Archived - Minister of Finance Appoints New Chair of the Venture Capital Expert Panel

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Government Continues to Work Towards Improving Access to Venture Capital Financing

January 27, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Jim Flaherty today announced the appointment of Annette Verschuren as the new chair of the Venture Capital Expert Panel.

Ms. Verschuren has been a member of the Venture Capital Expert Panel since May 2013. She has extensive experience in the business community and the venture capital sector as Chair and CEO of NRStor Inc., a company focused on accelerating the commercialization of energy storage technologies through the planning and development of energy storage projects. She was previously President of The Home Depot Canada and Asia and President and co-owner of Michaels of Canada.

Quick Facts

  • Minister Flaherty established the Venture Capital Expert Panel in May 2013 in order to advance key elements of the Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP).
  • Over the past eight months the Panel has been providing advice and recommendations on elements of the VCAP, including the selection of four high-performing funds to receive an aggregate investment of $50 million from the federal government and the ongoing evaluation of proposals received under the Canada Accelerator and Incubator Program, led by the National Research Council of Canada’s Industrial Research Assistance Program. 
  • The Panel’s members are: Annette Verschuren (chair), Jim W. Davidson, Samuel L. Duboc, Gilles Duruflé and Robin Louis.
  • The VCAP was launched in January 2013 to help increase private sector investments in early-stage risk capital, and contribute to a vibrant private sector-led venture capital sector in Canada.

Quotes

“It is a pleasure to announce the appointment of Annette Verschuren as the Chair of the Venture Capital Expert Panel. With her extensive professional and public experience, Ms. Verschuren has the depth of understanding to help our Government make the decisions necessary to improve financing for Canada’s venture capital sector.”

- Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Biographical Notes

Annette Verschuren

Ms. Annette Verschuren, O.C., has been a member of the Venture Capital Expert Panel since May 2013. She is Chair and CEO of NRStor Inc., a company accelerating the commercialization of energy storage technologies through the planning and development of energy storage projects. Previously, she was President of The Home Depot Canada and Asia and President and co-owner of Michaels of Canada.

Ms. Verschuren is a board member and Chair of the Risk Committee of Liberty Mutual Insurance Group of Boston, as well as a board member of Air Canada, Saputo Inc., the North West Company, the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health and the Conference Board of Canada.

She has served as the vice-chair of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives, a member of the North American Competitiveness Council, and a member of the Economic Advisory Council, a group of 11 Canadian business leaders set up in 2008 to advise the Government of Canada on the global economic crisis.

A champion of community investment and volunteerism, Ms. Verschuren serves as Chancellor of Cape Breton University and chairs fundraising efforts for the University’s new Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy & the Environment.

Ms. Verschuren holds honorary doctorate degrees from Dalhousie University, Mount Saint Vincent University, Carleton University and St. Francis Xavier University, where she also earned a Bachelor of Business Administration degree.

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances nomme la nouvelle présidente du Groupe d'experts sur le capital de risque

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement poursuit ses efforts en vue d’élargir l’accès au capital de risque

Le 27 janvier 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Annette Verschuren à la présidence du Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque.

Mme Verschuren est membre du Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque depuis mai 2013. Elle possède une vaste expérience dans le milieu des affaires et dans le secteur du capital de risque en tant que présidente et chef de la direction de NRStor Inc., société axée sur l'accélération de la commercialisation des technologies de stockage d’énergie grâce à la planification et à la conception de projets dans ce domaine. Auparavant, elle a été présidente de Home Depot Canada et Asie, de même que présidente et copropriétaire de Michaels of Canada.

Les faits en bref

  • Le ministre Flaherty a mis sur pied le Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque en mai 2013 afin de faire progresser des éléments clés du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque.
  • Au cours des huit derniers mois, le Groupe d’experts a formulé des conseils et des recommandations concernant certains aspects du Plan d’action, dont la sélection de quatre fonds à rendement élevé qui recevront un placement total de 50 millions de dollars du gouvernement fédéral, ainsi que l’évaluation en cours des propositions reçues dans le cadre du Programme canadien des accélérateurs et des incubateurs, dirigé par le Programme d’aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada.
  • Le Groupe d’experts est composé des membres suivants : Annette Verschuren (présidente), Jim W. Davidson, Samuel L. Duboc, Gilles Duruflé et Robin Louis.
  • Le Plan d’action a été lancé en janvier 2013 pour favoriser la hausse des investissements en capital de risque du secteur privé dans des entreprises en démarrage, et ainsi contribuer au dynamisme du secteur du capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé au Canada.

Citations

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer la nomination de Mme Annette Verschuren à la présidence du Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque. Grâce à sa vaste expérience professionnelle et publique, Mme Verschuren possède des connaissances approfondies qui aideront notre gouvernement à prendre les décisions qui s’imposent afin d’améliorer le financement du secteur canadien du capital de risque. »

- Jim Flaherty, mMinistre des Finances

Produits connexes

Notice biographique

Annette Verschuren

Mme Annette Verschuren, O.C., est membre du Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque depuis mai 2013. Elle est présidente et chef de la direction de NRStor Inc., société qui accélère la commercialisation des technologies de stockage d’énergie grâce à la planification et à la conception de projets dans ce domaine. Auparavant, elle a été présidente de Home Depot Canada et Asie, de même que présidente et copropriétaire de Michaels of Canada.

Mme Verschuren siège au conseil d’administration et préside le comité de gestion du risque du Liberty Mutual Group, société d’assurances dont le siège est à Boston; également, elle fait partie des conseils d’administration d’Air Canada, de Saputo inc., de la North West Company, du Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale ainsi que du Conference Board du Canada.

Elle a été vice-présidente du Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise ainsi que membre du Conseil nord-américain de la compétitivité. Mme Verschuren a aussi été membre du Conseil consultatif sur l’économie créé en 2008, composé de onze chefs de file du milieu des affaires du Canada et dont la tâche consistait à conseiller le gouvernement du Canada au sujet de la crise économique mondiale.

Championne de l’investissement communautaire et du bénévolat, Mme Verschuren est chancelière de l’Université du Cap-Breton; elle y préside la collecte de fonds à l’intention du nouveau Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy and the Environment.

Mme Verschuren détient des doctorats honorifiques des universités Dalhousie, Mount Saint Vincent, Carleton et St. Francis Xavier, où elle a également obtenu un baccalauréat en administration des affaires.

Liens connexes

Contacts

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés