Ottawa, February 14, 2013
2013-023

Archived - Government of Canada Will Complete Funding of Prudential Liquidity Plan Ahead of Schedule

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced that the Government’s prudential liquidity plan is on track to be fully implemented by the summer of 2013, well in advance of the original target date of March 2014.

“Given strong and continuing demand for Government of Canada securities, it is both advantageous and prudent to have the Government’s prudential liquidity plan in place a full nine months ahead of schedule,” said the Minister.

Once the prudential liquidity plan is fully implemented, the Government’s overall liquidity levels will increase by $35 billion and will cover at least one month of net projected cash flows, including coupon payments and debt refinancing needs.

As part of this plan, liquid foreign exchange reserves have increased by $10 billion and government deposits held with financial institutions and the Bank of Canada have increased by $15 billion. Government deposits held with the Bank of Canada will increase by another $10 billion by the summer.

The Government holds liquid financial assets in the form of domestic cash deposits and foreign exchange reserves to safeguard its ability to meet payment obligations in situations where normal access to funding markets may be disrupted or delayed. This also supports investor confidence in Canadian government debt.

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 13 février 2013
2013-023

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada capitalisera son plan de liquidité prudentielle avant l'échéance prévue

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement est en voie de réaliser la mise en œuvre intégrale de son plan de liquidité prudentielle avant la fin de l’été 2013, soit bien avant l’échéance de mars 2014 prévue au départ.

« Étant donné la demande forte et soutenue pour les titres d’emprunt du gouvernement du Canada, il est à la fois avantageux et prudent d’avancer de neuf mois la pleine réalisation du plan de liquidité prudentielle du gouvernement », a déclaré le ministre.

Lorsque le plan de liquidité prudentielle aura été intégralement mis en œuvre, le niveau global de liquidité du gouvernement aura augmenté de 35 milliards de dollars, ce qui couvrira les flux de trésorerie nets projetés, y compris le paiement des coupons et les besoins de refinancement de la dette, pour une période minimale d’un mois.

En vertu du plan, les réserves de change liquides ont augmenté de 10 milliards de dollars et les dépôts du gouvernement auprès d’institutions financières et de la Banque du Canada, de 15 milliards de dollars. D’ici l’été prochain, les dépôts du gouvernement auprès de la Banque du Canada augmenteront d’environ 10 milliards de dollars additionnels. 

Le gouvernement détient des actifs financiers liquides prenant la forme de dépôts sur le marché intérieur et de réserves de change pour demeurer en mesure de respecter ses obligations de paiement dans l’éventualité où l’accès normal aux marchés financiers serait perturbé ou retardé. Ces actifs financiers donnent également confiance aux investisseurs dans la dette du gouvernement canadien.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :