Archived - Harper Government Supports Families Through New Health-Related Tax Relief

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

No GST/HST on naturopathic doctors’ professional services

April 4, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Canada’s Citizenship and Immigration Minister Chris Alexander, on behalf of Finance Minister Joe Oliver, today highlighted the Harper Government’s support for families through new health-related tax relief.

Economic Action Plan 2014 proposes a number of measures to reduce the tax burden on Canadians, including health-related tax relief such as an exemption from the Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST) on naturopathic doctors’ professional services. Changes to the tax treatment of these services and other GST/HST health-related measures announced in Economic Action Plan 2014 became effective on February 12, 2014.

This tax relief builds on the Harper Government’s record of keeping taxes low for Canadians and their families.

Quick Facts

Economic Action Plan 2014 proposes measures that will expand health-related tax relief by:

  • Exempting naturopathic doctors’ and acupuncturists’ professional services from the GST/HST.
  • Expanding the list of eligible expenses under the Medical Expense Tax Credit to include costs associated with service animals specially trained to assist individuals with severe diabetes, such as diabetes alert dogs.
  • Providing further tax recognition for costs associated with eligible specially designed medical therapies and training by:
    • Expanding the current GST/HST exemption for training that is specially designed to help individuals cope with a disorder or disability to also exempt services of designing such training, such as developing a training plan.
    • Including amounts paid for the design of an individualized therapy plan as an eligible expense for income tax purposes under the Medical Expense Tax Credit.
  • Adding eyewear specially designed to electronically enhance the vision of individuals with vision impairment that is supplied on the order of a physician or other specified health professional to the list of GST/HST-free (zero-rated) medical and assistive devices.

Quotes

“Whether it’s the introduction of the Family Caregiver Tax Credit or the Registered Disability Savings Plan, the expansion of expenses eligible for the Medical Expense Tax Credit, or the many other actions taken by our Government to keep taxes low, we are proud of our record of support for Canadians and their health care needs. The exemption of naturopathic doctors’ professional services from the GST/HST continues our Government’s support for families.”   

- Canada’s Citizenship and Immigration Minister Chris Alexander

“The Canadian Association of Naturopathic Doctors would like to thank the federal government for exempting the professional services provided by naturopathic doctors from the GST/HST. Canadians now have a better opportunity to live healthier lives by taking a naturopathic approach to their health. The GST/HST exemption directly benefits patients. It removes a barrier, encourages professional partnerships and increases access for Canadians seeking a proactive approach to their health care. This allows for improved patient outcomes in some of the most chronic and costly areas of our health care system.” 

- Lowell Greib, ND, Vice-Chair of the Canadian Association of Naturopathic Doctors

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper appuie les familles par l’entremise de nouveaux allègements fiscaux liés à la santé

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Exonération de la TPS/TVH à l’égard des services professionnels d’un docteur en naturopathie

Le 4 avril 2014 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre canadien de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration, Chris Alexander, au nom du ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a souligné aujourd’hui l’appui que le gouvernement Harper apporte aux familles par l’entremise de nouveaux allègements fiscaux liés à la santé.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2014 propose plusieurs mesures en vue de réduire le fardeau fiscal des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, notamment des allègements fiscaux liés à la santé comme l’exonération de la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) à l’égard des services professionnels d’un docteur en naturopathie. Les modifications apportées au traitement fiscal de ces services ainsi que d’autres mesures concernant le régime de la TPS/TVH touchant les soins de santé, annoncées dans le Plan d’action de 2014, sont entrées en vigueur le 12 février 2014.

Ces allègements fiscaux s’ajoutent au bilan du gouvernement Harper en ce qui concerne le maintien des impôts et des taxes à un niveau bas pour les Canadiens et leur famille.

Les faits en bref

Le Plan d’action économique de 2014 propose d’élargir l’application des allègements fiscaux liés à la santé grâce aux mesures suivantes :

  • Exonérer de la TPS/TVH les services professionnels d’un docteur en naturopathie ou d’un acupuncteur.
  • Ajouter à la liste des dépenses donnant droit au crédit d’impôt pour frais médicaux les coûts associés aux animaux d’assistance spécialement dressés pour aider les personnes atteintes de diabète sévère, comme les chiens d’assistance pour diabétiques.
  • Faire en sorte que le régime fiscal tienne mieux compte des coûts associés aux thérapies médicales et à la formation personnalisées et admissibles et, à cette fin :
    • étendre l’exonération de la TPS/TVH existante applicable à la formation conçue spécialement dans le but d’aider des particuliers à composer avec les effets d’un trouble ou d’une déficience, de manière à englober les services de conception d’une telle formation, par exemple l’élaboration d’un plan de formation;
    • inclure les montants versés pour la conception d’un plan de traitement individuel aux dépenses admissibles aux fins du crédit pour frais médicaux sous le régime de l’impôt sur le revenu.
  • Élargir la liste des appareils médicaux et appareils fonctionnels détaxés sous le régime de la TPS/TVH en y ajoutant les appareils d’optique qui sont spécialement conçus pour rehausser électroniquement la vision d’un particulier ayant un trouble de la vue et fournis sur ordonnance d’un médecin ou d’un autre professionnel de la santé admissible.

Citations

« Que ce soit l’instauration du crédit d’impôt pour aidants familiaux, l’instauration du régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité, l’élargissement des dépenses donnant droit au crédit d’impôt pour frais médicaux, ou encore les nombreuses autres initiatives prises pour maintenir les impôts et les taxes à un niveau bas, notre gouvernement est fier de son bilan en ce qui concerne le soutien aux Canadiens et à leurs besoins en matière de soins de santé. L’exonération de la TPS/TVH au titre des services professionnels d’un docteur en naturopathie s’inscrit dans la poursuite des efforts déployés par notre gouvernement pour appuyer les familles. »

- Chris Alexander, ministre canadien de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration

« L’Association canadienne des docteurs en naturopathie aimerait remercier le gouvernement fédéral de sa décision d’exonérer de la TPS/TVH les services professionnels d’un docteur en naturopathie. Les Canadiens ont maintenant de meilleures chances de mener une vie plus saine en adoptant une approche à l’égard de leur santé qui soit axée sur la naturopathie. L’exonération de la TPS/TVH profite directement aux patients; elle élimine un obstacle, elle encourage les partenariats professionnels et elle améliore l’accès à  la naturopathie pour les Canadiens qui recherchent une approche proactive à l’égard de leur santé. Cette mesure permet d’améliorer la situation des patients qui requièrent des soins qui sont parmi les plus prolongés et les plus onéreux de notre système de soins de santé. »

- Lowell Greib, ND, vice-président de l’Association canadienne des docteurs en naturopathie

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés