Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Holds Pre-Budget Consultations in Wetaskiwin and Calgary

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister seeks views from Canadians on building a stronger economy

January 16, 2014 – Wetaskiwin and Calgary, Alberta – Department of Finance

The Honourable Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance), today hosted two pre-budget consultations with Member of Parliament for Wetaskiwin Blaine Calkins and Member of Parliament for Calgary Centre Joan Crockatt. The roundtables included local business representatives, community leaders and academics.

Minister Sorenson’s consultations complement pre-budget roundtables hosted by Finance Minister Flaherty and Parliamentary Secretary Andrew Saxton. In addition, Canadians are invited to submit their views online regarding how the Government can continue to build on the Economic Action Plan to further support families, encourage job creation, and secure a strong economy for today and the future.

Quick Facts

  • The pre-budget consultations use innovative techniques, including telepresence and online consultations, to gather the views of Canadians from coast to coast to coast.

Quotes

“Our Government has demonstrated an unprecedented commitment to safeguarding Canada’s economy and to creating Canadian jobs. With the help of Canadians through these consultations, we remain focused on controlling spending, keeping taxes low and balancing the budget in 2015.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d'État (Finances) tient des consultations prébudgétaires à Wetaskiwin et à Calgary

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre sollicite les points de vue des Canadiens sur la manière dont on peut renforcer l’économie

Le 16 janvier 2014 – Wetaskiwin et Calgary (Alberta) – Ministère des Finances

L’honorable Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances), a tenu aujourd’hui deux séances de consultations prébudgétaires en compagnie de Blaine Calkins, député fédéral de Wetaskiwin et de Joan Crockatt, députée fédérale de Calgary-Centre. Ces tables rondes réunissaient des représentants du milieu des affaires, des dirigeants communautaires et des universitaires.

Les consultations menées par le ministre Sorenson s’ajoutent à la série de tables rondes prébudgétaires animées par le ministre des Finances Flaherty et le secrétaire parlementaire, Andrew Saxton. Les consultations comprennent également un volet en ligne auquel les Canadiennes et les Canadiens peuvent participer en exprimant leurs opinions concernant la manière dont le gouvernement peut continuer de s’appuyer sur le Plan d’action économique pour soutenir davantage les familles, favoriser la création d’emplois et assurer une économie forte, aujourd’hui et pour l’avenir.

Les faits en bref

  • Les consultations prébudgétaires utilisent des techniques novatrices, notamment la téléprésence et les consultations en ligne et permettent au gouvernement de connaître les points de vue des Canadiens d’un océan à l’autre.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement a fait preuve d’un engagement sans précédent pour protéger l’économie canadienne et créer des emplois au pays. Avec l’aide que les Canadiens apportent dans le cadre de ces consultations, nous continuons d’axer nos efforts sur le contrôle des dépenses, le maintien des impôts et des taxes à un niveau peu élevé et l’atteinte de l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015. »

- Kevin Sorenson, Ministre d'État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés