Archived - Canada Focused on Jobs and Growth at G-20, IMF and World Bank Meetings in Washington, D.C.

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister Oliver encourages G-20 countries to develop ambitious and comprehensive growth strategies to strengthen the global economy in a balanced and sustainable manner

April 10, 2014 – Washington, D.C. – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver will attend the Spring Meetings of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank Group this week in Washington, D.C., where he will also meet with his colleagues from the Group of 20 (G-20) countries.

Discussions will focus on policies to support stronger economic growth and employment, as well as on ways to encourage long-term investment in key areas to support growth, such as infrastructure. In addition, work will continue on reforms relating to financial regulation and IMF governance.

Minister Oliver will encourage all countries to boost jobs and growth, while reducing deficits and returning to balanced budgets over the medium term.

Quick Facts

  • The G-20 is the premier forum for international economic cooperation, with members accounting for 85% of global output and two-thirds of the world’s population.
  • At their February meeting in Australia, G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors committed to develop ambitious, but realistic, policies aimed at lifting the level of G-20 collective gross domestic product by at least 2% above the level implied by current policies by the end of the next five years.
  • As a significant shareholder, Canada has an important governance role at both the IMF and the World Bank Group. The Minister of Finance represents Canada, the Caribbean and Ireland on the Board of Governors at both institutions.

Quotes

“I look forward to attending my first G-20 Finance Ministers Meeting and the Spring Meetings of the IMF and World Bank. Canada’s reputation in the global economic community remains strong, and these meetings present important opportunities to coordinate international economic policies to boost jobs and growth worldwide. The key task for all countries is to balance efforts to support job creation and economic growth with commitments to reduce deficits and return to balanced budgets over the medium term, as Canada is doing through its Economic Action Plan.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le Canada mettra l’accent sur l’emploi et la croissance lors des réunions du G-20, du FMI et de la Banque mondiale à Washington

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Oliver encouragera les pays du G-20 à élaborer des stratégies de croissance ambitieuses et détaillées pour raffermir l’économie mondiale de manière équilibrée et durable

Le 10 avril 2014 – Washington, États-Unis – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, participera aux réunions de printemps du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale cette semaine à Washington, où il rencontrera également ses collègues des pays membres du Groupe des Vingt (G-20).

Les discussions porteront sur les politiques visant à soutenir une croissance économique et une croissance de l’emploi plus fortes ainsi que sur les moyens de favoriser les investissements à long terme dans des domaines clés, comme l’infrastructure, dans le but de soutenir la croissance. En outre, les travaux se poursuivront au sujet des réformes concernant la réglementation financière et la gouvernance du FMI.

Le ministre Oliver incitera l’ensemble des pays à stimuler l’emploi et la croissance, d’une part, tout en réduisant les déficits et en rétablissant l’équilibre budgétaire à moyen terme, d’autre part.

Les faits en bref

  • Le G-20 est la principale tribune de coopération économique internationale; ses membres génèrent 85 % de la production mondiale et regroupent les deux tiers de la population de la planète.
  • Lors de leur réunion de février en Australie, les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 se sont engagés à élaborer des politiques ambitieuses, mais réalistes, qui visent à relever, d’ici cinq ans, le niveau du produit intérieur brut collectif du G-20 d’au moins 2 % au-dessus du niveau découlant des politiques actuelles.
  • Important actionnaire tant au FMI qu’au Groupe de la Banque mondiale, le Canada joue un rôle de premier plan au sein de ces deux institutions au chapitre de la gouvernance. Le ministre des Finances représente le Canada, les pays des Caraïbes et l’Irlande au Conseil des gouverneurs des deux organisations.

Citations

« J’ai hâte de participer à ma première réunion des ministres des Finances du G-20 et aux réunions de printemps du FMI et de la Banque mondiale. La réputation du Canada au sein de la communauté économique mondiale demeure solide, et ces réunions offrent des occasions importantes de coordonner les politiques économiques internationales pour stimuler l’emploi et la croissance à l’échelle mondiale. L’objectif principal pour l’ensemble des pays consiste à équilibrer les efforts de création d’emplois et de croissance économique, avec des engagements de réduction des déficits et de retour à l’équilibre budgétaire à moyen terme. C’est ce que fait le Canada par l’entremise de son plan d’action économique. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés