Archived - Harper Government Focused on Balancing the Budget, Creating Jobs and Securing Long-Term Prosperity

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Economic Club of Canada Address Highlights Priorities of Economic Action Plan 2014

January 14, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario– Department of Finance

In a speech to Toronto’s business community, Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today outlined the Harper Government’s key priorities in shaping Economic Action Plan 2014, its low-tax plan for creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity.

Ongoing global uncertainty and significant deficits in other countries make it even more important for Canada to remain focused on balanced budgets. Responsible and disciplined use of taxpayers’ hard-earned dollars is expected to get us back to balance in 2015–16.

Quick Facts

  • Canada has created over 1 million net new jobs since July 2009, with 85 per cent in full-time positions, more than 80 per cent in the private sector and two-thirds in high-wage industries.
  • Canada is now one of only a handful of countries that continues to receive a triple-A credit rating, with a stable outlook, from all the major credit rating agencies.
  • The average Canadian family of four now pays $3,220 less in taxes as a result of actions taken by the Government since 2006.

Quotes

“As work continues on Economic Action Plan 2014, our Government remains steadfast in our focus on balancing the budget in 2015 as a means to focusing taxpayer resources on the programs and services that will deliver strong, sustainable and long-term economic growth.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Related Products

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper se concentre sur l'équilibre budgétaire, la création d'emplois et la prospérité à long terme

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Une allocution prononcée devant l’Economic Club of Canada souligne les priorités du Plan d’action économique de 2014

Le 14 janvier 2014 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Dans un discours prononcé devant des représentants du milieu des affaires de Toronto, le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a souligné aujourd’hui les grandes priorités du gouvernement Harper qui façonneront le Plan d’action économique de 2014, un plan axé sur des impôts peu élevés, la création d’emplois et la prospérité à long terme.

L’incertitude mondiale persistante et les déficits significatifs enregistrés dans d’autres pays montrent qu’il est d’autant plus important pour le Canada de maintenir sa priorité d’atteindre l’équilibre budgétaire. L’utilisation responsable et rigoureuse qui est faite de l’argent durement gagné par les contribuables devrait nous permettre de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015-2016.

Les faits en bref

  • Il s’est créé plus de 1 million d’emplois nets au Canada depuis juillet 2009; 85 % de ces emplois sont à temps plein, plus de 80 % ont été créés dans le secteur privé et les deux tiers l’ont été dans des industries à rémunération élevée.
  • À l’heure actuelle, le Canada est l’un des rares pays qui continuent de se voir attribuer une cote de crédit AAA, assortie de perspectives stables, de la part de toutes les grandes agences de notation.
  • Une famille canadienne moyenne de quatre personnes paie 3 220 dollars de moins en taxes et en impôts par suite des mesures prises par le gouvernement depuis 2006.

Citations

« Pendant que la préparation du Plan d’action économique de 2014 se poursuit, notre gouvernement continue à mettre fermement l’accent sur l’atteinte de l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015, de manière à ce que les ressources provenant des contribuables soient consacrées à des programmes et à des services qui assureront une croissance économique forte et viable à long terme. »

- Kevin Sorenson, Ministre d'État (Finances)

Produits connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés