Ottawa, March 27, 2013
2013-047

Archived - Harper Government Announces the Publication of New Territorial Borrowing Limit Regulations to Support Ongoing Development and Growth in the North

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the publication in the Canada Gazette of the Yukon Borrowing Limit Regulations, the Northwest Territories Borrowing Limit Regulations and the Nunavut Borrowing Limit Regulations.

These regulations will provide the territories with greater clarity regarding the operation of their borrowing limits and ensure accurate reporting of borrowing obligations against the borrowing limits.

“With these regulations, the Harper Government has modernized and improved the territorial borrowing limit framework,” said Minister Flaherty. “This will assist the territories in fiscal planning as they consider future investments to support ongoing economic development and growth.”

Federal legislation ensures that territorial governments have the authority to borrow money for territorial, municipal or local purposes. On March 8, 2012, the Government of Canada increased territorial borrowing limits to $800 million, $400 million and $400 million respectively for the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut.

The new regulations address the territorial borrowing limit provisions introduced in 2012 as part of the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act respecting:

  • what constitutes borrowing for the purpose of the limit;
  • the entities whose borrowing must be taken into account; and
  • the manner in which the value of any borrowing is determined.

“All three borrowing limit regulations were developed in close consultation and collaboration with the respective territorial governments,” said Minister Flaherty. “I would like to thank them for partnering towards this achievement, and I look forward to our ongoing cooperation on practical and concrete measures in support of their future prosperity.”

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 27 mars 2013
2013-047

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper présente de nouveaux règlements sur les limites d'emprunt des territoires à l'appui de la croissance et du développement permanents dans le Nord

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd'hui la publication dans la Gazette du Canada du Règlement sur le plafond d'emprunt du Yukon, du Règlement sur le plafond d'emprunt des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Règlement sur le plafond d'emprunt du Nunavut.

Ces règlements donnent aux territoires des précisions sur les règles régissant l'administration des limites d'emprunt et assurent une reddition de comptes exacte concernant les obligations d'emprunt par rapport au plafond des emprunts.

« Grâce à ces règlements, le gouvernement Harper modernise et améliore le cadre régissant les plafonds d'emprunt territoriaux, a affirmé le ministre Flaherty. Cette mesure aidera les territoires à effectuer leur planification budgétaire alors qu'ils envisagent de futurs investissements pour soutenir le développement économique et la croissance. »

En vertu des lois fédérales, les gouvernements territoriaux ont le pouvoir d'emprunter des fonds à des fins territoriales, municipales ou locales. Le 8 mars 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a fait passer les limites d'emprunt des gouvernements des Territoires du Nord­Ouest, du Yukon et du Nunavut à 800 millions de dollars, 400 millions et 400 millions respectivement.  

Ces nouveaux règlements donnent suite aux dispositions sur les limites sur les emprunts présentées en 2012 comme élément de la Loi sur l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable concernant :

  • la définition d'un emprunt aux fins du plafond d'emprunt;
  • les entités dont les emprunts doivent être pris en compte;
  • la méthode d'établissement de la valeur d'un emprunt.

« Les trois règlements ont été élaborés en étroite consultation et en collaboration avec les gouvernements territoriaux, a expliqué le ministre Flaherty. Je tiens à les remercier de leur collaboration et je serai heureux de poursuivre notre coopération à l'égard de mesures pratiques et tangibles à l'appui de leur prospérité future. »

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :