Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Stresses the Importance of Financial Literacy for Children in New Video 

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Video produced in support of “Talk With Our Kids About Money Day”

March 25, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today emphasized the importance of financial literacy in a video to promote “Talk With Our Kids About Money Day,” a day held annually on the third Wednesday of April. The Canadian Foundation for Economic Education, which created this day, has developed a program used at home and in schools across Canada that equips parents, guardians and teachers with a wide range of information, activities and resources to ensure that children develop the knowledge and skills necessary to manage their personal finances throughout their lives.

The Government is committed to improving the financial literacy of all Canadians and supporting parents and teachers in their efforts to prepare children and students to face their financial future. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada was established by the federal government to strengthen oversight of consumer issues and expand consumer education in the financial sector.

Since 2006, the Government has delivered on an ambitious agenda to improve Canada’s financial consumer protection framework, making it one of the most advanced in the world. The Government is developing a comprehensive financial consumer code, which will create a framework to more effectively protect consumers in a rapidly evolving financial industry. In addition, in Economic Action Plan 2014, the Government announced a number of measures to enhance financial consumer protection and awareness about financial products so that Canadians are able to choose the ones that best meet their needs. Among these initiatives are measures to enhance access to basic banking by ensuring that Canadians can access low-cost bank accounts that meet their current banking needs. 

Quick Facts

  • “Talk With Our Kids About Money Day” will take place on April 16, 2014.
  • The Canadian Foundation for Economic Education (CFEE) was established in 1974 to help Canadians make economic decisions with competence and confidence.
  • CFEE maintains a database of more than 5,000 classroom teachers, which means its resources and programs have the potential to reach approximately 300,000 students across Canada each year.
  • An estimated 400 schools across Canada took part in the “Talk With Our Kids About Money Day” in 2013.
  • CFEE has distributed close to half a million copies of resource materials for use by educators in schools across Canada. 

Quotes

“It’s never too early for parents to start to include tips on personal finances among the life skills they impart to their kids, especially given today’s increasingly complex financial marketplace. I applaud the hundreds of schools across Canada that have already registered for ”Talk With Our Kids About Money Day” on April 16 and encourage others to take part.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d’État (Finances) souligne l’importance de la littératie financière des enfants dans une nouvelle vidéo 

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La vidéo a été produite dans le cadre de la journée « Parlons argent avec nos enfants »

Le 25 mars 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a souligné aujourd’hui l’importance de la littératie financière dans une vidéo faisant la promotion de la journée « Parlons argent avec nos enfants », qui se tient chaque année le troisième mercredi d’avril. En plus d’avoir établi cette journée thématique, la Fondation canadienne d’éducation économique (FCEE) a mis au point un programme à l’intention des ménages et des écoles du Canada. Ce programme propose un large éventail de renseignements, d’activités et de ressources aux parents, aux tuteurs et aux enseignants et permet aux enfants d’acquérir les connaissances et les compétences requises pour gérer leurs finances personnelles tout au long de leur vie.

Le gouvernement est déterminé à rehausser la littératie financière de l’ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, et à aider les parents et les enseignants à préparer les enfants et les étudiants à prendre leur avenir financier en main. Le gouvernement fédéral a créé l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada pour que celle-ci renforce la surveillance du secteur financier dans l’optique des consommateurs et qu’elle aide ces derniers à en apprendre davantage sur ce secteur.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement a réalisé un programme ambitieux pour améliorer le cadre canadien de protection des consommateurs de produits et de services financiers et en a fait l’un des cadres les plus avancés au monde. Il élabore actuellement un code exhaustif pour les consommateurs de produits et de services financiers. Ce code mettra en place un cadre permettant de protéger plus efficacement les consommateurs dans le contexte d’un secteur financier qui évolue rapidement. De plus, dans le Plan d’action économique de 2014, le gouvernement a annoncé diverses mesures pour mieux protéger les consommateurs canadiens de produits et de services financiers et leur permettre d’accroître leurs connaissances des produits sur le marché afin qu’ils puissent choisir ceux qui répondent le mieux à leurs besoins. Ces initiatives comprennent des mesures visant à faciliter l’accès des Canadiens aux services bancaires de base grâce à des comptes bancaires peu coûteux qui répondent à leurs besoins actuels.

Les faits en bref

  • La journée « Parlons argent avec nos enfants » aura lieu le 16 avril 2014.
  • La FCEE a été mise sur pied en 1974 pour aider les Canadiens à prendre des décisions économiques avec compétence et assurance.
  • La FCEE dispose d’une base de données répertoriant plus de 5 000 enseignants en milieu scolaire, ce qui lui donne la possibilité d’offrir ses ressources et ses programmes à quelque 300 000 élèves chaque année dans l’ensemble du Canada.
  • On estime que 400 écoles de toutes les régions du pays ont participé à la journée « Parlons argent avec nos enfants » en 2013.
  • La FCEE a distribué près d’un demi-million d’exemplaires de ses documents d’information à l’intention d’éducateurs en milieu scolaire au Canada. 

Citations

« Compte tenu de la complexité croissante des marchés financiers, il n’est jamais trop tôt pour que les parents commencent à inclure des notions de finances personnelles aux compétences de base qu’ils inculquent à leurs enfants. Je félicite les centaines d’écoles canadiennes qui sont déjà inscrites à la journée “Parlons argent avec nos enfants” du 16 avril, et j’encourage d’autres institutions à faire de même. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés