Archived - Minister of Finance Welcomes Findings of the Financial Action Task Force

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 17, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Jim Flaherty today welcomed the findings of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), which has endorsed Canada’s anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regime.

In its Mutual Evaluation of Canada report, the FATF finds that Canada adheres to all major FATF Recommendations, including those relating to customer due diligence requirements for financial institutions and other reporting entities. The report also recognizes the sound supervision by the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) and the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, as well as the effective and thorough analysis of financial intelligence by FINTRAC in line with international standards.

The report also highlights other significant steps taken in recent years to bolster Canada’s efforts to combat money laundering and terrorist financing, including establishing a registration regime for money service businesses, expanding the scope of the regime to include additional businesses and professions, and completing the 10-Year Evaluation of Canada’s Anti-Money Laundering and Anti-Terrorist Financing Regime, which was published in 2011

The full report is available on the FATF website.

Quick Facts

  • The FATF is the international body responsible for setting anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing standards and promoting the effective implementation of measures to combat threats to the integrity of the international financial system through peer reviews.
  • Canada is an active participant in the FATF and in the fight against money laundering, terrorist financing and other abuses of the global financial system.
  • The Government of Canada is committed to a strong and comprehensive regime that is at the forefront of the global fight against money laundering and terrorist financing and that safeguards the integrity of Canada’s financial system and the safety and security of Canadians. 
  • Canada's Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act aims to detect and deter money laundering and the financing of terrorist activities, while facilitating the investigation and prosecution of these crimes. These objectives place equal emphasis on preventing illicit funds from entering or moving through Canada’s financial system, assisting law enforcement in detecting and prosecuting these crimes.

Quotes

“Money laundering and terrorist financing not only threaten the financial system, they enable crimes that pose harm to Canadians and threaten our quality of life. The FATF’s endorsement demonstrates that actions taken by our Government are making a difference in protecting the integrity of the Canadian financial sector and protecting Canadians against crime. This further validates our Government’s ongoing commitment to meet these challenges head-on.”

- Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances fait bon accueil aux conclusions du Groupe d’action financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 17 février 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, a accueilli favorablement aujourd’hui les conclusions du Groupe d’action financière (GAFI), qui a avalisé le régime canadien de lutte contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes.

Dans son rapport intitulé Évaluation mutuelle du Canada, le GAFI signale que le Canada respecte toutes les principales recommandations de cette organisation, dont celles ayant trait aux exigences de diligence raisonnable à l’égard de la clientèle qui s’appliquent aux institutions financières et à d’autres entités déclarantes. Dans son rapport, le GAFI reconnaît également la solide surveillance exercée par le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) et le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, de même que l’analyse efficace et approfondie du renseignement financier que mène le CANAFE conformément aux normes internationales.

Le rapport fait également état d’autres mesures importantes prises ces dernières années pour soutenir les efforts du Canada en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes, ce qui comprend la mise sur pied d’un régime d’enregistrement pour les entreprises de transfert de fonds, l’élargissement de la portée du régime de sorte qu’il s’applique à d’autres entreprises et professions, et le parachèvement du rapport intitulé Évaluation décennale du Régime canadien de lutte contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes, qui a été publié en 2011

La version intégrale du rapport est disponible sur le site Web du GAFI.

Les faits en bref

  • Le GAFI est l’organisme international chargé d’établir les normes de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes et de promouvoir la mise en œuvre efficace de mesures de lutte contre les menaces à l’intégrité du système financier international au moyen d’examens par les pairs.
  • Le Canada participe activement au GAFI ainsi qu’à la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, le financement des activités terroristes et les autres utilisations abusives du système financier mondial.
  • Le gouvernement est résolu à se doter d’un régime robuste et exhaustif qui joue un rôle de premier plan dans la lutte mondiale contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes, et qui protège l’intégrité du système financier national ainsi que la sécurité des Canadiens. 
  • La Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes du Canada vise à déceler et à dissuader le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes tout en facilitant les enquêtes et les poursuites relatives à ces infractions. Dans cette optique, elle accorde autant d’importance à prévenir l’entrée et la circulation des fonds illicites dans le système financier canadien qu’à aider les organismes d’application de la loi à déceler ces infractions et à intenter des poursuites à leur égard.

Citations

« Le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes menacent non seulement le système financier : ce sont des infractions qui nuisent aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens et qui menacent notre qualité de vie. L’appui signifié par le GAFI montre que les mesures prises par notre gouvernement contribuent vraiment à protéger l’intégrité du secteur financier canadien et à protéger la population canadienne contre la criminalité. Cet appui confirme l’engagement permanent de notre gouvernement d’attaquer de front ces problèmes. »

- Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés