Toronto, September 20, 2013
2013-122

Archived - Harper Government Helps Create Jobs and Growth in Canada by Supporting Innovative Canadian Businesses and Entrepreneurs

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today reaffirmed a $50-million investment to help innovative businesses access the capital they need to grow and succeed. This investment is the next step in implementing the Harper Government’s Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP) to help create a vibrant private sector-led venture capital system in Canada.

The VCAP includes a commitment by the Government to invest in a few key high-performing venture capital funds with a substantial presence in Canada. In May, Minister Flaherty announced the establishment of a private sector Venture Capital Expert Panel to provide advice and recommendations on the VCAP, including the selection of the high-performing venture capital funds to receive direct investment from the Government. 

Through a fair and competitive selection process that included a comprehensive evaluation, the Expert Panel has now selected four high-performing venture capital funds that have demonstrated strong investment performance and are aligned with the objectives of the VCAP. The Government will be investing in these funds on the basis of the recommendations made by the Expert Panel. These investments are:

  • a $15-million investment in Summerhill Ventures II, a fund focused on investment opportunities in the information and communication technologies sector;
  • a $15-million investment in CTI Life Sciences Fund II, a fund focused on investment opportunities in the life sciences sector;
  • a $10-million investment in Real Ventures Fund III, a fund focused on investment opportunities in the information and communication technologies sector; and,
  • a $10-million investment in Lumira Capital II, a fund focused on investment opportunities in the life sciences sector.

“Canada’s long-term economic success in an increasingly competitive, knowledge-based economy will depend, in large measure, on the ability of our dynamic innovative firms to grow into global leaders that invest and create high-quality jobs,” said Minister Flaherty. “Today’s investment will help ensure that Canada’s promising start-up businesses have the resources they need to grow, innovate and create jobs for Canadians.”

The Business Development Bank of Canada will provide support and advice to the Government as it implements the VCAP, by providing independent expertise, undertaking due diligence, supporting negotiations with funds and other investors, and assisting in the deployment of VCAP investments.

The Government’s investment in the four high-performing venture capital funds is contingent on satisfactory negotiations with the selected fund managers. It is the latest step in the VCAP, a $400-million strategy launched in January to help increase private sector venture capital investments in order to create jobs, growth and long-term prosperity. The Government is continuing to advance other key components of the VCAP, including establishing four private sector-led large scale national funds of funds.

For further information, media may contact:

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Toronto, le 20 septembre 2013
2013-122

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper favorise l’emploi et la croissance au Canada en appuyant les entreprises et les entrepreneurs canadiens innovateurs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a réaffirmé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement investira 50 millions de dollars pour aider les entreprises innovatrices à avoir accès aux capitaux dont elles ont besoin pour prendre de l’expansion et réussir. Cet investissement constitue la prochaine étape de la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque (PACR) du gouvernement Harper visant à créer au Canada un système dynamique d’accès au capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé.

Dans le cadre du PACR, le gouvernement s’engage à investir dans quelques fonds de capital de risque importants à rendement élevé ayant une forte présence au Canada. Le ministre Flaherty a annoncé en mai la mise sur pied d’un groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque, composé de membres du secteur privé, chargé de fournir des conseils et des recommandations au sujet du PACR, y compris sur le choix des fonds de capital de risque à rendement élevé qui profiteront d’investissements directs du gouvernement. 

Au terme d’un processus de sélection concurrentiel et équitable qui comportait une évaluation exhaustive, le groupe d’experts a choisi quatre fonds de capital de risque à rendement élevé qui ont affiché de solides résultats d’investissement et dont les objectifs correspondent à ceux du PACR. Le gouvernement investira dans ces fonds choisis à la lumière des recommandations du groupe d’experts. Voici les investissements retenus :

  • 15 millions de dollars dans le fonds Summerhill II, axé sur les possibilités d’investissement dans le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications;
  • 15 millions de dollars dans le fonds CTI Life Sciences II, axé sur les possibilités d’investissement dans le secteur des sciences de la vie;
  • 10 millions de dollars dans le fonds Real Ventures III, axé sur les possibilités d’investissement dans le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications;
  • 10 millions de dollars dans le fonds Lumira Capital II, axé sur les possibilités d’investissement dans le secteur des sciences de la vie.

« Le succès économique à long terme du Canada, dans une économie de plus en plus concurrentielle et fondée sur le savoir, dépendra dans une large mesure de la capacité qu’auront nos entreprises dynamiques et innovatrices de devenir des chefs de file mondiaux qui investissent et créent des emplois de grande qualité, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Les investissements annoncés aujourd'hui aideront à garantir que les nouvelles entreprises canadiennes prometteuses disposent des ressources dont elles ont besoin pour se développer, innover et créer des emplois pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens. »

La Banque de développement du Canada offrira son aide et des conseils au gouvernement pour la mise en œuvre du PACR, en fournissant une expertise indépendante, en faisant preuve de diligence raisonnable, en appuyant les négociations avec les fonds et d’autres investisseurs, et en facilitant le déploiement des investissements du PACR.

Les investissements du gouvernement dans les quatre fonds de capital de risque à rendement élevé sont subordonnés à des négociations satisfaisantes avec les gestionnaires des fonds sélectionnés. Il s'agit de la plus récente étape du PACR, lequel consiste en une stratégie portant sur 400 millions de dollars lancée en janvier pour faire croître les investissements de capital de risque du secteur privé afin de favoriser l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme. Le gouvernement continue de faire progresser d'autres éléments clés du PACR, y compris l'établissement de quatre grands fonds de fonds nationaux dirigés par le secteur privé.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :