Archived - Harper Government Helping and Encouraging Canadians to Accumulate Savings for Retirement

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 27, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today highlighted how the Government of Canada continues to help Canadians accumulate savings for retirement through tax-assisted programs, such as Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs). The RRSP contribution deadline for 2013 is March 3, 2014.

Quick Facts

  • RRSPs are voluntary, individual, defined contribution savings plans. Employers may provide a “group RRSP” for employees, and may remit a share of contributions on behalf of their employees.
  • Contributions to RRSPs are deductible from income for tax purposes and investment income earned in these plans is not subject to income tax. Payments and withdrawals from these plans are included in income for tax purposes. The deferral of tax provided on RRSP savings encourages and assists Canadians to save in order to meet their retirement income objectives.
  • The Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA), introduced by the Harper Government in 2009, is a tax-assisted general-purpose savings account that may be used for any savings purpose, including saving for retirement. TFSA contributions are not deductible; however, investment income and withdrawals are tax-free. In addition, neither TFSA investment income nor withdrawals affect eligibility for federal income-tested benefits and credits, such as Old Age Security and Guaranteed Income Supplement benefits.

Quotes

“With tax season well upon us, and the deadline for RRSP contributions coming on March 3, Canadians should be aware that the Government of Canada is providing significant tax assistance to help ensure that their hard-earned dollars can be invested for retirement, and grow and accumulate, on a tax-efficient basis. RRSPs provide significant tax assistance on savings and Canadians may wish to consider taking advantage of these plans to help achieve their retirement income goals.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper appuie et encourage l’épargne-retraite des Canadiens

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 27 février 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a souligné aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada continuait d’aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à économiser en prévision de leur retraite dans le cadre de programmes comportant une aide fiscale, comme celui des régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REER). La date limite de l’année 2013 pour verser des cotisations à un REER est le 3 mars 2014.

Les faits en bref

  • Les REER sont des régimes individuels d’épargne à participation volontaire et à cotisations déterminées destinés aux particuliers. Les employeurs peuvent offrir un « REER collectif » à leurs employés et y verser une part des cotisations pour le compte de ces derniers.
  • Les cotisations à un REER sont déductibles du revenu imposable, et le revenu de placement accumulé dans ces régimes n’est pas assujetti à l’impôt sur le revenu. Les prestations et les retraits de ces régimes sont inclus dans le revenu aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu. Le report du paiement de l’impôt sur les fonds s’accumulant dans les REER constitue une aide fiscale qui encourage les Canadiens à épargner en vue de répondre à leurs objectifs de revenu de retraite.
  • Les comptes d’épargne libres d’impôt (CELI), instaurés par le gouvernement Harper en 2009, sont un mécanisme d’épargne à usage général assorti d’une aide fiscale, qui permet de répondre à divers besoins d’épargne, y compris l’épargne-retraite. Les cotisations versées dans un CELI ne donnent droit à aucune déduction d’impôt. Cependant, les montants qui en sont retirés et le revenu de placement gagné dans le compte ne sont pas imposables au moment du retrait, et ils n’ont aucun effet sur l’admissibilité du particulier aux prestations et aux crédits fédéraux fondés sur le revenu, comme les prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Supplément de revenu garanti.

Citations

« Au moment où la période des impôts est bien avancée et à l’approche de la date limite du 3 mars pour cotiser à un REER, les Canadiens devraient être conscients du fait que le gouvernement du Canada leur offre une aide fiscale appréciable pour faire en sorte que leur argent durement gagné puisse être placé en prévision de leur retraite et que ces économies s’accumulent et croissent de manière avantageuse sur le plan de l’impôt. Puisque l’épargne versée dans les REER fait l’objet d’une aide fiscale importante, les Canadiens pourraient envisager de profiter de ces régimes pour mieux atteindre leurs objectifs en matière de revenu de retraite. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés