Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Highlights Key Measures in Economic Action Plan 2014

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Economic Action Plan 2014 will help businesses create jobs and keep the economy growing, and confirms the return to balanced budgets in 2015

February 18, 2014 – Edmonton, Alberta – Department of Finance

Speaking to the Alberta Chamber of Commerce on a teleconference call, Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson, Minister of Health Rona Ambrose, and Members of Parliament Mike Lake and the Honourable Rob Merrifield today highlighted some of the key measures in Economic Action Plan 2014 that will benefit Canadian businesses in Alberta and across Canada.

These measures include reducing the tax compliance and regulatory burden for small and medium-sized businesses; strengthening Canada’s intellectual property regime to reduce the administrative burden for innovative businesses; developing a “Made-in-Canada” consumer awareness campaign; reducing barriers to internal trade; and investing in key infrastructure projects to improve the flow of goods and services.

Minister Sorenson noted that business investment has fuelled growth over the recovery and Canada’s business investment performance has been by far the strongest in the Group of Seven (G-7) during the recession and recovery.

Quick Facts

Economic Action Plan 2014 is continuing to help Canadian businesses by:

  • Not introducing new taxes on business.
  • Building on the work of the Red Tape Reduction Commission by reducing the tax compliance and regulatory burden for small and medium-sized businesses.
  • Further reducing barriers to the international and domestic flow of goods and services.
  • Moving forward with the planning for and construction of a new Windsor-Detroit International Crossing to improve the flow of people and goods between Canada and the United States.
  • Creating the new Canada First Research Excellence Fund with $1.5 billion in funding over the next decade to help Canada’s post-secondary institutions excel globally in research areas that create long-term economic advantages for Canada.
  • Modernizing regulation and legislation to better protect investors and taxpayers, enhance Canada’s financial services sector and support efficient capital markets.

Quotes

“Canada’s Economic Action Plan is working and in 2014 we will maintain our focus on jobs and economic growth, underpinned by our ongoing commitment to keep taxes low and balance the budget in 2015. In moving our plan forward, we will continue to consult with Canadians and Canadian businesses on how Economic Action Plan 2014 can advance the economic priorities that matter most to them.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d’État (Finances) met en relief des mesures clés du Plan d’action économique de 2014 

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2014 aidera les entreprises à créer des emplois et à soutenir la croissance économique et confirme le rétablissement de l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 18 février 2014 – Edmonton (Alberta) – Ministère des Finances

Dans le cadre d’une conférence téléphonique avec la Chambre de commerce de l’Alberta, le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, la ministre de la Santé, Rona Ambrose, ainsi que les députés fédéraux Mike Lake et l’honorable Rob Merrifield ont souligné aujourd’hui certaines des mesures clés du Plan d’action économique de 2014 qui profiteront aux entreprises canadiennes de l’Alberta et du reste du pays.

Parmi ces mesures figurent l’allègement du fardeau d’observation des règles fiscales et de la réglementation pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, le renforcement du régime de propriété intellectuelle du Canada pour réduire le fardeau administratif imposé aux entreprises innovatrices, l’élaboration d’une campagne de sensibilisation des consommateurs aux produits fabriqués au Canada, la réduction des obstacles au commerce intérieur, et des investissements dans des projets d’infrastructure clés afin d’améliorer la circulation des biens et des services.

Le ministre Sorenson a fait remarquer que les investissements des entreprises ont alimenté la croissance pendant la reprise et qu’à cet égard, le Canada a affiché la plus forte performance, et de loin, des pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) durant la récession et la reprise.

Les faits en bref

Dans le Plan d’action économique de 2014, le gouvernement continue d’appuyer les entreprises canadiennes grâce aux mesures suivantes :

  • Éviter d’alourdir le fardeau fiscal des entreprises.
  • Poursuivre l’œuvre de la Commission sur la réduction de la paperasse en allégeant le fardeau de l’observation des règles fiscales et de réglementation pour les petites et moyennes entreprises.
  • Réduire davantage les obstacles aux échanges de biens et de services aux niveaux national et international.
  • Faire progresser les travaux de planification et de construction d’un nouveau passage frontalier international Windsor-Detroit pour améliorer la circulation des personnes et des biens entre le Canada et les États-Unis.
  • Créer le nouveau fonds d’excellence en recherche « Apogée Canada », financé à hauteur de 1,5 milliard de dollars au cours de la prochaine décennie, pour aider les institutions postsecondaires canadiennes à exceller à l’échelle mondiale dans des domaines de recherche qui génèrent des avantages économiques à long terme pour le Canada.
  • Moderniser la réglementation et les lois pour mieux protéger les investisseurs et les contribuables, renforcer le secteur des services financiers canadien et appuyer l’efficience des marchés de capitaux.

Citations

« Le Plan d’action économique fonctionne. En 2014, nous continuerons de mettre l’accent sur l’emploi et la croissance économique, dans l’esprit de nos engagements soutenus de maintenir les impôts à un faible niveau et de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015. Alors que nous poursuivrons la mise en œuvre de ce plan, nous continuerons de consulter la population et les entreprises du Canada au sujet des moyens par lesquels le Plan d’action économique de 2014 peut donner suite aux priorités économiques qui leur sont les plus importantes. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés