeconomic policies.

3. Structural reforms are especially important to achieve our common objective. We focused at this meeting on the importance of reforms which foster greater competition in product and service markets. These reforms, along with measures to enhance trade, can foster efficiency and dynamism and lift productivity in our economies, especially when combined with strong competition frameworks and enforcement.

4. We reaffirmed the critical importance that investment plays in lifting economic growth and employment, including in low income countries. As part of the package of measures for the Brisbane Summit, we will commit to country specific and collective actions to be included in our growth strategies. These will include a set of leading practices to promote and prioritise quality investment, particularly in infrastructure. We will also examine appropriate mechanisms to support the implementation of these leading practices, including ways to improve the quality and accessibility of investment information and enhance the capacity of financial markets to channel more long-term finance, including to small and medium enterprises. We welcome the decision recently taken by the World Bank Group to better utilise its balance sheet to increase its lending capacity. We will improve our investment climates and develop approaches to better leverage private sector involvement, working with the World Bank Group, regional development banks and the OECD.

5. We are strengthening our macroeconomic cooperation by further deepening our understanding of each other’s policy frameworks and assessing the collective implications of our national policies across a range of possible outcomes. We will continue to provide clear and timely communication of our actions and be mindful of impacts on the global economy as policy settings are recalibrated.

6. We are monitoring the economic situation in Ukraine, mindful of any risks to economic and financial stability, and welcome the IMF’s recent engagement with Ukraine as the authorities work to undertake meaningful reforms. The situation in Ukraine highlights the important role of the IMF as the world’s first responder to financial crises. We agree that the IMF and the World Bank Group remain the institutions best placed to help countries to deal with their economic challenges through policy advice and catalytic financing.

7. We are deeply disappointed with the continued delay in progressing the IMF quota and governance reforms agreed to in 2010 and the 15th General Review of Quotas (GRQ) including a new quota formula. We reaffirm the importance of the IMF as a quota based institution. The implementation of the 2010 reforms remains our highest priority and we urge the US to ratify these reforms at the earliest opportunity. We are committed to maintaining a strong and adequately resourced IMF. If the 2010 reforms are not ratified by year-end, we will call on the IMF to build on its existing work and develop options for next steps and we will work with the IMFC to schedule a discussion of these options.

8. As part of our commitment to end the problem of too-big-to-fail, we welcome progress in the development of proposals by the Brisbane Summit on the adequacy of gone-concern loss absorbing capacity of global systemically important banks (G-SIBs) if they fail. The proposals should give home and host authorities and markets confidence that an orderly resolution of a G-SIB without exposing taxpayers to loss can be implemented. To improve the resolvability of global systemically important financial institutions we commit to reduce uncertainty in arrangements for cross-border recognition of resolution actions and accelerate progress on firm-specific cross-border cooperation agreements. We agree that the FSB’s review of the structure of its representation should ensure the FSB remains well prepared to respond to the full range of challenges as we transition from the crisis response phase.

Annex

Reports received

We welcome the following reports delivered ahead of the G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meeting, April 2014:

Optimizing World Bank Group Resources and Supporting Infrastructure Financing, World Bank Group report to Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, April 2014.

Pooling of Institutional Investors Capital – Selected case studies in unlisted equity infrastructure, OECD report, April 2014.

Revised Guidelines for Public Debt Management, IMF and World Bank Group, April 2014. The revised guidelines were commissioned by the Russian 2013 G20 Presidency.

Financial Reforms – Update on Progress, Financial Stability Board Chairman’s letter to G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, April 2014.

Report of the OTC Derivatives Regulators Group on Cross-Border Implementation Issues, March 2014.

Anti-Corruption Working Group Co-chair Report to Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, April 2014.

How can competition contribute to the G-20 commitment to raise GDP by at least 2%?, OECD note, April 2014.

Issues for further action

We ask the IMF, FSB and BIS to advance work by our September meeting to address data gaps involving foreign currency exposures, building as far as possible on existing statistical and data initiatives to better assess cross-border risks.

We ask the World Bank Group and regional development banks to meet with the Investment and Infrastructure Working Group before our September meeting and outline the specific actions they are taking to enhance the effectiveness of their existing resources, including for infrastructure investment. We look forward to an update on work regarding a mutually beneficial framework for exchanging exposures between multilateral development banks. We also ask the World Bank Group and regional development banks to meet to discuss areas where they can strengthen collaboration and cooperation on infrastructure investment, including through the World Bank Group’s proposal for a global infrastructure facility, and report back in September.

We ask the G20 Climate Finance Study Group to report at our next meeting on their work to identify a range of policy options on key issues, including ways to effectively mobilise climate finance, taking into account the objectives, principles and provisions of the UNFCCC, as tasked by leaders in St Petersburg.

We look forward to the G20/OECD Task Force on Institutional Investors and Long-Term Financing developing a voluntary checklist to assist governments in self-assessing their support schemes for long-term investment financing, by our September meeting.

Stay Connected

Archivé - Communiqué – Réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 - Washington, les 10 et 11 avril 2014

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Traduction non officielle

1. Nous nous réjouissons des perspectives d’une accélération de la croissance de l’économie mondiale en 2014, mais nous demeurons vigilants devant des risques et des vulnérabilités de taille qui s’y rattachent. Nous sommes déterminés à gérer ces risques et à intervenir pour renforcer davantage la reprise, créer des emplois et améliorer les perspectives de croissance à moyen terme.

2. Nous nous engageons à travailler avec nos dirigeants et avec l’ensemble de nos administrations pour nous assurer que nos stratégies de croissance exhaustives qui seront présentées au Sommet de Brisbane renfermeront des mesures ambitieuses, réalistes et concrètes conduisant à une croissance forte, durable et équilibrée. Nous élaborerons ces mesures afin de soutenir la croissance et de créer des emplois dans un contexte de maintien de la stabilité du secteur financier et de la viabilité des finances publiques, y compris en luttant contre l’évitement fiscal et l’évasion fiscale. Pour réaliser l’ambitieux objectif de croissance que nous avons adopté à Sydney – soit de relever notre produit intérieur brut (PIB) collectif de plus de 2 % au-dessus de la trajectoire prévue par les politiques actuelles au cours des cinq prochaines années –, nous nous engageons à élaborer de nouvelles mesures qui poussent plus loin les engagements antérieurs du G-20, qui comblent les lacunes décelées de nos paramètres stratégiques, qui stimulent et rééquilibrent la demande mondiale et instaurent la souplesse des taux de change en plus d’accroître le potentiel de croissance, et qui engendrent des effets de débordement positifs pour nos pays membres et pour l’économie mondiale. À l’occasion de notre réunion de septembre, nous examinerons ensemble nos stratégies de croissance exhaustives pour nous assurer de la vaste ampleur de leur portée, y compris dans les domaines de l’investissement, de l’emploi et de la participation, du commerce et de la concurrence, ainsi que de la politique macroéconomique.

3. Les réformes structurelles jouent un rôle particulièrement important dans la réalisation de notre objectif commun. Nous avons profité de notre rencontre pour souligner l’importance des réformes qui favorisent une plus grande concurrence sur les marchés de biens et de services. Conjuguées à des mesures de stimulation du commerce, ces réformes peuvent accroître l’efficience, le dynamisme et la productivité de nos économies, surtout si elles se doublent de solides cadres de concurrence et mécanismes d’observation.

4. Nous avons réaffirmé le rôle déterminant de l’investissement pour stimuler la croissance économique et l’emploi, y compris dans les pays à revenu faible. Parmi les mesures qui seront présentées lors du Sommet de Brisbane, nous nous engagerons à intégrer des mesures nationales et collectives à nos stratégies de croissance. Il s’agira notamment d’une série de pratiques de pointe destinées à promouvoir et à prioriser l’investissement de qualité, en particulier dans l’infrastructure. Nous examinerons également les mécanismes appropriés pour appuyer la mise en place de ces pratiques de pointe, y compris afin d’améliorer la qualité et l’accessibilité de l’information sur les investissements et d’accroître la capacité des marchés financiers à mobiliser davantage de financement à long terme, notamment à l’intention des petites et moyennes entreprises. Nous sommes heureux de la décision récente du Groupe de la Banque mondiale de mieux utiliser son bilan afin d’accroître sa capacité de prêt. Nous améliorerons nos climats d’investissement respectifs et nous élaborerons des façons de mieux mobiliser la contribution du secteur privé, de concert avec le Groupe de la Banque mondiale, les banques régionales de développement et l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).

5. Nous renforçons notre coopération macroéconomique en approfondissant notre connaissance de nos cadres stratégiques respectifs et en évaluant les répercussions collectives de nos politiques intérieures sur une gamme de résultats possibles. Nous continuerons de communiquer nos interventions de façon claire et en temps opportun et de tenir compte des retombées pour l’économie mondiale au moment de recalibrer les paramètres stratégiques.

6. Nous surveillons la situation économique en Ukraine, en gardant à l’esprit les risques pour la stabilité économique et financière, et nous nous réjouissons du récent engagement du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) envers l’Ukraine alors que les autorités travaillent à la mise en œuvre de réformes significatives. La situation en Ukraine met en relief le rôle clé du FMI à titre de premier intervenant de la communauté internationale en situation de crise financière. Nous convenons que le FMI et le Groupe de la Banque mondiale demeurent les institutions les mieux placées pour aider les pays à surmonter leurs problèmes économiques en leur fournissant des conseils stratégiques et du financement catalyseur.

7. Nous sommes profondément déçus des retards qui continuent de freiner les réformes des quotes-parts et de la gouvernance du FMI dont on a convenu en 2010 ainsi que la Quinzième révision générale des quotes-parts, notamment l’instauration d’une nouvelle formule de quotes-parts. Nous réitérons l’importance des quotes-parts dans la structure institutionnelle du FMI. La mise en œuvre des réformes de 2010 demeure notre plus grande priorité, et nous pressons les États-Unis de ratifier ces réformes à la première occasion. Nous sommes déterminés à faire en sorte que le FMI demeure une institution solide disposant de ressources adéquates. Si les réformes de 2010 ne sont pas ratifiées d’ici la fin de l’année, nous demanderons au FMI de pousser ses travaux plus loin et de mettre au point des options quant aux prochaines étapes, et nous travaillerons avec le Comité monétaire et financier international pour planifier la discussion de ces options.

8. Dans le cadre de notre engagement de régler le problème des institutions trop importantes pour faire faillite, nous sommes heureux des progrès de l’élaboration, en prévision du Sommet de Brisbane, de propositions sur l’adéquation de la capacité d’absorption des pertes en cas de faillite des banques d’importance systémique mondiale (EBISm). Ces propositions doivent montrer aux autorités d’attache et d’accueil, de même qu’aux marchés, que la résolution ordonnée des EBISm peut s’accomplir sans exposer les contribuables à des pertes. Afin de rehausser la résolvabilité des EBISm, nous nous engageons à atténuer l’incertitude qui caractérise les mécanismes de reconnaissance transfrontalière des mesures de résolution, et à accélérer les progrès en matière d’ententes de coopération internationale visant des institutions particulières. Nous convenons que l’examen mené par le Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF) sur la structure de sa représentation devrait faire en sorte que le CSF demeure bien préparé à relever tous les défis à mesure que nous mettrons fin à l’étape de réponse à la crise.

Annexe

Rapports déposés

Nous prenons acte avec satisfaction des rapports suivants déposés en prévision de la réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 ayant lieu en avril 2014 :

Optimizing World Bank Group Resources and Supporting Infrastructure Financing, rapport du Groupe de la Banque mondiale aux ministres des Finances et aux gouverneurs des banques centrales, avril 2014.

Pooling of Institutional Investors Capital–Selected case studies in unlisted equity infrastructure, rapport de l’OCDE, avril 2014.

Revised Guidelines for Public Debt Management, FMI et Groupe de la Banque mondiale, avril 2014. La révision des directives pour la gestion de la dette publique avait été commandée par la Russie alors qu’elle présidait le G-20 en 2013.

Financial Reforms–Update on Progress, lettre du président du CSF aux ministres des Finances et aux gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20, avril 2014.

Report of the OTC Derivatives Regulators Group on Cross-Border Implementation Issues, mars 2014.

Anti-Corruption Working Group Co-chair Report to Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, avril 2014.

How can competition contribute to the G-20 commitment to raise GDP by at least 2%?, note de l’OCDE, avril 2014.

Questions nécessitant d’autres mesures

Nous demandons au FMI, au CSF et à la Banque des règlements internationaux de faire avancer, d’ici notre réunion de septembre, les travaux en vue de corriger les lacunes des données touchant les expositions au risque de change, en s’appuyant le plus possible sur les initiatives statistiques et de données existantes pour mieux évaluer les risques transfrontaliers.

Nous demandons au Groupe de la Banque mondiale et aux banques régionales de développement de rencontrer les membres du groupe de travail sur l’investissement et l’infrastructure avant notre réunion de septembre et d’indiquer les mesures précises qu’ils prennent afin de rendre leurs ressources existantes plus efficaces, y compris au chapitre de l’investissement dans l’infrastructure. Nous attendons un rapport d’étape sur l’élaboration d’un cadre mutuellement avantageux pour l’échange d’expositions entre les banques multilatérales de développement. Nous demandons également aux représentants du Groupe de la Banque mondiale et des banques régionales de développement de se rencontrer pour discuter des domaines où peuvent être renforcées la collaboration et la coopération au chapitre de l’investissement dans l’infrastructure, y compris selon la proposition du Groupe de la Banque mondiale en vue de créer un mécanisme de financement mondial des infrastructures, et de faire rapport en septembre.

Nous demandons au Groupe d’étude du G-20 sur le financement des activités reliées aux changements climatiques de rendre compte, lors de notre prochaine réunion, de ses travaux en vue de recenser une gamme d’options stratégiques visant des enjeux clés, y compris des façons de mobiliser efficacement le financement axé sur les changements climatiques, en tenant compte des objectifs, des principes et des dispositions de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques, comme les dirigeants l’ont demandé lors du Sommet de Saint-Pétersbourg.

Nous espérons que le Groupe de travail G-20/OCDE sur les investisseurs institutionnels et le financement à long terme aura élaboré, d’ici notre réunion de septembre, une fiche de contrôle volontaire afin d’aider les gouvernements à évaluer leurs mécanismes de soutien du financement des investissements à long terme.

Restez branchés