Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Holds Pre-Budget Consultations in Etobicoke

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister seeks views on upcoming budget on how to build on the success of the Harper Government’s Economic Action Plan

January 13, 2014 – Etobicoke, Ontario– Department of Finance

The Honourable Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance), today hosted two pre-budget consultations in Etobicoke with Member of Parliament for Etobicoke–Lakeshore Bernard Trottier and Member of Parliament for Etobicoke Centre Ted Opitz. The roundtables included business representatives, community leaders and academics.

The consultations continue a series of events in communities across the country in the lead-up to Economic Action Plan 2014, allowing Canadians to provide their views on how to achieve the best use of taxpayers’ dollars without raising taxes or reducing transfers to people and provinces. 

In addition to the ongoing series of pre-budget roundtables, which are being hosted by Minister Flaherty, Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Parliamentary Secretary Andrew Saxton, Canadians are also invited to submit their views online.

Quick Facts

  • The pre-budget consultations use innovative techniques, including telepresence and online consultations, to gather the views of Canadians from coast to coast to coast.

Quotes

“Our Government is listening to the needs of Canadians, especially when it comes to the challenges facing our economy. We remain focused on creating jobs for Canadians by protecting the economy and keeping taxes low. We are committed to controlling spending to achieve our goal of balancing the budget in 2015.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d'État (Finances) tient des consultations prébudgétaires à Etobicoke

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre recueille des opinions concernant les moyens de tirer parti des réalisations du Plan d’action économique du gouvernement Harper en vue de la préparation du prochain budget

Le 13 janvier 2014 – Etobicoke (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

L’honorable Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances), a tenu aujourd’hui deux consultations prébudgétaires à Etobicoke en compagnie de Bernard Trottier, député d’Etobicoke-Lakeshore, et de Ted Opitz, député d’Etobicoke-Centre. Ces tables rondes réunissent des représentants du milieu des affaires, des dirigeants communautaires et des universitaires.

Les consultations s’inscrivent dans une série d’événements tenus dans des collectivités de l’ensemble du pays en prévision du Plan d’action économique de 2014; elles permettent aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens d’exprimer leurs opinions sur la façon optimale dont on peut utiliser les deniers publics, sans avoir à augmenter les impôts ni à réduire les transferts aux particuliers et aux provinces. 

En plus de la série de tables rondes prébudgétaires en cours, animées par le ministre Flaherty, le ministre d’État (Finances) Kevin Sorenson et le secrétaire parlementaire Andrew Saxton, les consultations comprennent un volet en ligne auquel les Canadiens peuvent participer.

Les faits en bref

  • Les consultations prébudgétaires utilisent des techniques novatrices qui permettent de connaître les points de vue des Canadiennes et des Canadiens d’un océan à l’autre, notamment la téléprésence et les consultations en ligne.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement est à l’écoute des besoins des Canadiens, en particulier lorsqu’il est question des défis que notre économie doit relever. Nous continuons d’axer nos efforts sur la création d’emplois pour les Canadiens en protégeant l’économie et en maintenant les impôts à un faible niveau. Nous sommes déterminés à contrôler les dépenses afin d’atteindre notre objectif de réaliser l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015. »

- Kevin Sorenson, Ministre d’État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés