Archived - The Next Chapter in Canada’s Economic Success

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 7, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Speaking to the Canadian Club of Toronto in his inaugural speech as Finance Minister, the Honourable Joe Oliver today reaffirmed the Harper Government’s commitment to balanced budgets as the foundation for advancing its proven record of creating jobs and growth for hard-working Canadian families.

Quick Facts

  • Canada has enjoyed the strongest employment performance in the Group of Seven (G-7) since 2006.
  • Canadian families in all income groups have benefitted from this strength, with tax cuts for an average family of four of close to $3,400 and a more than 45% increase in Canadian household net worth.
  • Canada has the lowest total government net debt burden of any G-7 country. The federal government’s deficit is expected to decline to $2.9 billion in 2014–15, with a surplus of more than $6 billion expected in 2015–16. 
  • Both the International Monetary Fund and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development expect Canada to be among the strongest growing economies in the G-7 over this year and next.

Quotes

“Since the recession, we have had the strongest job creation record in the G-7—better than the US, better than the UK, and better than Germany. In fact, the Canadian economy has created over 1 million net new jobs since 2009.”

“A strong, vibrant, growing economy generates tax revenues—without having to raise tax rates. This revenue is used to pay for important social programs such as health care, education, retirement benefits, and financial support for families. These are programs that you and I rely on and help make Canada the great country it is. At the end of the day, economics is about people, our standard of living and our quality of life.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Stephanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le prochain chapitre du succès économique du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 7 avril 2014 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Devant le Canadian Club of Toronto, dans son premier discours à titre de ministre des Finances, l’honorable Joe Oliver a réaffirmé aujourd’hui l’engagement du gouvernement Harper à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire, qu’il a décrit comme l’assise qui permettra au gouvernement d’approfondir son solide bilan en matière de création d’emplois et de croissance pour les familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Canada affiche la meilleure performance économique des pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) depuis 2006.
  • Les familles canadiennes de toutes les catégories de revenu ont profité de cette forte performance, grâce à des allègements fiscaux totalisant près de 3 400 $ pour une famille moyenne de quatre personnes et à l’augmentation de plus de 45 % de la valeur nette des ménages du pays.
  • La dette nette de l’ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada est la plus faible parmi les pays du G-7. Selon les prévisions, le déficit fédéral reculera à 2,9 milliards de dollars en 2014-2015 et un excédent de plus de 6 milliards sera enregistré en 2015-2016. 
  • Tant le Fonds monétaire international que l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques prévoient que la croissance de l’économie canadienne sera l’une des plus fortes du G-7 sur la période couvrant cette année et l’an prochain.

Citations

« Depuis la récession, le Canada affiche le meilleur bilan de création d’emplois parmi les pays du G-7 – devant les États-Unis, devant le Royaume-Uni et devant l’Allemagne. En fait, l’économie canadienne a créé plus de 1 million d’emplois nets depuis 2009. »

« Une économie forte, dynamique et en croissance génère davantage de revenus fiscaux sans que l’on doive hausser les taux d’imposition. Ces revenus servent à financer d’importants programmes sociaux comme les soins de santé, l’éducation, les prestations de retraite et les mesures de soutien économique destinées aux familles. Tous les Canadiens comptent sur ces programmes qui aident à faire la grandeur de notre pays. Et en fin de compte, l’économie, c’est une question de gens, de leur niveau de vie et de leur qualité de vie. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés