Archived - Department of Finance Releases Annual Tax Expenditures and Evaluations Report

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 27, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

The Department of Finance today released the 2013 Tax Expenditures and Evaluations report.

This report provides estimates and projections of the revenue impacts of federal tax measures designed to support the economic and social priorities of the Government of Canada.

It also includes a statistical perspective on flow-through shares as well as a paper on the taxation of small businesses in Canada.

The release of today’s report coincides with the tabling of the Main Estimates in the House of Commons by the President of the Treasury Board.

Quick Facts

  • The Government first reported on federal tax expenditures in December 1979, and has published estimates and projections of tax expenditures for personal and corporate income taxes as well as for the Goods and Services Tax since 1994.
  • The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development has recognized the high quality of the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations report published annually by the Government.
  • The statistical perspective on flow-through shares included with this year’s report shows that these shares play a significant role in equity financing in the mining and oil and gas sectors, particularly for junior firms. From 2007 to 2012, approximately $1.4 billion per year in public equity for the oil and gas, mining and clean energy sectors was raised via flow-through shares.
  • The second paper included with this year’s report provides an overview of some of the key developments in the taxation of small businesses in Canada since 2000, notably the significant decrease in the corporate income tax rates applicable to the eligible income of small businesses. A small Canadian-controlled private corporation with $500,000 of active business income now pays less than half the corporate income taxes it paid in 2000 at the federal and provincial levels.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministère des Finances publie le rapport annuel Dépenses fiscales et évaluations

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 27 février 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministère des Finances a publié aujourd’hui le rapport intitulé Dépenses fiscales et évaluations 2013.

Ce rapport contient des estimations et des projections concernant les répercussions sur le revenu des mesures fiscales fédérales visant à soutenir les priorités économiques et sociales du gouvernement du Canada.

Le rapport présente également une perspective statistique sur les actions accréditives, de même qu’un document portant sur l’imposition des petites entreprises au Canada.

Le rapport de cette année est publié le même jour que le dépôt à la Chambre des communes du Budget principal des dépenses par le président du Conseil du Trésor.

Les faits en bref

  • Le gouvernement a publié le premier rapport sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales en décembre 1979. Depuis 1994, il publie aussi des estimations et des projections des dépenses fiscales liées à l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, à l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et à la taxe sur les produits et services.
  • L’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques a reconnu la grande qualité du rapport annuel Dépenses fiscales et évaluations.
  • La perspective statistique sur les actions accréditives incluse dans le rapport de cette année révèle que ces actions jouent un rôle majeur dans le financement par actions dans les secteurs minier, pétrolier et gazier, notamment en ce qui concerne les petites entreprises. Ainsi, de 2007 à 2012, les prises de participation dans des sociétés cotées effectuées au moyen d’actions accréditives ont permis de mobiliser environ 1,4 milliard de dollars par année pour ces secteurs ainsi que pour celui de l’énergie propre.
  • Le second document faisant partie du rapport de cette année présente un survol de certains des principaux changements survenus depuis 2000 en ce qui a trait à l’imposition des petites entreprises au Canada, plus particulièrement la diminution significative des taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés qui s’appliquent au revenu admissible des petites entreprises. À titre d’exemple, une petite société privée sous contrôle canadien dont le revenu tiré d’une entreprise exploitée activement est de 500 000 $ paie maintenant moins de la moitié en impôt fédéral et provincial sur le revenu des sociétés qu’en 2000.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés