April 10, 2014

Archived - Statement by the Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance, on the death of Jim Flaherty

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

I am deeply saddened to learn of Jim Flaherty’s passing.

Jim was an honourable, dedicated and exceptional man who loved his country. During his long and distinguished career in public life, Jim made countless contributions to Canada's economic growth and prosperity.

On the international scene, Jim played a pivotal role in the small group of senior decision-makers who quickly and effectively responded to the 2008–09 global financial crisis. His consummate skill and foresight during that difficult period allowed Canada's economy to emerge stronger than ever.

As the guiding force of ten federal budgets, Jim never wavered in his abiding commitment to build a better country for all Canadians, a legacy that will ensure his memory as one of Canada’s great statesmen.

I also want to say how much I appreciated Jim's personal kindness and assistance when I was a candidate and later a cabinet colleague. This was who he was, a kind and generous man and why he was so admired and held in such affection by so many people.

I am sure that all Canadians will join me in offering our deepest condolences to his wife, Christine Elliott, and their sons, John, Galen and Quinn.

Joe Oliver
Minister of Finance

Le 10 avril 2014

Archivé - Déclaration de l’honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances, à l’occasion du décès de Jim Flaherty

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Je suis profondément attristé d’apprendre que Jim Flaherty nous a quittés.

Jim était un homme honorable, dévoué et exceptionnel qui aimait son pays. Pendant son éminente et longue carrière au service du public, Jim n’a cessé de contribuer à la croissance et à la prospérité économiques du Canada.

Jim a joué un rôle clé sur la scène internationale au sein du petit groupe de décideurs de haut niveau qui ont répondu rapidement et de manière efficace à la crise financière mondiale de 2008-2009.  Sa grande compétence et son sens aigu de l’anticipation au cours de cette période difficile ont permis à l’économie canadienne de sortir de la crise plus forte que jamais.

Au fil des dix budgets fédéraux dont il a été le maître d’œuvre, Jim n’a jamais manqué à son ferme engagement de bâtir un meilleur pays pour tous les Canadiens. Cette contribution le gardera présent à notre mémoire comme étant l’un des grands hommes d’État canadiens.

Je tiens également à mentionner la gentillesse et l’aide dont Jim a fait preuve au moment où j’étais candidat et, par la suite, lorsque nous étions collègues au Cabinet. Tel était l’homme, attentionné et généreux, et c’est la raison pour laquelle il a suscité autant d’admiration et d’affection chez un si grand nombre de personnes.

Au nom de tous les Canadiens et en mon nom personnel, j’offre mes sincères condoléances à l’épouse de Jim, Christine Elliott, et à leurs fils, John, Galen et Quinn.

Joe Oliver
Ministre des Finances