Ottawa, January 16, 2013
2013-005

Archived - Report Released on Helping Canadians With Disabilities Find Jobs

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Government of Canada has partnered with Canadian business leaders to identify successes and best practices in the employment of people with disabilities, as well as the barriers faced by employers in employing people with disabilities. Today, the Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development, and the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, announced the release of Rethinking disAbility in the Private Sector, the report of the Panel on Labour Market Opportunities for Persons with Disabilities.

“Our Government is committed to working with our partners to remove barriers and help Canadians with disabilities find jobs,” said Minister Finley. “Canada is facing skills and labour shortages in many sectors, and finding ways to get all Canadians working is key to meeting this challenge.”

First announced in Economic Action Plan 2012, the Panel was created to identify private-sector successes and best practices with regard to the labour market participation of people with disabilities.  The Panel conducted about 200 in-person, telephone and online consultations with employers of all sizes across the country and in a broad range of industry sectors to identify successes and barriers in employing people with disabilities.

“I am very pleased with the important work done by the Panel,” added Minister Flaherty. “Our Government is committed to helping more people with disabilities be employed by encouraging inclusive workplaces and removing barriers to employment, but we can’t do it alone. Employers in the private sector also have a key role in employing Canadians with disabilities.”

The report highlights actions employers can take to accommodate people with disabilities in their workplaces, as well as the benefits to both individuals and businesses. As well, the report recognizes the need for business leadership and effective community partnerships.

“We were impressed by the support and participation of so many Canadian corporations. Collaboration is the key to finding better ways to access the talent and skills of Canadians with disabilities, and we all benefit when this happens,” said Kenneth J. Fredeen, Chair of the Panel and General Counsel of Deloitte & Touche LLP. “There is a strong business case to be made for businesses hiring people with disabilities.”

The Government of Canada supports numerous programs and initiatives to promote the inclusion and full participation of people with disabilities in Canadian society. Some of these measures include the Registered Disability Savings Plan, the Labour Market Agreements for Persons with Disabilities, the Enabling Accessibility Fund and the Opportunities Fund for Persons with Disabilities. The Panel on Labour Market Opportunities for Persons with Disabilities’ report, Rethinking disAbility in the Private Sector, is available online and in alternative formats.

For further information, media may contact:

Marian Ngo
Press Secretary
Office of Minister Finley
819-994-2482

Media Relations Office
Human Resources and Skills Development Canada
819-994-5559

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861


Backgrounder

Following up on a commitment made in Economic Action Plan 2012, the Government of Canada appointed a Panel on Labour Market Opportunities for Persons with Disabilities in July 2012 to consult with private-sector employers, organizations and individuals on the labour market participation of people with disabilities.

Panel members were the chair, Mr. Kenneth J. Fredeen, General Counsel of Deloitte & Touche LLP; Ms. Kathy Martin, Senior Vice-President, Human Resources, Loblaw Companies Limited; Mr. Mark Wafer, owner of Megleen Incorporated, which operates six Tim Hortons franchises in Toronto; and Dr. Gary Birch, Executive Director of the Neil Squire Society.

The Panel submitted its report to ministers Finley and Flaherty on December 3, 2012, the International Day for Persons with Disabilities.

The Panel found that, while many companies are making strides in hiring people with disabilities, more education and training are needed to overcome barriers. The report recognized that hiring people with disabilities is good for business. The Panel also advised that leadership and effective community partnerships are keys to success in increasing employment among people with disabilities. It highlighted a number of actions employers can take to accommodate people with disabilities in their workplaces.

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 16 janvier 2013
2013-005

Archivé - Publication d'un rapport visant à aider les Canadiens handicapés à trouver un emploi

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Le gouvernement du Canada travaille de concert avec des chefs d’entreprises canadiens en vue de cerner les réussites et les pratiques exemplaires en matière d’emploi de personnes handicapées, de même que les défis que doivent relever les employeurs relativement à l’embauche de ces personnes. Aujourd’hui, la ministre des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences, l’honorable Diane Finley, et le ministre des Finances, l’honorable Jim Flaherty, ont annoncé la publication du rapport Repenser l’inCapacité dans le secteur privé, rédigé par le Groupe de travail spécial sur les possibilités d’emploi des personnes handicapées.

« Notre gouvernement est résolu à travailler de concert avec nos partenaires afin d’éliminer les obstacles et d’aider les Canadiens handicapés à trouver un emploi, a déclaré la ministre Finley. Le Canada fait face à des pénuries de compétences et de main-d’œuvre dans de nombreux secteurs et, pour relever ce défi, il est essentiel de trouver des façons de permettre à tous les Canadiens de faire partie du marché du travail. »

Comme il a été annoncé dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012, le Groupe de travail a été créé afin que l’on puisse cerner les réussites et les pratiques exemplaires du secteur privé en ce qui a trait à la participation des personnes handicapées au marché du travail. Le Groupe de travail a mené environ 200 consultations en personne, par téléphone et en ligne avec des employeurs d’entreprises de toutes tailles dans l’ensemble du pays et d’un large éventail de secteurs de l’industrie, en vue de déterminer les réussites et les difficultés liées à l’emploi de personnes handicapées. 

« Je suis très satisfait du travail important qu’a accompli le Groupe de travail, a dit le ministre Flaherty. Notre gouvernement s’applique à aider un plus grand nombre de personnes handicapées à trouver un emploi en favorisant la création de milieux de travail inclusifs et en éliminant les obstacles à l’emploi. Cependant, nous ne pouvons pas y parvenir seuls. Les employeurs du secteur privé ont également un rôle clé à jouer dans l’embauche de personnes handicapées. »

Dans le rapport, on souligne les mesures que les employeurs peuvent prendre pour répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées dans leur milieu de travail, de même que les éléments positifs que ces personnes peuvent apporter aux autres employés et à l’entreprise. Le rapport fait également état du besoin d’assurer un bon leadership en affaires et de nouer des partenariats communautaires efficaces.

« Nous avons été impressionnés par le grand nombre d’entreprises canadiennes qui ont appuyé ce projet et y ont participé. La collaboration est la clé qui nous permet de mettre davantage à contribution le talent et les compétences des Canadiens handicapés, et nous en tirons tous profit », a dit Kenneth J. Fredeen, président du Groupe de travail et avocat général de Deloitte & Touche s.r.l. « L’embauche de personnes handicapées pourrait s’avérer très rentable pour les entreprises. »

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie un grand nombre de programmes et d’initiatives qui promeuvent l’intégration et la pleine participation des personnes handicapées dans la société canadienne. On a d’ailleurs mis en place le régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité, le Fonds pour l’accessibilité et le Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées, et conclu des ententes sur le marché du travail visant les personnes handicapées. Le rapport du Groupe de travail spécial sur les possibilités d’emploi des personnes handicapées, Repenser l’inCapacité dans le secteur privé, est accessible en ligne. Il est également offert en médias substituts.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Marian Ngo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre Finley
819-994-2482

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada
819-994-5559

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861


Document d’information

Le gouvernement a tenu son engagement pris dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012 et a créé, en juillet 2012, le Groupe de travail spécial sur les possibilités d’emploi des personnes handicapées, chargé de consulter des employeurs, des organisations et des intervenants du secteur privé au sujet de la participation des personnes handicapées au marché du travail.

Le Groupe de travail était présidé par M. Kenneth J. Fredeen, avocat général de Deloitte & Touche s.r.l., et regroupait Mme Kathy Martin, vice-présidente directrice des ressources humaines, Les Compagnies Loblaw Limitée, M. Mark Wafer, propriétaire de Megleen Inc., qui exploite six franchises Tim Hortons à Toronto, et M. Gary Birch, directeur exécutif de la Société Neil Squire.

Le Groupe de travail a présenté son rapport aux ministres Finley et Flaherty le 3 décembre 2012, à l’occasion de la Journée internationale des personnes handicapées.

Le Groupe de travail a conclu que, même si bon nombre d’entreprises ont amélioré leurs pratiques d’embauche de personnes handicapées, il faut davantage de formation et d’information pour faire face aux défis qu’il reste à relever. Dans le rapport, on a souligné que l’embauche de personnes handicapées, c’est bon pour les affaires. Le Groupe de travail a également fait remarquer que le leadership et des partenariats communautaires efficaces sont la clé du succès pour améliorer les possibilités d’emploi des personnes handicapées. Enfin, le rapport a mis en évidence un certain nombre de mesures que peuvent prendre les employeurs pour répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées dans leur milieu de travail.

Restez branchés :