Archived - Government Supports Families With New Health-Related Tax Relief

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canadians won’t pay GST/HST on acupuncturists’ and naturopathic doctors’ professional services

March 18, 2014 – Burnaby, British Columbia – Department of Finance

Minister of State for Seniors and Richmond MP Alice Wong, along with Vancouver South MP Wai Young, on behalf of Finance Minister Jim Flaherty, today highlighted the Harper Government’s support for families through new health-related tax relief.

They were joined by John Lee, Task Chair of the Canadian Coalition of Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture Associations.

Economic Action Plan 2014 proposes a number of measures to reduce the tax burden on Canadians, including health-related tax relief such as an exemption from the Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST) on acupuncturists’ and naturopathic doctors’ professional services. Changes to the tax treatment of these services and other GST/HST health-related measures announced in Economic Action Plan 2014 became effective on February 12, 2014.

This tax relief builds on the Harper Government’s record of keeping taxes low for Canadians and their families.

Quick Facts

Economic Action Plan 2014 proposes measures that will expand health-related tax relief by:

  • Exempting acupuncturists’ and naturopathic doctors’ professional services from the GST/HST.
  • Expanding the list of eligible expenses under the Medical Expense Tax Credit to include costs associated with service animals specially trained to assist individuals with severe diabetes, such as diabetes alert dogs.
  • Providing further tax recognition for costs associated with eligible specially designed medical therapies and training by:
    • Expanding the current GST/HST exemption for training that is specially designed to help individuals cope with a disorder or disability to also exempt services of designing such training, such as developing a training plan.
    • Including amounts paid for the design of an individualized therapy plan as an eligible expense for income tax purposes under the Medical Expense Tax Credit.
  • Adding eyewear specially designed to electronically enhance the vision of individuals with vision impairment that is supplied on the order of a physician or other specified health professional to the list of GST/HST-free (zero-rated) medical and assistive devices.

Quotes

“Whether it’s the introduction of the Family Caregiver Tax Credit and the Registered Disability Savings Plan, the ongoing expansion of eligible expenses under the Medical Expense Tax Credit, or the many other actions taken by our Government since 2006, the Government is proud of its record of keeping taxes low through health-related tax relief that better reflects the health care needs of Canadians. The tax relief highlighted today, including the exemption of acupuncturists’ and naturopathic doctors’ professional services from the GST/HST, continues our commitment to support Canadians and their families.”

- Alice Wong, Minister of State for Seniors and MP for Richmond

“I am very pleased to be part of a government that recognizes acupuncture as an important health service that should be recognized with a GST exemption. This should lower costs for Canadians seeking these services.”

- Wai Young, MP for Vancouver South

“We welcome the new measure to add acupuncture services to the list of important health services that are exempt from the GST. This will help alleviate the burden for patients seeking acupuncture treatment. As the Task Chair of the Canadian Coalition of Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture Associations, I thank the federal government for recognizing this.”

- John Lee, Task Chair, Canadian Coalition of Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture Associations

Related Products

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement appuie les familles grâce à de nouveaux allègements fiscaux liés à la santé

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les Canadiens ne paieront pas de TPS/TVH à l’égard des services professionnels d’un acupuncteur ou d’un docteur en naturopathie

Le 18 mars 2014 – Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique) – Ministère des Finances

La ministre d’État (Aînés) et députée fédérale de Richmond, Alice Wong, ainsi que la députée fédérale de Vancouver-Sud, Wai Young, au nom du ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, ont souligné aujourd’hui l’appui que le gouvernement Harper apporte aux familles par l’entremise de nouveaux allègements fiscaux liés à la santé.

Elles étaient accompagnées par John Lee, président du groupe de travail de la Coalition canadienne des associations de médecine traditionnelle chinoise et d’acupuncture.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2014 propose diverses mesures visant à réduire le fardeau fiscal des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, notamment des allègements fiscaux liés à la santé comme l’exonération de la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) à l’égard des services professionnels d’un acupuncteur ou d’un docteur en naturopathie. Les modifications apportées au traitement fiscal de ces services ainsi que d’autres mesures concernant le régime de la TPS/TVH touchant les soins de santé, annoncées dans le Plan d’action de 2014, sont entrées en vigueur le 12 février 2014.

Ces allègements fiscaux s’ajoutent au bilan du gouvernement Harper en ce qui concerne le maintien des impôts et des taxes à un niveau bas pour les Canadiens et leur famille.

Les faits en bref

Le Plan d’action économique de 2014 propose d’élargir l’application des allègements fiscaux liés à la santé grâce aux mesures suivantes :

  • Exonérer de la TPS/TVH les services professionnels d’un acupuncteur ou d’un docteur en naturopathie.
  • Ajouter à la liste des dépenses donnant droit au crédit d’impôt pour frais médicaux les coûts associés aux animaux d’assistance spécialement dressés pour aider les personnes atteintes de diabète sévère, comme les chiens d’assistance pour diabétiques.
  • Faire en sorte que le régime fiscal tienne mieux compte des coûts associés aux thérapies médicales et à la formation personnalisées et admissibles et, à cette fin :
    • étendre l’exonération de la TPS/TVH existante applicable à la formation conçue spécialement dans le but d’aider des particuliers à composer avec les effets d’un trouble ou d’une déficience, de manière à englober les services de conception d’une telle formation, par exemple l’élaboration d’un plan de formation;
    • inclure les montants versés pour la conception d’un plan de traitement individuel aux dépenses admissibles aux fins du crédit pour frais médicaux sous le régime de l’impôt sur le revenu.
  • Élargir la liste des appareils médicaux et appareils fonctionnels détaxés sous le régime de la TPS/TVH en y ajoutant les appareils d’optique qui sont spécialement conçus pour rehausser électroniquement la vision d’un particulier ayant un trouble de la vue et fournis sur ordonnance d’un médecin ou d’un autre professionnel de la santé admissible.

Citations

« Que ce soit l’instauration du crédit d’impôt pour aidants familiaux, l’instauration du régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité, l’élargissement continu des dépenses donnant droit au crédit d’impôt pour frais médicaux, ou encore les nombreuses autres initiatives prises depuis 2006, notre gouvernement est fier de son bilan en ce qui concerne le maintien des impôts et des taxes à un niveau bas par l’entremise d’allègements fiscaux qui répondent mieux aux besoins des Canadiens en matière de soins de santé. Les allègements fiscaux mis en relief aujourd’hui, notamment l’exonération de la TPS/TVH au titre des services professionnels d’un acupuncteur ou d’un docteur en naturopathie, donnent suite une nouvelle fois à notre engagement à appuyer les Canadiens et leur famille. »

- Alice Wong, ministre d’État (Aînés) et députée fédérale de Richmond

« Je suis très heureuse de faire partie d’un gouvernement qui reconnaît l’acupuncture en tant que service important en matière de santé, et qui agit en ce sens en offrant une exonération de la TPS/TVH. Cette exonération devrait réduire les coûts que les Canadiens doivent assumer pour ces services. »

- Wai Young, députée fédérale de Vancouver-Sud

« Nous saluons la nouvelle mesure qui ajoute les services d’un acupuncteur à la liste des services importants en matière de santé qui bénéficient d’une exonération de la TPS/TVH. Cette mesure aidera à réduire le fardeau des patients qui reçoivent un traitement d’acupuncture. À titre de président du groupe de travail de la Coalition canadienne des associations de médecine traditionnelle chinoise et d’acupuncture, je désire remercier le gouvernement fédéral de cette initiative. »

- John Lee, président du groupe de travail de la Coalition canadienne des associations de médecine traditionnelle chinoise et d’acupuncture

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés