Archived - Minister of Finance Delighted Canada Vaults to No. 2 Spot in Global Business Survey

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bloomberg Rankings of World’s Most Attractive Countries for Business Shows Merits of Canada’s Low-Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth

January 22, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Jim Flaherty today welcomed a major global survey that has seen Canada leap in the world ranking of best business environments to place second, behind only Hong Kong. The result adds to the list of accomplishments, including a banking system that has been considered the world’s soundest for six straight years by the World Economic Forum. This demonstrates that the Government’s responsible and disciplined use of tax dollars to support job creation and promote economic growth is working.

The Government of Canada remains on track to balance the federal budget in 2015, which will contribute to low interest rates, attract more investment, keep taxes low and ensure sustainable social programs.

Quick Facts

  • Canada ranked sixth in Bloomberg’s 2012 survey and is now one of only a handful of countries that continues to receive a triple-A credit rating, with a stable outlook, from all the major credit rating agencies.
  • Responsible and disciplined use of taxpayers’ dollars is expected to yield a surplus in 2015–16.
  • Canada has the lowest federal tax burden as a percentage of gross domestic product in over 50 years, with the lowest business tax costs in the Group of Seven (G-7).

Quotes

“I am delighted to see Canada rise to second place in this survey of the world’s best business environments. This should come as no surprise, however, given KPMG’s conclusion that Canada’s total business tax costs are the lowest in the G-7, and more than 40 per cent lower than those in the United States. This is further international recognition that our Government’s low-tax plan for jobs and growth is a sound economic formula.

- Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Media Contacts

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances ravi par le bond du Canada au 2e rang d'un classement mondial du climat des affaires

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le classement Bloomberg des pays les plus attrayants pour les affaires montre les avantages du plan d’impôts bas pour l’emploi et la croissance du Canada

Le 22 janvier 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, s’est réjoui aujourd’hui de la parution d’un important classement mondial du climat d’affaires, en vertu duquel le Canada a fait un bond au deuxième rang, devancé uniquement par Hong Kong. Ce résultat s’ajoute à la série de réussites du pays, comme l’obtention depuis six années de suite du premier rang mondial attribué par le Forum économique mondial au chapitre de la solidité du système bancaire national. Cela montre que l’utilisation responsable et disciplinée par le gouvernement de l’argent des contribuables pour soutenir la création d’emplois et favoriser la croissance économique porte ses fruits.

Le gouvernement du Canada demeure sur la bonne voie pour équilibrer le budget fédéral en 2015, ce qui contribuera à conserver de faibles taux d’intérêt, à attirer davantage d’investissements, à maintenir de faibles taux d’imposition et à assurer la viabilité des programmes sociaux.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Canada s’est classé au sixième rang dans l’évaluation Bloomberg de 2012, et il est actuellement l’un des rares pays qui continuent de se voir attribuer une cote de crédit AAA, assortie de perspectives stables, de la part de toutes les grandes agences de notation.
  • L’utilisation responsable et disciplinée de l’argent des contribuables devrait permettre de dégager un excédent en 2015-2016.
  • Le fardeau fiscal fédéral du Canada est actuellement à son niveau le plus faible, en proportion du produit intérieur brut, depuis plus de 50 ans; de plus, le Canada affiche les coûts fiscaux les plus bas pour les entreprises parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7).

Citations

« Je suis ravi de voir que le Canada s’est hissé à la deuxième place dans cette évaluation mondiale du climat des affaires. Ce résultat n’est pas étonnant, compte tenu de la conclusion du cabinet KPMG selon laquelle le total des coûts fiscaux des entreprises au Canada est le plus bas du G-7 et qu’il est de plus de 40 % inférieur à celui des États-Unis. Il s’agit d’une nouvelle reconnaissance internationale du fait que le plan d’impôts bas de notre gouvernement pour l’emploi et la croissance constitue une saine formule économique. »

- Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Contacts

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés