Archived - Harper Government Prepares to Consult on "Made in Canada" Branding Campaign

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Economic Action Plan 2014 to enhance awareness of Canadian-made products

February 26, 2014 – Melbourne, Australia – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Jim Flaherty today met with representatives of the Australian Made Campaign Limited (AMCL) to discuss the organization’s experience with its successful and long-standing national branding campaign, as the Government of Canada prepares to undertake a similar initiative.

Economic Action Plan 2014 announced plans to consult on a private-sector-led “Made in Canada” branding campaign to raise consumer awareness of the quality and range of Canadian-made products both domestically and internationally. Following these consultations, a private sector steering committee will be established to lead this initiative, which will strengthen Canada’s competitiveness at home and abroad.

Quick Facts

  • The quality of Canadian products is recognized across the country and around the world. Branding products “Made in Canada” is a potentially powerful tool to encourage consumers—both in Canada and internationally —to choose such products. While other countries such as Australia have capitalized on their national brand as a competitive advantage, no widely recognized Canadian branding exists.
  • The Australian Made campaign was launched in 1986 and is currently overseen by the AMCL. In addition to managing the Australian Made logo, the AMCL hosts a website that markets participating products and presents Australian companies’ profiles. Approximately 1,700 Australian companies currently use the logo on more than 10,000 products.

Quotes

"Our Government is committed to fostering trade and Canadian entrepreneurship. A "Made in Canada" brand will help advance both of these goals by raising awareness—both in Canada and internationally—of high-quality Canadian products. Learning directly from the Australians about their successful branding initiative is a first step in the process."

- Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper prépare les consultations sur la campagne promotionnelle « Fabriqué au Canada »

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2014 permettra de mieux faire connaître les produits canadiens

Le 26 février 2014 – Melbourne (Australie) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, a rencontré aujourd’hui des représentants de la société Australian Made Campaign Limited (AMCL) pour discuter de sa fructueuse campagne de longue date d’image de marque des produits australiens, au moment où le gouvernement du Canada se prépare à entreprendre une initiative semblable.

Dans le Plan d’action économique de 2014, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de tenir des consultations en vue de réaliser une campagne de promotion « Fabriqué au Canada ». Dirigée par le secteur privé, cette campagne visera à sensibiliser davantage les consommateurs à la qualité et à l’éventail des produits canadiens sur les marchés nationaux et internationaux. Par suite de ces consultations, un comité directeur du secteur privé sera mis sur pied pour diriger l’initiative, qui permettra de renforcer la compétitivité du Canada tant au pays qu’à l’étranger.

Les faits en bref

  • La qualité des produits canadiens est reconnue partout au pays et dans le monde entier. L’utilisation d’une image de marque « Fabriqué au Canada » peut se révéler un moyen puissant d’encourager les consommateurs – au Canada comme à l’étranger – à choisir ces produits. Alors que d’autres pays comme l’Australie ont exploité leur image de marque nationale afin d’en tirer un avantage concurrentiel, il n’existe pas d’image de marque canadienne largement reconnue.
  • Lancée en 1986, la campagne « Australian Made » est maintenant supervisée par l’AMCL. Outre la gestion du logo « Australian Made », cette société tient un site Web qui met en vedette les produits participants et présente des profils d’entreprises australiennes. Environ 1 700 entreprises australiennes se servent actuellement du logo sur l’étiquetage de plus de 10 000 produits.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement est déterminé à favoriser le commerce et l'entrepreneuriat canadien. L'établissement d'une image de marque "Fabriqué au Canada" nous aidera à donner suite à ces objectifs en rehaussant la sensibilisation des consommateurs, tant au pays qu'ailleurs dans le monde, à l'endroit des produits canadiens de haute qualité. En nous renseignant directement auprès des Australiens au sujet de la fructueuse promotion de leur image de marque, nous franchissons une première étape dans ce processus. »

- Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés